We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall was fine, but don't settle for broken a/c (HOT) room on top floor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
HYATT house Boston/Waltham
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Waltham
SF, CA
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Overall was fine, but don't settle for broken a/c (HOT) room on top floor”
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed here during the weekend preceding the Boston Marathon (which always occurs on Monday/Patriot Day, a holiday in MA). So, every hotel was crowded. We were lucky to score this hotel via hotwire for a rate over 50% off the going rate on the website and booking engines.

Minor negative: they keep assigning people a room with malfunctioning a/c or heat and bakes the room at over 90 degrees Farenheit even at night (when it was a chilly 50 degrees F) -- and they never fix the problem as they told each guest checking in.

Initially friends who checked in earlier received a top floor room that had a broken air conditioning system and the room was stifling hot. They ended up getting rooms changed. We found this out only after we checked in later that day to receive the only room left on the top floor...which was the same room our friends were first assigned.

We at first went to dinner then came back to find the room's A/C controls were obviously broken. It was over 90 degrees and would not adjust.

The front desk accommodated our request to move to a lower floor. From reading other reviews, the a/c problem is recurring. However, whilst getting ready to collect our belongings out of the HOT room, someone else came into the room (we obtained card keys for the new room) and of course startled the poor soul. I explained the situation and that person too had to trek down to change rooms after feeling the unbearable heat.

That's our only quibble. Everything else is on par with budget oriented but business friendly hotel chains. The living room sofa had some cigarette burns, but overall it was spacious. Flat panel TVs in living room and bedroom. Breakfast was nothing special, and the traveling groups of youth sports teams managed to make a good mess of the breakfast area every morning.

This location is in the middle of nowhere, so a rental car is a necessity/plus. There's a nearby Costco for provisions (if you have membership)...otherwise a longer drive to the closest CVS. The T-line has a few stops nearby and parking there was a cinch. However, we'd recommend that only on weekdays. We found out later that Boston parking on the weekends is inexpensive and the nearly hour long ride on the T unnecessary.

You will hear neighboring rooms and the footsteps of those above you if you're in a lower level floor.

However, for the extremely inexpensive price we paid, it was worth it, esp. as all hotels jacked up their rates for the marathon. BTW, while the internet works fine, the remote printing does not work at all. You have to bring your flash drive and use their own computers for any printing capabilities. The small gym is adequate and is a nice amenity.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bikinghiking123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    185
    84
    38
    23
See reviews for
272
53
21
166
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Stayed here overnight for a Red Sox game. It was great. The rooms are really nice with great suite style seating. I've stayed in a lot of these suite like setups and this is by far the best. I really like the whole thing. It is located behind the Wyndham hotel which sits up on a hill and totally blocks any view of it. Right now there is a lot of construction but relax and persevere. You will be glad when you find it. Very nice breakfast buffet in the morning. Very, very busy during peak breakfast time. Overall, I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: The two bedroom suites are fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BTDT115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2011

This Hotel gets a 4 star rating from me. It has everything I like in a hotel.. Nice new TVs, Plenty of FREE parking, Plenty of Space in the Room, A refrigerator, microwave, a Huge couch, and a very nice comfortable bed. Only complaint is that I didn't have an Iron Board in the room, and the lady at the desk told me she would send one right over, but it took about 15 to 20 mins, and I was almost late for my departure time, due to that.

The Free Breakfast isn't much to brag about either. Didn't have anything that I liked..

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2011

I was in Waltham with 6 other family members for my little brother's college graduation. We were so fortunate to end up at the Hyatt Summerfield Suites!

We had two 2-bedroom suites that were very well appointed and spacious. The bedrooms were large and comfortable, each with it's own spacious bathrooms. The living room had a pull sofa and surprisingly large kitchen area, complete with stove and dishwasher. The finishes in the room are sleek but comfortable, MUCH nicer than any other "extended stay" suite I've been in (which I find to be rather stark).

We were able to very comfortably use our rooms as a staging area, congregating in between events for wine and cheese, talking, lauging, etc. The beds were amazingly comfortable, actually, everyone marveled at what a good night's sleep they got. Breakfast was included and provided a delicious American spread.

If the purpose of your trip is to explore Boston, this is not a convenient location for you. For any other reason, if you find yourself in the area, this is definitely the place to be! Situated in a group of hotels that includes Marriott and Westin, I can't imagine any other property giving you the most comfort and bang for your buck than the Hyatt Summerfield Suites.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klytia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2011

Great place to stay. Well maintained rooms and service. The room I stayed was a suite and it had a well furnished kitchen, living, bedroom and bathroom. The shuttle service used to run to nearby places. The breakfast was a very good spread, especially if you are an Indian vegetarian. The gym is open 24 hours and good wireless service as complimentary.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank w_travellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2011

I have stayed at many hotels in the Boston/Waltham area over the past few years. This one clearly surpasses all of them.

One trend I am seeing is the charge for parking and the charge for internet. This hotel offers both at no charge. The rooms are in a suite format and I really like having a bedroom with a closed door from the living room area. The rooms appear newly renovated and have a nice couch and living area, a small but useful kitchen with stove and sink and I found the hotel to be quiet. I didn't hear other doors slam or noises from the hallways.

I paid under $100 for a room close to Boston and easy access to the highways. A complimentary breakfast is served in the morning which isn't very good (bordering on gross), but I am not staying there for the breakfast anyway. The bathroom area could use a bit more flavor and not such a bright white light, but these are small complaints. Everything in the room is clean and well-done. I will stay here again and I would definitely stay at another Hyatt Summerfield. For a low cost option, I really think this is a great value!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kabecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2011

We went to Boston for Meeting in December. The hotel in very good. I enjoyed alot.
Nice location. Very good breakfast. and also snacks in the evening. we enjoyed very much. friendly staff. It is having nice kitchen to cook and the televisions are excellent.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dpt11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waltham hotels
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Boston / Waltham
0.2 mi away
The Westin Waltham-Boston
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Boston/Waltham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western TLC Hotel
Best Western TLC Hotel
#7 of 11 in Waltham
464 reviews
2.2 mi away
Crescent Suites Hotel
Crescent Suites Hotel
#3 of 11 in Waltham
265 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Boston / Waltham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HYATT house Boston/Waltham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Boston/Waltham

Property: HYATT house Boston/Waltham
Address: 54 Fourth Avenue, Waltham, MA 02451-7507 (Formerly Hyatt Summerfield Suites Boston/Waltham)
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Waltham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Waltham
#6 Business Hotel in Waltham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house Boston/Waltham 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just seconds off of Interstate-95/Route128. The Hyatt House – Boston/Waltham is conveniently located near many attractions, companies, and educational institutes. Located just 2.5 miles away from Bentley University and 3.6 miles away from Brandeis University, the property is very conducive for those students/families visiting and attending these major colleges. Our property is also convenient for those traveling to/attending Lasell College, Regis College, Boston College, Boston University, Wellesley College, MIT, Tufts University, Babson College and Harvard University. In addition, the Hyatt House – Boston/Waltham is located only 2.5 miles away from Moody Street in Waltham, MA; a tourist/local favorite. Moody Street (“Restaurant City”) is Waltham's historically well-known town center and is lined with a variety of restaurants, bars/pubs and local attractions. Situated in the heart of the Massachusetts Route 128 technology belt, only 15 minutes from downtown Boston the Hyatt House is an excellent option for business travelers. It is centrally located to the corporate offices of Dassault Systemes, Deloitte & Touche, IBM, Microsoft, Raytheon, Shire Pharmaceuticals, Siemens, Thermo Fisher Scientific and Verizon. All Hyatt House hotels are smoke-free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your HYATT house Boston/Waltham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Summerfield Suites Boston/Waltham Hotel Waltham
Hyatt Summerfield Suites Waltham
Summerfield Suites Waltham
Hyatt Waltham
Waltham Hyatt
Waltham Summerfield Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing