We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great alternative to downtown hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Boston Waltham
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Waltham
Certificate of Excellence
Watertown, MA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great alternative to downtown hotels”
Reviewed July 11, 2007

This is a great Courtyard....always my first choice of hotel for visiting guests (I live in nearby Watertown). My parents always try to stay here. The beds are great and most of the rooms are quite spacious, although they do tend to vary, and it sometimes helps to request a bigger room at the front desk. The rooms also do not come standard with mini-fridges, but we've always been able to get one brought up to our room at no extra charge. The hotel has a nice indoor pool and hot tub, although the hot tub jets do tend to go in and out of order relatively often...but nothing that the maintenance folks weren't able to fix within an hour or two. No wireless internet in the rooms yet, but they do have free high speed ethernet ports.

  • Stayed February 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank goldigboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    125
    30
    5
    6
See reviews for
124
52
23
117
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NH
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2007

We stayed at the Courtyard to be close to Boston for an early am appointment, knowing Boston traffic, it was just easier to spend the night close to town rather than fight the traffic in the morning!
PRO's: Check in was great. They asked my preference on a floor number and put my husband and I in a corner room, which was HUGE! Lobby bar was perfect, we grabbed a couple glasses of wine and took them back up to the room. Bathroom was very spacious. Beds were soooo comfy!!!
CON's: For the size of the room the TV was tiny! My husband wanted to attempt to move the bed closer to the TV, so we could actually see it. No room service. They have take out taxi or something like that, it consists of about 8 menus from surrounding restaurants that you can order from, not such great choices. Bathroom amenities consist of a little bottle of shampoo and a small bar of soap.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank KellieCNh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mineapolis,MN
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2007

This is a realtively new property that offers most of what you would expect from a Courtyard. This is the first Courtyard I have stayed at that had a full bar service. The bartender was very friendly and even proactively offers to call outside restaurants to bring in food after the on-site service ends. There really isn't much good local food within walking distance other than the Naked Fish which is not very good and quite expensive.

  • Liked — Proximity to highway
  • Disliked — Lack of food within walking distance
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Musky-Hunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2007

We have stayed at this hotel twice in the last six months. We chose the hotel because it provided the best value among the several hotels within the half mile radius----we were only looking for a place to sleep while visiting our daughter in Waltham so didn't need a "resort" experience. The first time we were there, although our room was on the small side, it was beautifully appointed--actually felt luxurious. On the second stay, we had a huge room---in the larger space, the appointments didn't look as great but it was really nice to have so much room. In the larger room, they needed a bigger TV. Maybe time to update to flat screen TVs. The hotel is immaculately clean. The front desk staff is very nice and helpful. It doesn't have the lobby/restaurant that the doubletree has or the beds at the westin, but, for the price, it was obviously worth returning to.

  • Liked — Location, price, cleanliness, nicely decorated
  • Disliked — breakfast not included
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bcqajbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2006

The hotel was great! The staff was nice and the rooms were nicely decorated and clean. The hotel also has easy access to the highway. The ONLY drawback was the breakfast buffet. The buffet is not included in the price of the room (which is fine), but that's not apparent. Also the made-to-order omelette signs don't mention the $10 price (in addition to the buffet price). Unless you look at your menu (which also doesn't just jump out at you) you'd assume the omelette was included in the buffet. Breakfast for 2 was $30.

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank LuvofTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2006

I am so VERY glad that I stayed at the Courtyard Boston Waltham. The location provided easy access for me as I moved my stepdaughter to her new apartment in Somerville, shopped for furniture at IKEA, and visited my cousin who lives in nearby Sudbury.

EVERYONE at the hotel was great -- very friendly and helpful. Although I don't usually hit the hotel bars, this one was terrific, made quite enjoyable by Tina, the bartender. (Check out Tina's Cosmos !!) What started out as a drink to unwind, turned into an evening of several drinks, meeting many of the other travellers to this hotel. We decided to say where we were all from -- we met some fascinating people that night. (My stepdaughter brought down her laptop and we showed other guests the recent wedding pictures).

The room was laid out perfectly -- plenty of room for 2 Queen Beds, a good-sized bathroom with perfect lighting, and good desk for lap top work (free internet). In comparison to where my stepdaughter & I stayed a few days later in downtown Boston, our room here was much larger and at about 40% the price of the other hotel.

This hotel could provide easy access and a short drive to the Alewyfe T line. When my husband & I visit his daughter in the coming months, we will DEFINITELY return to this hotel.

Also, directly across I-95, there was a shopping center that had a wonder Thai restaurant. I think there was also 3 other restaurants in this shopping center.

You can't go wrong staying here !!!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nearby road construction
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay in metro Boston rather than pay exhorbitant downtown Boston prices
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Bryan_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2006

Had a meeting at the Best Western across the street from this hotel. The reviews on that hotel were iffy at best, so I booked the Courtyard instead. Thank you to everyone who previously reviewed the property. You didn't steer me wrong. This is a great Courtyard.
The lobby, parking lot, and exterior are a step up from the usual Courtyard. The rooms are really nice. There is the upgraded bedding and the newest version of Courtyard furniture, and the carpet is the nicest I've ever had the pleasure of walking on in a Courtyard. The bathroom is a little bigger and nicer than most Courtyards. The room has some other interesting touches - recessed lighting, an interesting ceiling (you have to see it) and the cutest little nook behind the bedwhere the coffee maker sits.
A previous poster was right about the elevator - it is very slow. But other than that, this hotel is a solid choice if you need to be in the Waltham area.

  • Liked — Room
  • Disliked — Nothing to criticize
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay here without hesitation
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank CJKatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waltham hotels
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Boston / Waltham
0.2 mi away
The Westin Waltham-Boston
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Boston/Waltham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
HYATT house Boston/Waltham
0.1 mi away
Best Western TLC Hotel
Best Western TLC Hotel
#8 of 11 in Waltham
451 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Boston / Waltham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Boston Waltham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Boston Waltham

Property: Courtyard Boston Waltham
Address: 387 Winter St, Waltham, MA 02451-8714
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Waltham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Waltham
#2 Business Hotel in Waltham
#3 Romantic Hotel in Waltham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Boston Waltham 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Courtyard by Marriott hotel in Waltham, you’re located strategically along Route 95/128 (America’s Technology Highway), and only 20 minutes to downtown Boston. You’re merely 10 minutes away from historic Lexington and Concord. Comfortable, chic, and altogether welcoming. Whether you’re here on business, visiting nearby schools, or are a weekend traveler using our perfectly located Waltham hotel as the easiest and most comfortable base from which to explore Greater Boston, we welcome you! Whatever your purpose in visiting, we’re out to make the Courtyard by Marriott hotel in Waltham your favorite place to stay in the Boston area. Need Starbucks to start your day? Go no further than our lobby. Also find delicious breakfast and dinner selections at our Bistro. Did you know we have an open-air fire pit? Not to mention our courtyard outdoor oasis, where you can enjoy a breath of fresh air with your morning coffee, or catch the last rays of the day’s sun. In addition to a restaurant, Courtyard by Marriott Waltham features an indoor pool and fitness center. Televisions come with cable/satellite channels. Guest rooms also feature complimentary wireless Internet access, complimentary high-speed (wired) Internet access, and air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Boston Waltham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Boston Waltham Hotel Waltham
Courtyard Waltham
Waltham Marriott
Waltham Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing