We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upscale Italian in a college town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Il Capriccio

Il Capriccio
Reserve with OpenTable
Il Capriccio is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 183 Restaurants in Waltham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $45
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Prospect St.
Description: Il Capriccio serves a constantly changing Northern Italian menu featuring local products with an award winning Italian wine and Grappa list. Though long considered a local secret, Il Capriccio has been the number one Northern Italian restaurant in Zagat's for the past seven years. The wine list has been featured in Decanter, Sante, Wine & Spirits and Stuff. The same menu is served in the Bar. We like to serve great food and great wine in a comfortable setting.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
278 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Upscale Italian in a college town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Packed but not overly loud. Superb attention from wait staff. Favorite starter among our group was the beet and goat cheese salad. Best entree was a risotto with braised beef, even if a little salty. Scallops also quite good, but swordfish was bland and undistinguished. Overall an enjoyable evening. Total tab about $40/person w/o dessert or wine.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hammbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    42
    15
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania, US
Level Contributor
443 reviews
269 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Fantastic Northern Italian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Do make reservations, as many people know how great this restaurant is. Don't be concerned about the location on a busy street and right next to a liquor store. Inside, the mood is tranquil and happy with an excellent dining experience. The gravlax appetizer with prosciutto and anchovies was exceptionally well prepared and delicious. The lobster risotto had many large pieces of lobster and was delicately sauced. The lamb chops were perfect as was the veal tenderloin. Our desserts of Baked Alaska, lemon mousse with candied lemon and apple crostata were all wonderful (my favorite was actually the lemon, although the Baked Alaska was delicious and beautiful). Highly recommended!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nylady21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Few Recommendations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

My wife and I have been here several times for special occasions, and the food is absolutely delicious. For those planning on going here, plan to spend a little. I usually drop for just my wife and I, over $200 including drinks. I do have a few recommendations before you visit:
1. Do make reservations, this place is always packed on Fridays, Saturdays, V-Day and other holidays.
2. Do checkout their website/menu before visiting. The menu is updated frequently for seasonal items.
3. Do order the roast beets with goat cheese salad, I just love this one, and if you love goat cheese and beets, this is an amazing salad.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ben P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Went here with a group and thought it was an excellent location. Decor was really nice and food was excellent. No complaints whatsoever and would definitely recommend this place.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Glasson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
66 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“The best meal I've ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

My husband and I went here for an anniversary celebration. The wait staff was knowledgeable and made great suggestions on the wine and meal choices. This is a great high end restaurant - a great place to enjoy!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank clarkplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Capriccio also viewed

 

Been to Il Capriccio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing