We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mad Raven

Mad Raven
Ranked #45 of 188 Restaurants in Waltham
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Decent food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Went here while visiting Boston on a Sunday. The place was dead. The food came out pretty quickly except when dessert was ordered. The waitress said the cook was being slow. It seemed like they were under staffed. Our waitress mixed up our order of onion rings for fries but overall not a bad place to go. Decently priced. Ok food nothing to write home about though.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OConn311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    6
    4
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Braunfels, Texas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A great gathering place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Took the wife out while traveling in the area. We had a great server / barmaid who made us comfortable and welcome. The drinks were fantastic and the food better than expected from a pub environment. If you are looking for a good place to watch a game and grab a bite, this is the spot!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelingTexan63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesley, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“High calorie, so-so food.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

I have been to Mad Raven a couple times with the gang after work. I've found it difficult to find food that doesn't blow my calorie count out of the water. I end up not eating, or eating too much and regretting it later. Not a happy experience.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Food and Funny Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Some friends took me here for dinner after work and it was absolutely great! I tried the special, crab cakes, for an appetizer and had the mushroom ravioli for my entree. Both meals were excellent! As an added bonus, the server was great and really funny.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank LillyMilwaukee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Best bar outside of Ireland! Staff and punters great fun! Boston city center struggles to replicate the craic here! Well worth it especially at weekends

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Happy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mad Raven also viewed

 

Been to Mad Raven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing