We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Conrads - A neighborhood gem”

Conrad's Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 58 Restaurants in Walpole
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
90 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Conrads - A neighborhood gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Who would guess that you can get a Caprese salad outside of the North End that was just as good as the North End; Conrad's of course. You will find that this neighborhood gem which is an extension of their original Norwood location has a recipe for what could be hands down the most tender and tasty steak tips in the East. They serve a wide array of food and drink offerings; a must go spot for family and friends. You will understand why this place gets a two thumbs up from this foodie.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank curtinj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    27
    22
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sharon, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
172 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A horrid example of a restaurant having multiple locations”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Having eaten in their Norwood location on numerous occasions with good results, when friends suggested we go there for dinner. While driving, they informed us that in previous visits, that they had two good and two fair experiences.
We were seated quickly and the waitress was quite efficient. If only we could have said the same for the kitchen. Three of our 4 dinners had to be sent back; one overcooked with a baked potato that had obviously been prepared hours before and had changed color, another ordered medium was rare at best and the third had grilled sausages that were not cooked through,
Had our friends been more specific about their prior experiences, we would never have gone there and you can be sure that this was the last time for us.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 112bal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foxboro, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Eat, Drink, Sports and Keno”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Our visit was the best for a local restaurant in years. The Apple Martini I ordered was the best I have ever tasted rimmed with cinnamon sugar. It was cold, delicious and not a sticky mess on the outside of the glass. The waitress Ann was the best and knew how to serve without us asking for extra napkins or coasters. We sat at a table in the sports bar t.v. room so we could play Keno and I noticed that the booths had t.v.'s to tune into your choice of sports or Keno.....next time. It wasn't really loud for a large restaurant. The food was awesome, my husband had the fish and chips and I had the steak tips which were so tender they just melted in my mouth. They were recommended by a friend and I'm so glad I ordered them. The place is comfortable and the only thing I would suggest is that they have a Hostess in the Front and Rear because the restaurant has two entrances. The people coming in off the Front entrance have to walk to the Rear entrance for the Hostess to seat them. We returned a week later for my Birthday and we had the same good experience and a free dessert. We will be back again and again. It's a very comfortable atmosphere. Great place to go after work to hang out with friends. Clean and Comfortable.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Birdie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walpole, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“nice looking restaunt, not so much the food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

just came back from dinner with friend. this was my second time. the first wasn't so good so figured i'd try again. My friend who loved the conrads in Norwood, ordered the steak tips. She ordered them very well done, almost burnt, no pink. The manager Diane was training a new waitress. The new waitress did very well. my friends plate came out seeping of blood, so she sent it back. said it was inedible. When it came out a second time, still pink, she sent it back. No apologies from the manager. Then the third time she got it we had already been there quite a long time and she took it home to cook it herself! The manager wouldn't even give a credit for the meal!! we will stick with Red Robin. The chef comes out to apologize the first time if it isn't right, remove the meal from the bill, and they even give credit for a free meal the next time you go in. Conrads is just not up to par. Plus, why is what looks like the front door is actually the back door. very confusing

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
111 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Disaster from start to finish”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Our first visit to this Conrad's will definitely be our last. We arrived at 6:20pm and were quoted a 25/30 minute wait. When the beeper went off in 15 mins were were pleasantly surprised. We were seated in a high top right next to the bar. That is where the dinner went down hill very quickly.

The area around the table was loud, crowded and very busy. The bar patrons were squeezing in between our table and the bar. People were standing on all sides of us drinking and moving constantly.

We ordered our drinks along with nachos and a chicken parm calzone. The noise and population continued to increase. Our nachos arrived and were good. Finally we had had enough and stopped the manager as he passed our table. We told him that we were disappointed with our table. He "agreed" that it was not that good and was in a noisy area while laughing. He finally offered to move us but it would be awhile. Really???? We decided to say put and wait for our calzone.

After waiting for another 20 minutes we inquired about our calzone. Hmmm....seems the waitress FORGOT to place the order. She apologized and promised it would be quick. We waited another 30 minutes for it to arrive. When it finally arrived we ate 1/2 and left annoyed and frustrated.

A return to this Conrad's will NOT happen anytime soon.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank PrincessDed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Conrad's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Conrad's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing