We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food and Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cottage

The Cottage
Ranked #8 of 68 Restaurants in Wellesley
Price range: $14 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Washington Street
Description: The Cottage Wellesley has it’s origin in two different lifestyles. John grew up surfing the beaches of Southern California. Laura grew up in Wellesley and is the third generation in her family to have a business in town. Our decor, service and food reflect the casualness and familiarity of So Calif and the sophistication and warmth of New England. Please take a moment to say hello on your next visit. Welcome to the Cottage! — John + Laura
Framingham, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great Food and Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Top notch food and service. Subtle takes on classic fare don't disappoint. A littel on the expensive side, for sure. But worth it. Don't go if you're hoping for a speedy meal. Service was excellent.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank CLS144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    109
    54
    18
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston
1 review
“Loud dining room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

We had lunch there recently. The decor was pleasant, the food was good, although nothing very creative. For the cost they need to come up with a more interesting menu selection, better seasoning and a more memorable presentation. I would return but for the extremely noisy dining room. The restaurant was full of yakking women and children and we had to yell at each other to be heard. The floors are hardwood and there is nothing on the walls or ceiling to deaden the sound. It is difficult to enjoy a meal when one has to yell at each other. What is management thinking?

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fred L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“California fare”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

Restaurant uses lots of fresh ingredients but not always creative or interesting dishes, a cut above a burger brewery,with large selection of interesting bottled beers and reasonable wine choices. Overpriced for the quality of the food.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Erica J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
409 reviews
262 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable first visit - worth a return!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

We were invited to lunch at the Cottage by friends. The restaurant is very "open" and light with high ceilings. Service and food were good. I had the burger my friends the soup and sandwich and my wife the stuffed avo. Definitely worth a second visit!.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stewart T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
52 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“More Imaginative than Others, but Doesn't Always Hit the Mark”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

The Cottage is a good restaurant in Wellesley. I would recommend it, with the caveat that the prices are a little on the high side for a normal family night out, but I'd say the options and the quality are reasonably good, but could be better (see below).

The menu has good twists on traditional fare, influenced heavily by California cuisine. We had the eggplant french fries and onion ring/fried artichokes as appetizers. Both were fried and while they were interesting variations, but neither was exceptionally good. The latter was very greasy and not up to the snuff of O-rings at other restaurants.

My entree as a veg enchilada plate. The cheese was somewhat burned to a crisp .... probably intended to be that way, but it created a bad overtaste for the rest of the dish.

The prices are not cheap, but then it does definitely deliver better options that traditional family restaurants ... one could make worse choices, but i think the execution on their dishes could improve to justify the prices and meet the expectations from the menu listings.

It was noisy when we visited, and it turned one of my kids off. But it has a good general atmosphere and the staff were pleasant and very attentive to service and to allergies.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nirmal K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cottage also viewed

 

Been to The Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing