We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above average but it COULD be great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of HYATT house Boston/Waltham

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
HYATT house Boston/Waltham
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Waltham
Certificate of Excellence
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Above average but it COULD be great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is definitely above average for the price. But they need to spend a little money on their maintenance department because the maintenance is very sloppy. i.e missing floor tile in the main elevator, non-functional partition doors and lock in the room, broken toilet seat, torn sheets, etc. Simple and inexpensive stuff to fix and not a huge deal. So it is a pretty nice place, in an excellent location and a reasonable price. But the maintenance is obviously lacking and sloppy. The room was spacious and clean. No real complaints. I would return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mack00013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    156
    64
    27
    10
See reviews for
198
45
18
133
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

For business travel this is the perfect hotel. There is nothing there within walking distance but it has easy access to the I95 and Waltham is a short drive away. These lodgings are more like small apartments than hotel rooms and they are stylish, comfortable and well stocked. The appliances and dishes are clean and new, unlike some suite hotels I've stayed in. There is a good Business Center and guest laundry, the breakfast selection is better than good and the staff are always pleasant and helpful (particularly Janice, who always remembers me). I travel extensively for work and this is one of my favourite places to stay; it kind of feels like coming home.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennmtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COLUMBUS OHIO
Level Contributor
46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Really quite excellent AS LONG AS it's not full.
Suites are huge and very comfortable, but no thought given to soundproofing walls & ceilings.....shame.
2 bedrooms/2 bathrooms plus kitchen/lounge area. Very Clean.
All very nice, - breakfast area gets a bit overcrowded at times.
Staff very helpful and polite.
Anything you might reasonably want is available from the small but well-stocked store next to Front Desk. WiFi was fast & free as i recall, so was parking. Nice location too.
Would go back again, happily....bit expensive for one person traveling alone though.

Room Tip: Just ask for 'away from others but near an elevator'
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank butlinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
156 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We rented a two-bedroom suite to host our international friends, and this was a fantastic home base to show them New England. There were many options for breakfast: hot eggs, waffles, fruit, yogurt, cereal, breads and muffins. In addition, there was food offered in the evenings, Monday thru Thursdays, which turned out to be more than enough for dinner. We never even needed to use the full kitchen in our suite since they provided cooked food for us. The beds were comfortable, and the three flat screen TVs in the suite were downright decadent. The price was reasonable considering the two King master bedrooms, with breakfast and dinner included (at least for most of the week.) I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patronking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

We ended up with a 2 bedroom suite with a full kitchen and 2 full bathrooms. I don't remember booking such a large room for just my husband and myself but it was a very nice surprise! The rooms and bedding were clean and having a large living room was nice to relax in.

The decor was modern and very home-like. The beds were so-so - not the softest but still comfortable. The flat screen TV and free Internet were both pleasant amenities.

We were on the first floor and very close to the lobby, business center and small fitness facility. The workout equipment was modern and well taken care of even though the room was small. One large weight machine and some free weights were also available.

It is located in a business area with a few other extended stay hotels and not many restaurants close by - most were pizza and sub joints. It was a relief to return to an area that was free of congestion after visiting Boston one evening (approx 30 min away). I would stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Psy1ocke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Writing this at 12:35am and hear people laughing and talking in multiple rooms plus footsteps above. It's fully booked Saturday night but the walks let all the sound through. The breakfast area can't handle a full house. We have to bring breakfast back to the room (sub par bacon and cold "scrambled" eggs. Like the Hyatt House in Burlington much better but it was booked.

Rooms are updated with flat screens but our kitchen was missing a lot of utensils, thermostat was broken (on Friday they said they'd replace it Saturday but never did).

Also this is a hotel you need to drive to get anywhere. The Burlington one has shops and restaurants just across the street.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scottinvirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Good news: I found the front desk staff to be very friendly, professional and helpful.

Bad news: There is no cellphone service in this hotel. One of the front desk staff told me she goes outside on the sidewalk to the right to make cellphone calls. I was there for a week on business - was I supposed to call my clients standing outside on the sidewalk, with mosquitos and no privacy? Do they want us to use their in-room phone service that badly? I guess so.

More bad news: Not exactly the cleanest place in town. Dead cockroach in bathroom, long black hairs on "clean" towels. Maid service is not too thorough (they didn't refill paper or shampoo or replace washcloths). I only had them service my room once, and they were in there for only a few minutes (I happened to show up when they were entering, and waited nearby until they finished - which was faster than I could have imagined. Maybe they were fast because they didn't want me to wait too long?) But they too were very nice, and without attitude when I requested the missing items. (I should also mention that I asked them to change the sheets and they said no - albeit very nicely; only on Wednesdays or Saturdays are sheets changed.)

More bad news: The TVs stop working frequently. It happened to me twice, and I had no TV in the bedroom for the last 3 nights of my stay. It also happened the last time I stayed at this hotel, and the guy who came to fix it the first day this time told me they have all sorts of problems with their TV service.

Lastly: the manager emailed me that she wanted to call and apologize for everything (the front desk had already credited me for one night's stay), and I wrote back a nice note with my phone number. She confirmed receipt of my email, and never called. Had she called, I probably would not have written this negative review - as there might have been good reasons for all of these issues...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tena t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waltham
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Boston / Waltham
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Boston/Waltham
0.1 mi away
The Westin Waltham-Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Boston / Waltham
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Boston Waltham
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN TLC Hotel
BEST WESTERN TLC Hotel
#8 of 11 in Waltham
4.0 of 5 stars 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HYATT house Boston/Waltham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Boston/Waltham

Property: HYATT house Boston/Waltham
Address: 54 4th Ave, Waltham, MA 02451-7507 (Formerly Hyatt Summerfield Suites Boston/Waltham)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Waltham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Waltham
#6 Family Hotel in Waltham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house Boston/Waltham 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just seconds off of Interstate-95/Route128. The Hyatt House – Boston/Waltham is conveniently located near many attractions, companies, and educational institutes. Located just 2.5 miles away from Bentley University and 3.6 miles away from Brandeis University, the property is very conducive for those students/families visiting and attending these major colleges. Our property is also convenient for those traveling to/attending Lasell College, Regis College, Boston College, Boston University, Wellesley College, MIT, Tufts University, Babson College and Harvard University. In addition, the Hyatt House – Boston/Waltham is located only 2.5 miles away from Moody Street in Waltham, MA; a tourist/local favorite. Moody Street (“Restaurant City”) is Waltham's historically well-known town center and is lined with a variety of restaurants, bars/pubs and local attractions. Situated in the heart of the Massachusetts Route 128 technology belt, only 15 minutes from downtown Boston the Hyatt House is an excellent option for business travelers. It is centrally located to the corporate offices of Dassault Systemes, Deloitte & Touche, IBM, Microsoft, Raytheon, Shire Pharmaceuticals, Siemens, Thermo Fisher Scientific and Verizon. All Hyatt House hotels are smoke-free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotwire, Travelocity and Hyatt Hotels Corporation so you can book your HYATT house Boston/Waltham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Summerfield Suites Boston/Waltham Hotel Waltham
Hyatt Summerfield Suites Waltham
Summerfield Suites Waltham
Hyatt Waltham
Waltham Hyatt
Waltham Summerfield Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing