We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic diner”
Review of Deluxe Town Diner

Deluxe Town Diner
Ranked #1 of 107 Restaurants in Watertown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Brooklyn, New York
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Classic diner”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Went there with a family extended on all sides. The staff was right on the spot with the seats for one-year old twins, as well as with the more usual things, like water and coffee refills. They also took the inevitable mess and an occasional toddler's cry for justice and the world peace in strides. Breakfast menu was rather extensive and the food was good and fresh. I am not an expert on the Watertown scene (been to Conley's and some awful Chinese restaurant so far) but this seems like it is a good place for a bite in a very accommodating setting.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gordonsmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    54
    18
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Diner Food”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

A great little traditional diner, building and all. Food was hot, fast and tasty. We had breakfast and it was just what we expected. Omelet was great as were blueberry pancakes. More than enough food for the money. Drink prices were a bit steep though.

We'd definitely go here again. Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NotExpectingMuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect traditional diner - with REAL maple syrup”
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

This great diner ticks all the boxes. One of the Worcester Lunch Car Company diners, with all the decor that would suggest, it offers a good choice of excellent pancakes, served with real Vermont maple syrup, also healthier breakfast options, as well as salads and sandwiches. This would be a great place to take visitors.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Frances V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, great price!”
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

It was great to drive and find street parking. As you walk in, you can smell the great aroma of the food. Can also sense that the patrons were enjoying the food?

We had the sweet potato pancakes with me pecans. They were delightful and yummy. The hash and eggs was delicious. The hash was shredded and tender with full of flavor.

We will be back for the food and atmosphere. By the way, the coffee was good too. It's not Starbucks but it had flavor.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheTexanExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Almost delivers, but not quite”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

So, here's the deal. Deluxe Town Diner is doing so many things right. They have preserved the authentic retro feel of the restaurant, hired hard-working friendly types, assembled an irresistable menu of innovative interpretations of classic diner favorites, etc. We live in the neighborhood, and despite my upcoming complaint, I enjoy going. I hope the owners read TripAdvisor, because I really WANT Town Diner to fulfill the measure of its creation. They clear the bar in most areas. But there's one area that keeps falling short, with every visit (and unfortunately, it's a biggie):

The Food.

I go to Town Diner a couple of times a year, and the food is consistently a disappointment. Maybe it's simply that such an idyllic place builds our hopes, and in any other setting, the food would be impressive. But there are other diners in metro west Boston that manage to provide the diner experience AND have AMAZING food (Kelly's, Ball Square Cafe, etc).

So you don't think I'm just pressing sour grapes, here's what we were served yesterday. My dad ordered the Salmon Fillet sandwich. He was served two slices of whole wheat break with a narrow fillet of salmon down the middle. Bites to the right or left of the sandwich were just bread. (A proper sandwich should have filling all the way to the edges). I ordered the Monte Christo with ham and turkey. The bread was limp and soggy--none of the crispy, carmelized edges of a terrific piece of french toast. The sweet potato fries were bland and undercooked--no seasoning whatsoever--just deep fried sticks of raw sweet potato, and the coleslaw was really, really average. My brother had a burger and fries, and again--nothing special, and the fries were tepid, greasy and not worth the calories. At our 6-top table, there was no stand-out meal. It was artless food served competently and with a smile--but nothing to eat that merits the delight anticipated when one steps through the door of such a vibrant, charming place.

Go if you want an hour in a place that's a slice of history of American eating-out, but if you want something really delicious to eat, try elsewhere and wait until Deluxe Town Diner gets someone in the kitchen who knows how to execute.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank weekonthecape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Deluxe Town Diner also viewed

 

Been to Deluxe Town Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing