We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run For Your Life”
Review of The Lakeside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lakeside Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Wakefield
Reviewed September 16, 2006

I booked a week-long stay at this hotel for a business trip, and I checked out after the first night. First, there's a restaurant attached (which is pretty good from what I hear), and so there's limited parking for people actually staying in the hotel. There's no elevator, so have fun lugging your luggage up 2-3 flights of stairs. My room smelled like must. And, as I was washing my face after a long day of air travel, I noticed that my hand towel still had pubic hair on it! How gross!!!

There's also no alternative to wireless internet. Per my company's policy, I am not allowed to access the internet via a wireless connection. But, there weren't even any data ports for me to plug my ethernet cable into!

And the continental breakfast was a JOKE. Mini muffins. That's it. Oh, and coffee. No juice. No regular-sized muffins. Nothing.

Do yourself a favor, and skip this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank irish_belle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (310)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

272 - 278 of 310 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Wakefield, MA
12
Reviewed January 27, 2006

We were looking for a place to hold our Bereavement Function, and someone recommended the Lord Wakefield.

I called the hotel and was connected to Carol Nicastro, Director of Sales and Catering. She couldn't be more helpful, and understanding. I dropped by to pick up the function menu; called Carol the next day, told her what I wanted (I chose the Brunch Menu Buffet), the number of people I expected, and she did the rest. We arrived at 11:30 AM , coffee, breakfast pasteries,fresh fruit and assorted juices were there awaiting our arrival. The tables were neatly set, and the room was beautiful overlooking the lake. The staff couldn't do enough for us. After giving the guests time to get settled; have their coffee and relax, the food was brought in. The brunch food was more than ample, with a good variety. When anything was getting low, more food came out. Everything was hot and delicious. We weren't rushed and were allowed to take our time and relax with friends and family. My hats off to Ms Nicastro and her staff for lessening our time of sorrow.

Stayed: January 2005
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2006

Renovations and painting were going on when I arrived. They did not tell me this while making reservation. Front desk staff took 15 minutes to check me in and I was the only one there. The hallway and my room smelled like something died in there. Not one drink in the vending machine and the ice machine is broken. I guess you get what you pay for at this Best Western.

3  Thank Laurie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2005

While traveling to Boston we spent the night before the start of our convention at this hotel. We were tired from driving all day and had gotten this close to Boston and needed to stop for the night.

We stayed in room 152 ground floor looking out to the lake. Check in took a little while but staff was polite. Desk clerk was able to tell us how long it would take to get to downtown Boston (only 12-15 miles away but could take a good hour to get there depending on traffic). There looked to be a nice range of travelers staying at this hotel business, tourist and foreign travelers.

Our room was clean and odor free. However, there could have been some minor repairs and updates to the bathroom. We got a good nights sleep and were ready to face the drive into downtown Boston. Complimentary continental breakfast was available in the lounge area it was okay but nothing special.

Check out took a long, long, long time. Only one person working the desk and she was trying to book another hotel for a foreign guest for that evening. Another desk person came out and talked to the one actually working and then she went away while there was a line of us trying to check out. Once at the front of the line it was a quick check out.

If you need aplace to stay just outside of Boston this is okay place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank meh7976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2005

Staff was helpful except this morning when we arrived for the continental breakfast a bit late and the waitress was quite rude telling us that we were late. Other than that, the room was nice, and the motel was quite despite its location just off Route 128. The directions we were given to the "T" in Malden were so easy to follow, we had no difficulty taking the subway into Boston. When we returned very early in the morning, the motel was locked (we appreciated the security but it took some time for the desk clerk to notice we were there buzzing the bell and knocking on the door.

Overall, I'd recommend the Lord Wakefield for its convenience to Boston, its rates, and its cleanliness.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mdenis46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2004

We arrived at about 8. Our room was ready. While a nonsmoking room it, smoke from downstairs was very prevalent. The room was musty and hadn't been cleaned well (garbage in the nightstand drawer). The staff was very gracious when we checked out an hour later after dinner and didn't charge us for the room. Wakefield is a great town and does have great resturants!

9  Thank NW_Family_of_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wakefield
2.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Wakefield Boston Hotel & Conference Center
2.4 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Boston - Woburn
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#8 of 9 in Danvers
49 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Boston / Woburn
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Boston North-Woburn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lakeside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lakeside Inn

Address: 595 North Ave, Wakefield, MA 01880-1645 (Formerly Clarion Inn)
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Wakefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Wakefield
Price Range: $97 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Lakeside Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Otel, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Lakeside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Hotel Wakefield
Wakefield Lord Hotel
Best Western Wakefield
Lord Wakefield Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing