We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
HYATT house Boston/Waltham
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Waltham
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

My daughter and I spent three nights here as she looked at colleges in the area. It was a great base, easy access to the highway but quiet. Best thing -- front desk staff, so friendly and helpful and they seemed to really care about their guests and happy to be there. Generous with recommendations and directions to places. We were upgraded to a king suite (two bedrooms with ensuite bathrooms, kitchen/sitting area - would be great for a family) which was huge! Beds were soooo comfortable, mattress was perfect for me, nice fluffy pillows and a big duvet. The room was very clean. My only negative observation was: the heating/air con fan unit is in main room, and it's unbelievably loud. I pity the person who ends up having to sleep on the pull-out in that room, if it were me, I'd never be able to sleep with that din going on. As we both had our own bedrooms it wasn't an issue as we simply closed the bedroom doors (we had it on a lot as it was very cold outside and we kept the room warm). Breakfast was very decent if you like that kind of standard carb-filled American breakfast, they had all the usual breakfast items and there is something for everyone. Omelet station was a nice fresh addition. Very nice staff in the breakfast room too. Oh, and they have a great selection of tea and sometimes an afternoon appetizer thing going on (simple, but a nice touch). All-in-all, a very happy, comfortable feeling hotel. Thank you for a great stay!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nelumbo_53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie B, General Manager at HYATT house Boston/Waltham, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate your positive feedback and we are glad that your enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you agian soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    179
    79
    36
    20
See reviews for
249
51
21
161
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

My family and I were in town for the marathon and decided to stay at the same hotel as last year. Last year, we had a great room. This year, sadly, we had a lot of minor things that weren't working properly.

When we arrived in the room, a two bedroom suite, we discovered that one of the toilets was clogged and the tv in the living area wouldn't turn on. We called downstairs and they sent someone up to fix both things.
The toilet was fixed however, the tv, everyday after that, wouldn't work properly. We had to keep unplugging it, then re plugging it only for part of it to work. The power would come on but we couldn't change the channels or adjust the volume. So we ended up not using it at all.

Another issue we had was one of the fitted sheets on the bed kept unravelling which was driving me nuts, because it made for a lumpy sleep.

The one thing that drove me absolutely crazy was the wifi. Although it was complimentary, it should work. While trying to keep track of my husbands status during the marathon, the wifi kept kicking me out every few seconds and wouldn't connect properly at various times. This kept occurring not only during the marathon, but during the rest of our stay.

The breakfast area was good, and it was nice to see an omelet station added. The room was clean and everything in the kitchen in our room worked like a charm.

Would love to give it a higher rating this year, but because of the wifi not working properly, and it being a very important factor for us this year, I can only give an average rating.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank C K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie B, General Manager at HYATT house Boston/Waltham, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear CK

Thank you for taking time out of your schedule to fill out a review about our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and use it to improve our property and service. We do apologize for the inconveniences you had during your stay this time. Please know that all of the issues will be addressed with our staff.

Thank you for being a loyal guest to our Hyatt House and we do hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

In early April, 2014, my wife and I took our son to Boston to see a surgeon. We reserved a room at the Hyatt House in Waltham for only $109 so I was a little suspect. Upon arriving, the exterior of the hotel was well-cared for and the hotel seems relatively new. The hotel is just a block off the highway and is easy to find. The front desk staff was friendly and inviting. They went out of their way to help us find places to eat as well as providing directions to wherever we needed to go. The room was spacious and beautiful. Ours was a King Suite so it also had a pull-out couch. There is a social hour every evening with fare such as tacos or pulled pork sandwiches. The breakfast is incredible which includes someone to make an omelet for you. I've stayed elsewhere in Boston for almost double the rate that didn't come close to matching up with this property. If you're going to be in the Newton/Waltham area, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie B, General Manager at HYATT house Boston/Waltham, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to fill out a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Please know that your positive feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.

Again, thank you for your positive feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

Hyatt House is one of many business traveler hotels in the area vying for the business share of wallet. As such, the traveler receives the benefit from all this competition. The benefits are in the form of food filled happy hours, a decent breakfast and customer service. I stayed from a Saturday to Tuesday.

Upon arrival, the front desk staff were warm and accommodating. We lucked out and got a two bedroom suite. The room is well appointed with modern decor but the real benefit for the hotel is a working kitchenette. For the long term guest, the kitchen offers a full fridge, pots/pans, plates and utensils along with a dishwasher (loud but welcomed nevertheless). Food and provision storage is great if you make a Costco run (across I-95/Rt 128) that is 5 minutes away. The beds (mattresses) are comfortable but the pillows are nothing to get excited over as some of them were quite flat. Pillows with different firmness in hotels seem to be the tablestakes these days but there weren't any foam ones. The only knock I have is that the carpeting seems to be buckling (lumpy) in some areas.

At 5pm on weekdays, the hotel offers a different snack/appetizer (that can serve as a meal for some). Baked potatoes (with your own add-ons) and nachos were the offerings for one night. The breakfast is good as there are warm options. Rather than the standard cold continental stuff of toast, bagels, yogurt and cereals (they have these too), there is a staff member available to make custom omelettes (be forewarned that this is very popular and the line can be long). Protein varied from bacon to sausage and corned beef hash, so long term guests can look forward to alternatives.

There is an exercise room which was closed on the weekend that consisted of the usual treadmills, stairclimber and some weights.

This was a very good hotel and the warm breakfasts provided me the personal value that I enjoy. I'd recommend Hyatt House and would look to stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mangosteen888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie B, General Manager at HYATT house Boston/Waltham, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your great review and taking the time to fill out our survey. We are always striving to be the best that we can be. When you stay with us next please reach out to us and we will make sure you have comfortable pillows in your room and make your next stay pleasant. If you have any other comments, please feel free to reach out to me. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

My wife and I had occasion to stay at the Hyatt House Waltham for 12 days at the beginning of February 2014. We were very impressed with the facility. There was a major snowstorm while we were guests and the lots were continuously plowed, and sidewalks salted. Made to order omelettes were added to the breakfast menu which was a plus; the breakfasts are a true bonus. We had no problems with WIFI service in the room or common areas. The unit was large with living room (with flat screen TV), kitchen, bedroom (with flat screen TV); the washroom (toilet and bathtub/shower) was a separate area from the sink which provided more privacy. There was more than adequate room for hanging items in the closet. We were very impressed and will return.

Room Tip: My personal preference is not to have a ground floor room; rooms can face either to the outside (on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie B, General Manager at HYATT house Boston/Waltham, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear valued guest:
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to complete our Guest Survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Thank you so much for the great review and appreciate all your feedback. We look forward in seeing you on your next visit and thank you for choosing our Hyatt House Boston/Waltham

Sincerely,
Carrie Branchi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

Stayed while visiting our son who attends Babson. Room was nice on average level but that is what I'd expect at Hyatt House. Breakfast was a bit of a mess, staff could not seem to keep up with the demand. In the past we have stayed in natick and will definitely stay here again. Big negative was snow plows beeping all night outside.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JillPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie B, Front Office Manager at HYATT house Boston/Waltham, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking time and filling out our survey. We appreciate your feedback and choosing us for your stay. I would like to apologize for our breakfast not being up to par with your expectations and I will be following up with my Food and beverage team to improve the organization and service of the breakfast. Our goal is to not just meet your expectations but is to exceed them as well. I do apologize for the noise level of the snow plows and will be following up with my management team.

Thank You
Justin Shore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

A disappointment from start to finish. The lobby smelled like fish, the carpets were dirty and the room freezing cold. Not sure why Hyatt attaches its name to this one. Also difficult to find from both street and with GPS. Overall a big thumbs down.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelingunraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie B, Front Office Manager at HYATT house Boston/Waltham, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for the feedback regarding your recent stay. It is regrettable that your stay with us did not meet your expectations and that we failed to provide the service that you should expect from our hotel brand. I will certainly follow up with our Operations team regarding the condition of your guest room and our Front Desk team. One of the major purposes of your review is to highlight areas for improvement and your feedback provides us with valuable information that we can use to improve our Hotel and service delivery. I deeply apologize for not meeting your expectations of our hotel.

Thank You
Justin Shore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waltham hotels
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Boston / Waltham
0.2 mi away
The Westin Waltham-Boston
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Boston/Waltham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN TLC Hotel
BEST WESTERN TLC Hotel
#7 of 11 in Waltham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
2.2 mi away
Crescent Suites Hotel
Crescent Suites Hotel
#8 of 11 in Waltham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Boston Waltham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HYATT house Boston/Waltham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Boston/Waltham

Property: HYATT house Boston/Waltham
Address: 54 Fourth Avenue, Waltham, MA 02451-7507 (Formerly Hyatt Summerfield Suites Boston/Waltham)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Waltham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Waltham
#6 Family Hotel in Waltham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house Boston/Waltham 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just seconds off of Interstate-95/Route128. The Hyatt House – Boston/Waltham is conveniently located near many attractions, companies, and educational institutes. Located just 2.5 miles away from Bentley University and 3.6 miles away from Brandeis University, the property is very conducive for those students/families visiting and attending these major colleges. Our property is also convenient for those traveling to/attending Lasell College, Regis College, Boston College, Boston University, Wellesley College, MIT, Tufts University, Babson College and Harvard University. In addition, the Hyatt House – Boston/Waltham is located only 2.5 miles away from Moody Street in Waltham, MA; a tourist/local favorite. Moody Street (“Restaurant City”) is Waltham's historically well-known town center and is lined with a variety of restaurants, bars/pubs and local attractions. Situated in the heart of the Massachusetts Route 128 technology belt, only 15 minutes from downtown Boston the Hyatt House is an excellent option for business travelers. It is centrally located to the corporate offices of Dassault Systemes, Deloitte & Touche, IBM, Microsoft, Raytheon, Shire Pharmaceuticals, Siemens, Thermo Fisher Scientific and Verizon. All Hyatt House hotels are smoke-free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your HYATT house Boston/Waltham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Summerfield Suites Boston/Waltham Hotel Waltham
Hyatt Summerfield Suites Waltham
Summerfield Suites Waltham
Hyatt Waltham
Waltham Hyatt
Waltham Summerfield Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing