We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of HYATT house Boston/Waltham

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
HYATT house Boston/Waltham
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Waltham
Certificate of Excellence
Pleasant Grove, Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed in 7 hotels in 12 days...so we got a feel for a lot of places!! This was a very nice place. Very clean, helpful front desk, nice room set up (family of 6 adults in 2 bedroom suite with kitchen and 2 baths!) Nice pool and surrounding grounds. We stayed here a total of 4 nights and were happy with most everything. I would recommend this place to family and friends. My only complaint was the staff at the breakfast bar. They did not keep it stocked and were very curt and irritated when anyone requested more of something. This was too bad as everything and everyone else tried really hard to make our stay exceptional.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank K G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    161
    65
    30
    14
See reviews for
217
46
18
135
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Room was two bedroom suite with full kitchen. It was more like an upscale apartment. Both bedrooms where suites with king sized beds, flat screen LG tvs & full bathrooms with the vanity on the outside. The kitchen was fully equipped with stainless LG appliances and a breakfast nook; not to mention the living room area which had its own flats screen and a sectional sitting area. This type of hotel is nice for a family vacation, when the family is staying for a few days. If you don't want to prepare your own food in the full stainless kitchen then there's always the breakfast & dinner buffets available. The breakfast buffet was included with the room and had pretty much everything you'd want to eat in a regular breakfast. Weekly dinner buffets are available as well; and the menu is posted in the suite. My only complaint was that I left my bible there by accident. It had sentimental value because it was bought for me by my brother several years ago for Christmas. I called there to see if they found it and was told no. I'm sure one of the cleaning staff claimed it as their own. Just FYI make sure to take all your belongings. Don't forget anything!

Room Tip: First floor rooms are the two bedroom suites w/king sized beds & full kitchens w/stainless appli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dbrink7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Huge suites with two bedrooms! Decent breakfast with choices for all tastes but nothing unique or hand made! Swimming pool is fine for kids or a refreshing dip. Pool side washrooms really needed some attention. Front Desk staff were friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SamatMomos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

I enjoyed this property's spacious rooms, and breakfast accommodations. The staff was okay when we stayed there, but have heard different things from family that stay there after our stay. I guess I would give this hotel another try if I am in the area, but the price does have to be right.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerManDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda, California
Level Contributor
132 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Although this is not a perfect hotel I would definitely stay there again. I booked a room for one night during a trip back to Massachusetts. I was there helping my mother at her home on the Cape, but wanted to spend some time with my grown son who has a roommate and, therefore, staying at his house is not a great option. I wanted to book a hotel with plenty of room for both of us where we would be comfortable just hanging out, talking, etc. The Hyatt House fulfilled that need. I booked a 2 bedroom suite. It is nicely decorated with flat screen TVs in the living area and both bedrooms. It was very spacious, full kitchen and living area and 2 baths. It worked out great as far as space goes. I did utilize the fitness center which was adequate. We used the pool and hot tub that night. The jets in the hot tub did not work. A small issue with the room - one lamp in one of the bedrooms did not work. We did take advantage of the food at the social hour which was a mixed bag. The caeser salad was actually romaine lettuce with Italian dressing and somehow both of us ended up with stomach issues from the food that night and into the next morning. I also ate a small amount of breakfast prior to my departure. During both the social hour and breakfast the staff seemed to have trouble keeping up with the need to replenish the food.

Front desk staff was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spazgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tysons Corner, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

"Hyatt" I thought a brand that is keeping up with its name. I stayed at this Hyatt house at Waltham, MA. That was a terrible mistake on trusting a brand name. The fourth day I ran out of that place.
Series of issues:
1. I arrived and called in to report the bathroom door lock does not work. It was 11pm so they said the engineer would come in morning to fix
2. Next day morning I reported, no trash bin in basin/bathroom area, the trash bin near desk/table does not have a bag. The basin does not drain. And went out for the day.
3. When came back in evening only the bathroom door is fixed not others. So for each trash you have rely on the small kitchen trash bin
4. To surprise me the coffee machine did not have any supplies and the iron board did not have a cover. So you are tired and no coffee and no way you can make your dress ready for next day.
5. Could not report the issue to front desk over phone. Because PHONE was NOT Working. Walked up and reported these issues and also inquired about the other pending issues
6. Well got some coffee pre-packed bags and a iron board with cover.
7. Next day morning realized dish washer is not working. Called in to report.
8. No action till evening when I had to make another call. When the engineer came to look up dishwasher found it cannot be fixed. The basin not draining the water cannot be fixed as well.
9. Asked the engineer why the room is so hot while the AC thermostat is set to cool etc. He liked to surprise me saying the thermostat is missing a part where you could adjust/set the temperature. It cannot be fixed the only option is to set the thermostat to "OFF"
10. So you are in a Hyatt hotel room where AC does not work. Luckily the first two nights stayed there the out side temperature was very good to keep me not wanting for heat or cool inside the room
11. When complained they offered would make the night free. But no options were provided to change the room.
12. Well at night 11pm what do you do, sleep in car? I opted not to waste my time discussing the problem any further... Just suck it up and sleep for the night to run to a different hotel next day!


To summarize:
1. Bathroom door lock does not work
2. The basin/sink does not drain
3. No trash bin near bath room/sink
4. No trash bag in the bin near the table/desk
5. Coffee maker does not have supplies
6. Phone stopped working
7. Iron board does not have a pad/cover
8. Dishwasher does not work
9. worst ever: AC DOES NOT WORK

Room Tip: Please check your room if AC is WORKING and all items before you unpack and settle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
402 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

I stayed here very recently when I went to visit for business - the property is an older property, but has all you need (breakfast, workout, etc...) and is well located near 128

I noted that the place was very busy (think of it as consultants heaven!), which is fine, but that tells you it gets a lot of wear and tear

Interestingly, I just noted that a firm in Atlanta just bought the hotel and is going to do a major renovation - it will be top notch when that is dine

i did not eat on premises (glass of wine in hotel bar), but the staff were all friendly and helpful

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waltham
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Boston / Waltham
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Boston/Waltham
0.1 mi away
The Westin Waltham-Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Boston / Waltham
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN TLC Hotel
BEST WESTERN TLC Hotel
#8 of 11 in Waltham
4.0 of 5 stars 376 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Boston Waltham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HYATT house Boston/Waltham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Boston/Waltham

Property: HYATT house Boston/Waltham
Address: 54 4th Ave, Waltham, MA 02451-7507 (Formerly Hyatt Summerfield Suites Boston/Waltham)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Waltham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Waltham
#6 Business Hotel in Waltham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house Boston/Waltham 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just seconds off of Interstate-95/Route128. The Hyatt House – Boston/Waltham is conveniently located near many attractions, companies, and educational institutes. Located just 2.5 miles away from Bentley University and 3.6 miles away from Brandeis University, the property is very conducive for those students/families visiting and attending these major colleges. Our property is also convenient for those traveling to/attending Lasell College, Regis College, Boston College, Boston University, Wellesley College, MIT, Tufts University, Babson College and Harvard University. In addition, the Hyatt House – Boston/Waltham is located only 2.5 miles away from Moody Street in Waltham, MA; a tourist/local favorite. Moody Street (“Restaurant City”) is Waltham's historically well-known town center and is lined with a variety of restaurants, bars/pubs and local attractions. Situated in the heart of the Massachusetts Route 128 technology belt, only 15 minutes from downtown Boston the Hyatt House is an excellent option for business travelers. It is centrally located to the corporate offices of Dassault Systemes, Deloitte & Touche, IBM, Microsoft, Raytheon, Shire Pharmaceuticals, Siemens, Thermo Fisher Scientific and Verizon. All Hyatt House hotels are smoke-free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Hyatt Hotels Corporation and Travelocity so you can book your HYATT house Boston/Waltham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Summerfield Suites Boston/Waltham Hotel Waltham
Hyatt Summerfield Suites Waltham
Summerfield Suites Waltham
Hyatt Waltham
Waltham Hyatt
Waltham Summerfield Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing