We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Boston / Waltham
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Waltham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
White Plains, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice Surprise”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

My family and I spent one night at the Embassy Suites. It was nice to find a hotel with free parking. We were happily greeted with check in and given a list of family friendly resturaunts nearby. Our room was clean and a perfect size for a family of four. Our kids enjoyed the pool and there were plenty of clean towels. When we needed more bath towels, housekeeping came up to our room immediately. Breakfast the next morning was a bonus. They had a good variety to choose from and everyone was happy. We will return.

Room Tip: We were on the 8th floor and it was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nrs312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    557
    435
    131
    57
    30
See reviews for
613
151
34
296
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
detroit
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I'll make this short and just say that after housekeeping visited our second day an item went missing. It wasn't a very valuable item, but it had emotional value. When notifying housekeeping and the first manager (a young fellow) it became very obvious it was of very little importance to them and the front desk even joked about it. The last night there the female mgr. did try, but nothing was found and she gave us 3 drinks at the bar, I said thank you, but please keep trying to find it. The next morning at checkout my husbands hat was left and we realized it at the airport. When we called they said they would send it and made sure they had the credit card information to charge the fees. Now yes, we know that was our fault, but really? After all the bs you want to charge for that? Upon calling ES customer service regarding our stay we were told that it's up to us to keep items safe and secure! So, your telling me that we have to keep our clothes (which the missing item was) and toiletries locked up at all times? Then there should be locks on the drawers, etc... that is some crazy nonsense!! A lot of the guests remarked on the poor customer service there and consensus is there are plenty of other hotels in the area and this one is not worth returning to.
What a shame their customer service is not a priority. It's obvious they thrive on renting their facility for conventions, etc... and I guess as long as they are getting revenue from that, the actual guests come last.
Sham on them.

Room Tip: Bring locks and don't have high expectations for customer service. If you must speak to anybody...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank uttshu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert W, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Boston / Waltham, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear uttshu,
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at our hotel on TripAdvisor and please accept my apology for not locating your lost item. I have taken the time to personally review the incident and know that your comments and suggestions, while as a guest of the hotel and through this review were taken very seriously. I have also determined that our staff worked diligently to locate your missing item but unfortunately without success. My team and I are working with our loyal and trustworthy housekeeping staff to ensure we prevent situations like this from occurring. Again, please accept our apologies for the hassle and frustration you experienced and if I can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Thank you,
Rob Weitz General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

They get it right here. The General Manager, Rob W., is phenomenal and took the time to personally aid us when a large online conglomerate would not. His "customer first" work ethic is top rate and is reflected in every single person who works there. At breakfast the cook asked if our child preferred smaller pancakes. Uh, I guess so? He then made a very famous mouse face out of pancakes. Our child was thrilled with this unexpected surprise. Thank you, kudos to you, sir! This hotel is a terrific place to stay if you are going to Boston. Would not hesitate to stay again when we are in the area. You get free parking, a spacious suite, a pool, a great bar with snacks, breakfast, and most importantly, awesome happy employees who actually want to help you. This is a no-brainer. Go.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whosaidthatnotme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
2 reviews
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Great hotel great rates. Very easy to get in and out of Boston and suburbs. Kids loved the pool and also it's great having 2 TV's in the room. Breakfast was great and made our stay so easy. Will always stay here when visiting Boston.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Anne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Embassy Suites in Waltham, and the complimentary breakfast was outstanding. However, the shuttle service around Waltham was poor. Twice we had to wait about 45 minutes at the Waltham train station for the rather short ride back to the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas, United States
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed at the Embassy Suites in Waltham for four nights. Overall, it's a good hotel but I'm surprised at some of the little negatives that Hilton usually gets right. The biggest complaint that we heard from other guests was that the manager's reception does not offer alcoholic beverages, supposedly due to Massachusetts law. That's fine, but how about offering a reduced priced happy hour at the bar? The sofa in the living room was extremely uncomfortable to sit on--a rock hard seat and straight back--very hard to put your feet up and watch TV. The breakfast was good over the weekend, but seating was difficult to find. On Monday morning, the selection was greatly reduced. As other guests have mentioned, the internet in the business center was extremely slow--it took forever to print out boarding passes. While all these are relatively minor, they do detract from what should have been a great stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel for over 8 years, when it was the doubletree. It has been managed by the same General manager for that period of time and he is the best! He runs the hotel perfectly, accommodating everyone he can and doing whatever it takes to keep clients happy. You always feel like you are part of the family when you stay here. The food is good, hotel is run carefully and the staff is extremely friendly and helpful. You will love your stay here!

Room Tip: ask for a room at the end of the hall. Sometimes when families are there, kids tend to congregate i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank g r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waltham hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Boston/Waltham
0.3 mi away
The Westin Waltham-Boston
0.5 mi away
HYATT house Boston/Waltham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western TLC Hotel
Best Western TLC Hotel
#7 of 11 in Waltham
465 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Boston Waltham
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Boston / Waltham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Boston / Waltham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Boston / Waltham

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Boston / Waltham
Address: 550 Winter St, Waltham, MA 02451-1202 (Formerly Doubletree Guest Suites Boston/Waltham)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Waltham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Waltham
#2 Green Hotel in Waltham
#3 Business Hotel in Waltham
#4 Family Hotel in Waltham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Boston / Waltham 3.5*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Embassy Suites Boston/Waltham located in Boston’s High-Technology, Pharmaceutical, and Life Sciences Belt and corporate corridor along Route 128 and Highway 95. Our upscale hotel is just 20 minutes to downtown Boston and 25 minutes to Logan International Airport, convenient to Brandeis and Bentley Universities, Wellesley and Regis Colleges. If you’re traveling to Boston on business or vacation, enjoy spacious two-room suites, complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast and a complimentary nightly Manager’s Reception. Plan your business conference, reunion, Bar Mitztvah, or wedding in one of our nine meeting and banquet rooms which can accommodate up to 300 guests. Enlist our experienced catering and meeting staff to plan a memorable event. Our all-suite hotel provides you with more. Enjoy signature omelets at our complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast, complimentary parking, a 24-hour BusinessLink Business Center, indoor heated pool, and 24-hour fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Boston / Waltham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Boston / Waltham Hotel Waltham
Doubletree Hotel Boston Waltham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing