We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice quiet, clean hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of HYATT house Boston/Waltham

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
HYATT house Boston/Waltham
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Waltham
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice quiet, clean hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

this is our 3rd time staying at this hotel, beautiful suite, very clean comfortable bed, with kitchenette. Staff are very helpful, not far from Burlington mall., In the summer you can even barbque outside., A bit far from downtown boston about 25 minutes by car.

Room Tip: All rooms, were good, we stayed this time on the secong floor, facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank iritb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    161
    65
    30
    14
See reviews for
216
46
18
135
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

The good; The layout of the two bedroom each with its own bathroom, the kitchen. Front desk staff were wonderful.
The bad; I booked a handicapped accessible room with roll in shower. That is not what we got but the tub was low enough for my handicapped son to sit on and swing his legs over with my help! My sons room had a strange sound coming from outside, I kept thinking it was a vehicle going by but when I had to lay with him for him to settle I realize it was not vehicles? I was puzzled. The next day I noticed the sound was coming from the where city gas enters the building! kind of scary and annoying glad we were only there one night. The tile in the bathroom had some icky grout and the stove had fingerprints all over the control. I was also taken back when I went to the very small store and was ready to pay with my items on the counter and a cleaning staff person held up her items to show the person who was checking going to check me out as if she was going to cut in front of me which the hotel employee did not go for. It was all rather surprising given the price and we needed rest because we were there for a hospital evaluation.

Room Tip: Don't get the room where the gas enters the building its noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I stayed at Hyatt House Waltham MA from 20 th to 26th Oct 12. It was a fantastic stay with good Bfast and dinners. The front office staff was extremely helpful with my fax and scanning needs.
The room was big and very comfortable.
I would recommend this property for business / leisure.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Arup D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

We arrived at almost midnight for our stay with 3 little kids. We had reserved the two bedroom suite. The only one left. Upon arrival, one bedroom absolutely reeked of cigarette smoke and the bathroom almost made us gag. The hotel was supposed to be smoke free. The person(s) who cleaned the room prior to our arrival either must not have inhaled the entire time they were "cleaning", or just not cared. We were offered $50 off for the night and someone would rid the room of odor in the morning. The second time I called the front desk I was told we would get another room in the am. When asked how the odor could not be detected, he said " I don't know what other people smell". He himself was a smoker and smelled of it upon check in.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aasnmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
92 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We booked this hotel during a very busy time in Boston when prices were extremely high to a special event going on in the city. The price was right and it was available at the last minute.
After we reserved our room, we received a very nice e-mail from the staff - not an automated one - a personal one, thanking us for our business and letting us know the names of the managers should we need anything during our stay. I thought that was a very nice touch and we hadn't even arrived yet! When we did arrive, we were much later than we intended (after midnight) due to traffic and a difficult trip. We had called ahead to let the hotel know we would be arriving late and they assured us they would hold the room. Unfortunately, when we went up to our room, there were two double beds not one king as we reserved, but we were honestly too tired to complain and just wanted to go to sleep! But we couldn't! The room was very warm and when we tried to adjust the temperature setting, it was locked. The thermostat appeared to have a plastic lock on it, making it impossible to change the setting. For this, I did call down to the front desk but was only informed where the thermostat was in the room and that there was also a setting for a fan as well. We checked again and it was definitely locked. We decided to just go to bed as we were exhausted! Unfortunately, I did not have a good night sleep at all as the room was just too warm for my comfort (set to 78 on the thermostat.) We dealt with it since we were only staying that one night and checked out in the morning. We barely spent any time at the hotel so it was nice to enjoy the complimentary breakfast they offered with the rate. I did like Hyatt House very much other than the issues we experienced. The staff was courteous and friendly. The room was clean and met our needs .It would be perfect for a family or extended stay. Nice kitchen, spacious room with bedroom in a second room, and a pull-out sofa bed in its own room. The complimentary breakfast, free parking and internet service was appreciated. But I doubt I could ever stay here again unless they allow individual control of the temperature in the rooms. True to the Hyatt name, however, they did try to resolve this problem even after I was already home. I filled out a survey and mentioned the problems we experienced. They contacted me right away and wanted us to know our complete satisfaction was their goal. To make up for it, they gave us extra Hyatt points and said they would be speaking to their "Chief Engineer" about why we were not able to control our heat. They gave us enough points for a free night, so if they resolved this problem, I'd be willing to try them again if we are ever in the Boston area. But only if the problem with the temperature was resolved!

Room Tip: Ask if you can control the room temperature and be sure to have a guarantee for the bed sie you desi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ticcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is definitely above average for the price. But they need to spend a little money on their maintenance department because the maintenance is very sloppy. i.e missing floor tile in the main elevator, non-functional partition doors and lock in the room, broken toilet seat, torn sheets, etc. Simple and inexpensive stuff to fix and not a huge deal. So it is a pretty nice place, in an excellent location and a reasonable price. But the maintenance is obviously lacking and sloppy. The room was spacious and clean. No real complaints. I would return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mack00013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

For business travel this is the perfect hotel. There is nothing there within walking distance but it has easy access to the I95 and Waltham is a short drive away. These lodgings are more like small apartments than hotel rooms and they are stylish, comfortable and well stocked. The appliances and dishes are clean and new, unlike some suite hotels I've stayed in. There is a good Business Center and guest laundry, the breakfast selection is better than good and the staff are always pleasant and helpful (particularly Janice, who always remembers me). I travel extensively for work and this is one of my favourite places to stay; it kind of feels like coming home.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennmtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waltham
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Boston / Waltham
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Boston/Waltham
0.1 mi away
The Westin Waltham-Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Boston / Waltham
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN TLC Hotel
BEST WESTERN TLC Hotel
#8 of 11 in Waltham
4.0 of 5 stars 375 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Boston Waltham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HYATT house Boston/Waltham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Boston/Waltham

Property: HYATT house Boston/Waltham
Address: 54 4th Ave, Waltham, MA 02451-7507 (Formerly Hyatt Summerfield Suites Boston/Waltham)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Waltham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Waltham
#6 Business Hotel in Waltham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house Boston/Waltham 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just seconds off of Interstate-95/Route128. The Hyatt House – Boston/Waltham is conveniently located near many attractions, companies, and educational institutes. Located just 2.5 miles away from Bentley University and 3.6 miles away from Brandeis University, the property is very conducive for those students/families visiting and attending these major colleges. Our property is also convenient for those traveling to/attending Lasell College, Regis College, Boston College, Boston University, Wellesley College, MIT, Tufts University, Babson College and Harvard University. In addition, the Hyatt House – Boston/Waltham is located only 2.5 miles away from Moody Street in Waltham, MA; a tourist/local favorite. Moody Street (“Restaurant City”) is Waltham's historically well-known town center and is lined with a variety of restaurants, bars/pubs and local attractions. Situated in the heart of the Massachusetts Route 128 technology belt, only 15 minutes from downtown Boston the Hyatt House is an excellent option for business travelers. It is centrally located to the corporate offices of Dassault Systemes, Deloitte & Touche, IBM, Microsoft, Raytheon, Shire Pharmaceuticals, Siemens, Thermo Fisher Scientific and Verizon. All Hyatt House hotels are smoke-free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Hyatt Hotels Corporation and Travelocity so you can book your HYATT house Boston/Waltham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Summerfield Suites Boston/Waltham Hotel Waltham
Hyatt Summerfield Suites Waltham
Summerfield Suites Waltham
Hyatt Waltham
Waltham Hyatt
Waltham Summerfield Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing