We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great location and great price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of HYATT house Boston/Waltham

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
HYATT house Boston/Waltham
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   54 4th Ave, Waltham, MA 02451-7507 (Formerly Hyatt Summerfield Suites Boston/Waltham)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Your Points
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Waltham
Certificate of Excellence
MD
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great location and great price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Just off of Rt 128, this hotel is in a great location, convenient to towns around Boston (Burlington, Newton, Watertown, Dedham) and it's also very close to the Mass Pike, making it easy to get into Boston or points west. It is right off of the highway, but tucked far enough away, so that noise is not an issue.

The rooms are nicely appointed with a separate living area/work space and kitchen. The bedroom featured a king-size bed and tv and bureau, while the living area had a big L-shaped sofa bed, a tv, and desk. WiFi, parking and breakfast are free!

For the price, you really can't beat this place!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MDGal66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie B, General Manager at HYATT house Boston/Waltham, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your very kind words regarding our property. We are always striving to be the best we can be and we hope that this committment comes across to all of our guests. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    156
    64
    27
    10
See reviews for
198
45
18
133
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Have stayed here many times over the past years and in general, has been a very pleasant stay and good value for money. Decent locale for Rt. 128 business access. However, in the past year, have noticed slippage in many areas: facilities need renovation, housekeeping getting sloppy, and corporate Hyatt cutting corners for costs savings. Door lock, HVAC, and furniture showed significant wear/tears and/or didn't work properly. Thermostat cover fell off when I touched it and doesn't work properly. Door lock bent and door not hung true. Dead bugs on floor and shower mat missing from room. Ice maker worked intermittently. Toiletries have declined from downsized "full-line" Portico brand to motel quality. Some properties have tried to move to the euro dispenser styles but that is not a good idea in terms of hygiene and other reasons. Breakfast items are pretty lousy in quality now - "eggs" are microwaved albumin/reconstituted protein, some of the juices taste like reconstituted "corn-syrup" flavorings. All-in-all, as a long-time elite Hyatt member, very disappointed in this property and in the general direction Hyatt is taking it's non "full-line" brands (House, Place). Not even remotely close to Hyatt standards - I expect Hyatt "lite" at these locales, not Budget Inn.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CulturedBacillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie B, General Manager at HYATT house Boston/Waltham, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
We are so very sorry that your experience at the Hyatt House was not what you expected. We apologize for any and all of the issues you experienced with your room and stay. We assure you that I personally have spoken with the staff regarding your experience. We would appreciate a second chance to show you what we are capable of.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This is an awesome hotel tucked away from the interstate and hussle of the traffic. Very quiet and quaint. The hotel staff was amazing and provided answers with friendliness. I felt like I knew them for years. Social hour and breakfast were a great touch, especially if you wanted to have a bite to each and relax without having to leave to find a place to eat. There were enough food choices to make anyone happy. The rooms were clean and graciously spacious, and all were functioning properly. The kitchen is fantastic to have. I have stayed here a few times, and I find I would not go anywhere else when in the Boston area. Very ideal.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie B, General Manager at HYATT house Boston/Waltham, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Michelle,

Thank you so much for the wonderful comments regarding both our hotel and our staff. We truly feel that our staff make the difference and are happy to hear such wonderful comments. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

The Hyatt House is a great place for business travel and probably even better for family travel. It is clean and updated and the rooms are great. It is especially good for longer stays. The rooms have both a kitchen and a living room and the beds are comfortable and firm. The bedroom is separate from the living room, so you have a place to work and sit on a couch that is separate from the place you sleep. I really like that feature.

They have a lite snack in the afternoon that is great as well as a hot breakfast in the mornings that are both complimentary. I have stayed here 4-5 times and it has been consitantly very good.

Room Tip: They also have double rooms for families that have a second bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie B, General Manager at HYATT house Boston/Waltham, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our property. We appreciate that you are a repeat guest and have such nice things to say about our property. Hope to see you on your next visit to our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This is an excellent hotel neatly tucked away from the regular traffic and street noise. The hotel offers a relaxing stay with good breakfast and social hour snacks in the evenings on M-Th. The rooms are clean, comfortable for relaxing and doing office work if desired. I came across this hotel while searching the internet and am glad that I did.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emc3solu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie B, General Manager at HYATT house Boston/Waltham, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We strive to make everyone's stay feel as if they were home. We hope now that you have found us. we look foward in seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mystic, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I enjoy my stay at this hotel often. The staff is very courteous and accommodating. My room has always been very spacious and clean. The kitchen is a great asset. My overall experience has been great every time I have stayed at this hotel. It has become my preferred hotel whenever I am in Boston for business.

Room Tip: If you have children or are traveling with a friend, as for the suite with the second bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie B, General Manager at HYATT house Boston/Waltham, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your reveiw. We appreciate your feedback and we are glad that your enjoyed your stays with us and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

By far the best hotel I have ever stayed at. Superior accommodations, superior staff, super clean, great food. I have never ever been to a place like this. Would recommend it to anyone, business or pleasure.

Room Tip: Two bedroom two bath suite with full kitchen was perfect for a girls' weekend
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie B, General Manager at HYATT house Boston/Waltham, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your response. Our goal is to make everyone's stay feeling like they are at their own home. We hope that if you are back in the Waltham area that you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waltham
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Boston / Waltham
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Boston/Waltham
0.1 mi away
The Westin Waltham-Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Boston / Waltham
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Boston Waltham
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN TLC Hotel
BEST WESTERN TLC Hotel
#6 of 11 in Waltham
4.0 of 5 stars 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HYATT house Boston/Waltham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Boston/Waltham

Property: HYATT house Boston/Waltham
Address: 54 4th Ave, Waltham, MA 02451-7507 (Formerly Hyatt Summerfield Suites Boston/Waltham)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Waltham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Waltham
#6 Family Hotel in Waltham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house Boston/Waltham 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just seconds off of Interstate-95/Route128. The Hyatt House – Boston/Waltham is conveniently located near many attractions, companies, and educational institutes. Located just 2.5 miles away from Bentley University and 3.6 miles away from Brandeis University, the property is very conducive for those students/families visiting and attending these major colleges. Our property is also convenient for those traveling to/attending Lasell College, Regis College, Boston College, Boston University, Wellesley College, MIT, Tufts University, Babson College and Harvard University. In addition, the Hyatt House – Boston/Waltham is located only 2.5 miles away from Moody Street in Waltham, MA; a tourist/local favorite. Moody Street (“Restaurant City”) is Waltham's historically well-known town center and is lined with a variety of restaurants, bars/pubs and local attractions. Situated in the heart of the Massachusetts Route 128 technology belt, only 15 minutes from downtown Boston the Hyatt House is an excellent option for business travelers. It is centrally located to the corporate offices of Dassault Systemes, Deloitte & Touche, IBM, Microsoft, Raytheon, Shire Pharmaceuticals, Siemens, Thermo Fisher Scientific and Verizon. All Hyatt House hotels are smoke-free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your HYATT house Boston/Waltham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Summerfield Suites Boston/Waltham Hotel Waltham
Hyatt Summerfield Suites Waltham
Summerfield Suites Waltham
Hyatt Waltham
Waltham Hyatt
Waltham Summerfield Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing