We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Few Recommendations”
Review of Il Capriccio

Il Capriccio
Reserve with OpenTable
Il Capriccio is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 193 Restaurants in Waltham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $45
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Prospect St.
Description: Il Capriccio serves a constantly changing Northern Italian menu featuring local products with an award winning Italian wine and Grappa list. Though long considered a local secret, Il Capriccio has been the number one Northern Italian restaurant in Zagat's for the past seven years. The wine list has been featured in Decanter, Sante, Wine & Spirits and Stuff. The same menu is served in the Bar. We like to serve great food and great wine in a comfortable setting.
Waltham, Massachusetts, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Few Recommendations”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

My wife and I have been here several times for special occasions, and the food is absolutely delicious. For those planning on going here, plan to spend a little. I usually drop for just my wife and I, over $200 including drinks. I do have a few recommendations before you visit:
1. Do make reservations, this place is always packed on Fridays, Saturdays, V-Day and other holidays.
2. Do checkout their website/menu before visiting. The menu is updated frequently for seasonal items.
3. Do order the roast beets with goat cheese salad, I just love this one, and if you love goat cheese and beets, this is an amazing salad.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ben P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    50
    16
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Athlone
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Went here with a group and thought it was an excellent location. Decor was really nice and food was excellent. No complaints whatsoever and would definitely recommend this place.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Glasson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“The best meal I've ever had”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

My husband and I went here for an anniversary celebration. The wait staff was knowledgeable and made great suggestions on the wine and meal choices. This is a great high end restaurant - a great place to enjoy!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank clarkplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food, Great service.”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Il Capriccio is a delicious high end Italian restaurant. The staff is always super friendly, and the food is amazing. Their appetizers are very good, and for the main course they serve all kinds of different things, such as fresh fish, steak, and pasta. The desserts are very good, and our favorite is the warm chocolate budino. The atmosphere is nice, sometimes loud, probably not a good idea to bring younger children, but for my teenage kids, and for adults, it is a great restaurant for special occasions.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Motorola27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Truly outstanding Italian restaurant.”
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

We are frequent diners at Il Cappricio. We love the menu. The fish is very fresh and appetizers are creative. There is an excessively rich wine cellar, with the best Barolo and chianti wines around. A treasured restaurant!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bostonian80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Capriccio also viewed

 

Been to Il Capriccio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing