We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Boston/Waltham
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Waltham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Kingston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not what I expected”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

I was surprised, thinking that as a Hilton this would be a good hotel, the bed was very uncomfortable, the coffee maker did not work, we were 3 floors above the banquet room where there was a party going on it was very very very loud. The breakfast/buffet was very confusing, there were no prices, no menus and no helpful servers. I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank gemmetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Boston/Waltham, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for sharing this quick feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest input and apologize for our missteps and the noise issues you encountered. We will keep your comments in mind as we constantly look for new ways to improve our guests' experience and hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in town and let us know how we are doing.

Thank you,
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    180
    84
    28
    14
See reviews for
211
90
33
214
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dundrum, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

I stayed here for business in October 2013. I cannot say anything bad about this hotel. The staff were extremely pleasant and the hotel was perfect for my need. Good breakfast, free Wifi, well appointed rooms. Free coffee and water in the lobby and cookies. Good gym as well and right beside a park for a run.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danwallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Boston/Waltham, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Also, thank you for posting your positive experience on Tripadvisor. We hope to see you again in the future.

Warm Regards,
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

This will be my 2nd stay at the Hilton garden inn in Waltham, MA. I'm very pleased to say that the stay just gets better every time. They have always accommodated my room requests and have even wrapped up food and wine from an event held at the hotel and sent it up to my room!
John Mohan, manager, has been tremendous to work with from setting us up with a great conference room at un unbeatable price and without having previously reserved it to making sure all the tech in the room worked. If you are looking for a great hotel in Waltham, with great service and accommodations, look no further.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank roberto s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Boston/Waltham, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Roberto,
Jon was very grateful to read your comments about his service. Thank you for taking the time to notice the efforts of our staff during your stay.

Regards,
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn while visiting the Boston area for a volleyball tournament at Brandeis University.
The staff was accommodating and eager to assist either the parents or the team representatives.
I thought the hotel was:
-clean
- had ample free parking
- has a decent bar for an evening or after work drink
- the $12.95 breakfast is tasty and offers lots of combinations

The afternoon cookies were a welcome treat.
Two things that could have been better. There was a large plastic bag of dirty linens and a few wine glasses left in our hall for an entire day and night. The other thing was group party in a conference room on the main floor and we could hear the music on the 4th floor. I can't believe guests on 2 could sleep at all.
All-in-all I would stay here again.
Another thing, there is a decent restaurant across the street named Naked Fish. I had the talipia tacos and thought they were good.

Room Tip: Get a higher floor room. Noise from the lobby area travels.
See more room tips
Green Features: They do the normal bath towels on the floor gat changed, on a hook they will leave them..
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DTChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Our family had a great 2 night stay here. Hotel is very new and modern, nice lounge space. We used the pool and it was very nice. The rooms are very nice and spacious, great shower. Nice touch that they have free coffee and lemon water in the lobby and warm baked cookies at the end of the day. The room was also reasonably priced for the area. The staff was excellent and very helpful - I could not ask for more. The only negative is that breakfast is not included (is available for purchase...)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chazster_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

Checked in Monday Nov 4th for the week.

What more can I say. I have been a Platinum ICH member for more than 5 years and have recently changed to the Hilton group of hotels as Crowns Plaza/Holiday Inn/Holiday Inn Express have priced themselves above market pricing for their facilities .

I travel to Boston/Waltham every two weeks for work as our HQ is located in this Boston suburb and I'm now using this specific Hilton Garden Inn in Waltham as my first choice. Staff at this facility are very friendly (thanks Josie and Debie in the restaurant) and the front desk staff for their smiles and politeness. Facility has all the amenities for the business traveller , very clean, comfortable rooms with climate controls that work.

Based on my experience in the last year with the Hiltons , I'm going to use this group as my preferred for my global travel. As a corporate Sales Training Program Manager of a Fortune 300 company, I travel globally and would rate this hotel a 5 Star facility in the affordable business travel hotels of Boston.

Kudos to the management of this facility for training their staff and keeping a good work atmosphere. Happy employee's means great customer service and this is why I'll be using this hotel in the future.

Cheers

Steph Durette

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank sdurette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Boston/Waltham, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
WOW! What a great response. We are very appreciate of the praise and I'm especially happy that we have been able to convert you to the Hilton brand. You worked very hard for your loyalty status with IHG, and we would love to match your status with our Hilton program. Please contact me to get that going.

Regards,
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 5, 2013

I NEVER give 10's, and this establishment earned every one of 'em. I especially appreciated the courtesy and professionalism of all the staff. Each person exceeded my expectations, which, to me, means they have excellent management. Quiet, comfortable, and an excellent location.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Boston/Waltham, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We are very happy to hear your praise of our staff. Excellent service is our number 1 focus and comments like yours keep us motivated. We hope to host you again in the future.

Regards,

Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waltham hotels
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Boston / Waltham
0.2 mi away
The Westin Waltham-Boston
0.1 mi away
Best Western TLC Hotel
Best Western TLC Hotel
#8 of 11 in Waltham
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
HYATT house Boston/Waltham
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Boston Waltham
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Boston / Waltham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Boston/Waltham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Boston/Waltham

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Boston/Waltham
Address: 450 Totten Pond Rd, Waltham, MA 02451-2009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Waltham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Waltham
#1 Business Hotel in Waltham
#1 Romantic Hotel in Waltham
#3 Green Hotel in Waltham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Boston/Waltham 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of the Massachusetts Route 128 technology belt and 30 minutes from downtown Boston, the Hilton Garden Inn Boston/Waltham hotel helps you make the most of your time in the area. Great transport links keep you in easy reach of some of the area's top sites and attractions. Stay connected with complimentary WiFi and a 24-hour business center. Head to the fitness center for a workout or take a dip in the pool. Enjoy a cooked-to-order breakfast or delicious dinner at the Great American Grill(R). Our Waltham hotel offers a choice of unique function rooms, making it the perfect venue for your next Boston meeting or celebration. Minutes from Brandeis and Bentley Universities, this Boston hotel is perfect if you are in town to visit the kids at college or attend a reunion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Boston/Waltham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Boston/Waltham Hotel Waltham
Hilton Garden Inn Waltham
Hilton Waltham
Waltham Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing