We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy & overpriced”

Black Dog Bakery Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Middlebury, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Yummy & overpriced”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Walked in and instantly felt like I was annoying the lady behind the counter. Bought six baked items, paid almost 30.00. Crazy expensive.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Leeniex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    56
    14
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great breakfast on the go...”
Reviewed May 30, 2012

I recently stopped at the Black Dog bakery while waiting for the ferry to depart from MV. I order a breakfast sandwich to go -- my order was completed quickly, staff was friendly, sandwich was hot and tasted great. They had a great selection of coffee flavors too! Great place to stop for a quick bite while waiting for the ferry!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank AFitzpatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arusha, Tanzania
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Go There For Breakfast”
Reviewed April 10, 2012

The Black Dog is still one of the best breakfast places on the Island (I know, I live there). It is particularly a good selection in off season. During high season (summer months) it can get crazy busy and the wait for a table can be taxing. The other drawback is that it can get "loud" . . . due to the volume of business they do. It is however an island institution . . . worth at least one meal.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruston, Louisiana
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Can't leave the island without visiting the Black Dog Cafe!!!”
Reviewed April 1, 2012

MV is known for it's Black Dog!!!! The bakery is delicious and their chowder...amazing!!!!!

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank LindaD266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branford, CT
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Skip This Place”
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Waited 25 minutes for a breakfast sandwich ( we were the only people there) Staff was argueing because no one wanted to make the sandwiches. The eggs were literally green and unedible. Close down in the winter if you can't find help! I am on the vineyard many times a year and will never return to this place again!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nmhvineyard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Dog Bakery Cafe also viewed

Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard
Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard
 
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
 

Been to Black Dog Bakery Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing