We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay outside of the Boston area.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of HYATT house Boston/Waltham

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
HYATT house Boston/Waltham
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Waltham
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great place to stay outside of the Boston area.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

We ended up with a 2 bedroom suite with a full kitchen and 2 full bathrooms. I don't remember booking such a large room for just my husband and myself but it was a very nice surprise! The rooms and bedding were clean and having a large living room was nice to relax in.

The decor was modern and very home-like. The beds were so-so - not the softest but still comfortable. The flat screen TV and free Internet were both pleasant amenities.

We were on the first floor and very close to the lobby, business center and small fitness facility. The workout equipment was modern and well taken care of even though the room was small. One large weight machine and some free weights were also available.

It is located in a business area with a few other extended stay hotels and not many restaurants close by - most were pizza and sub joints. It was a relief to return to an area that was free of congestion after visiting Boston one evening (approx 30 min away). I would stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Psy1ocke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    161
    64
    30
    12
See reviews for
210
46
18
135
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Writing this at 12:35am and hear people laughing and talking in multiple rooms plus footsteps above. It's fully booked Saturday night but the walks let all the sound through. The breakfast area can't handle a full house. We have to bring breakfast back to the room (sub par bacon and cold "scrambled" eggs. Like the Hyatt House in Burlington much better but it was booked.

Rooms are updated with flat screens but our kitchen was missing a lot of utensils, thermostat was broken (on Friday they said they'd replace it Saturday but never did).

Also this is a hotel you need to drive to get anywhere. The Burlington one has shops and restaurants just across the street.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scottinvirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Good news: I found the front desk staff to be very friendly, professional and helpful.

Bad news: There is no cellphone service in this hotel. One of the front desk staff told me she goes outside on the sidewalk to the right to make cellphone calls. I was there for a week on business - was I supposed to call my clients standing outside on the sidewalk, with mosquitos and no privacy? Do they want us to use their in-room phone service that badly? I guess so.

More bad news: Not exactly the cleanest place in town. Dead cockroach in bathroom, long black hairs on "clean" towels. Maid service is not too thorough (they didn't refill paper or shampoo or replace washcloths). I only had them service my room once, and they were in there for only a few minutes (I happened to show up when they were entering, and waited nearby until they finished - which was faster than I could have imagined. Maybe they were fast because they didn't want me to wait too long?) But they too were very nice, and without attitude when I requested the missing items. (I should also mention that I asked them to change the sheets and they said no - albeit very nicely; only on Wednesdays or Saturdays are sheets changed.)

More bad news: The TVs stop working frequently. It happened to me twice, and I had no TV in the bedroom for the last 3 nights of my stay. It also happened the last time I stayed at this hotel, and the guy who came to fix it the first day this time told me they have all sorts of problems with their TV service.

Lastly: the manager emailed me that she wanted to call and apologize for everything (the front desk had already credited me for one night's stay), and I wrote back a nice note with my phone number. She confirmed receipt of my email, and never called. Had she called, I probably would not have written this negative review - as there might have been good reasons for all of these issues...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tena t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Hopatcong, New Jersey
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My family and I stayed just one night near Boston on our vacation. The two bedroom suite was ideal for two adults and four kids. Plenty of space to spread out plus two bathrooms and three televisions helped keep the peace. The pool is very nice but the gym was lacking in size and quality. The breakfast area is very open and relaxing. The food quality was OK but worth the convenience. Overall great stay for a big box hotel chain at a good price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KcSand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This hotel is perfect for young families. Offers wonderful amenities for kids, plus the fully-stocked kitchen (right down to the soap and paper towels!), combined with a generous breakfast buffet (complimentary) and "social hour" (a.k.a.: dinner!) during the week (various themes, certainly enough food to count for a dinner, especially for kids) helps offset the cost. Additional amenities including the pool and business center are real pluses. Rooms are spacious and the living room set-up make for great accommodations. I will admit that at check-in, the first room we were assigned did not appear to be as clean as I'd hoped (looked like the job was not well-done). I simply reported this to the desk and within 5 minutes, desk staff had personally hand-delivered a key to my door for another room down the hall. The whole thing took less than 10 minutes and the problem was efficiently solved with no further issues or questions, plus an apology! I have been very pleased with the service here and would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Connecticut
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

I chose this hotel for a weekend trip to Boston, without wanting to pay Boston's high prices. The location is great, right off of I-95, and just a few exits from the Mass Pike, which takes you right into Boston. It's a little confusing to get to the first time, but once you figure out the streets, it's not a problem.

The suites are very nice. We had a comfortable sofa, which included a chaise lounge, much to my wife's delight. The dining area was a little strange, being an extension of the counter top, with small stools on either side. The bedroom area is very comfortable, with nice lighting, and the TV attached to the wall, which is very nice.

We only had a few small issues. The room did smell a little strange. I've stayed at Hyatts before, and do not think the smell is like others. Plus, both nights, there was a beeping smoke detector in the hallway. We overcame this by closing the bedroom door at night, and couldn't hear a thing. The free breakfast was also very busy both mornings, with the second day having barely any food left, so breakfast was eaten elsewhere.

All in all, it was a very good experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

This hotel was wonderful for my husband, two boys and me. There was so much room! We took advantage of many amenities in the hotel and enjoyed it all! The breakfasts were great! It is a short drive to the subway system into Boston and is definitely a place we'd go back to!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jenroberts510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waltham
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Boston / Waltham
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Boston/Waltham
0.1 mi away
The Westin Waltham-Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Boston / Waltham
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN TLC Hotel
BEST WESTERN TLC Hotel
#8 of 11 in Waltham
4.0 of 5 stars 374 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Boston Waltham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HYATT house Boston/Waltham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Boston/Waltham

Property: HYATT house Boston/Waltham
Address: 54 4th Ave, Waltham, MA 02451-7507 (Formerly Hyatt Summerfield Suites Boston/Waltham)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Waltham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Waltham
#6 Family Hotel in Waltham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house Boston/Waltham 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just seconds off of Interstate-95/Route128. The Hyatt House – Boston/Waltham is conveniently located near many attractions, companies, and educational institutes. Located just 2.5 miles away from Bentley University and 3.6 miles away from Brandeis University, the property is very conducive for those students/families visiting and attending these major colleges. Our property is also convenient for those traveling to/attending Lasell College, Regis College, Boston College, Boston University, Wellesley College, MIT, Tufts University, Babson College and Harvard University. In addition, the Hyatt House – Boston/Waltham is located only 2.5 miles away from Moody Street in Waltham, MA; a tourist/local favorite. Moody Street (“Restaurant City”) is Waltham's historically well-known town center and is lined with a variety of restaurants, bars/pubs and local attractions. Situated in the heart of the Massachusetts Route 128 technology belt, only 15 minutes from downtown Boston the Hyatt House is an excellent option for business travelers. It is centrally located to the corporate offices of Dassault Systemes, Deloitte & Touche, IBM, Microsoft, Raytheon, Shire Pharmaceuticals, Siemens, Thermo Fisher Scientific and Verizon. All Hyatt House hotels are smoke-free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotwire and Hyatt Hotels Corporation so you can book your HYATT house Boston/Waltham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Summerfield Suites Boston/Waltham Hotel Waltham
Hyatt Summerfield Suites Waltham
Summerfield Suites Waltham
Hyatt Waltham
Waltham Hyatt
Waltham Summerfield Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing