We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waterfront Dining still alive”
Review of Black Dog Tavern

Black Dog Tavern
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Waterfront Dining still alive”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I'm sure the Black Dog , like Cheers in Boston, makes more money sellling tee shirts than food and drinks but it's still a fun place to eat, right on the water with a view of Vineyard Haven harbor. Great seafood in a classic Cape Cod style setting. Looks like the place is at least 50 years old. Not expensive. We went off season and sat at the window. it was great.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Duncan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    246
    93
    42
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Big and Fabulous”
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

The atmosphere is always hectic when waiting in line. There is a mad rush before 11am and if the bell rings before your turn your out of luck until the 12 lunch.

Worth it though. The pancakes are huge... The nut version has nuts between every layer and can only be described as looking like a large voluminous mountain range. Order the 2 order!! Trust me. The plain are not as fluffy and not as exciting. The veggie burger is great and the steak fries are thick and well seasoned.

Probably go with the pancakes if your going to not eat until dinner!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yum247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Ferry dropoff lunch worked fine”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We traveled to Martha's Vineyard the day after Columbus Day when the weather was glorious. Found a place to park because we'd brought the car and had no trouble at all. Easy walk from parking spot on Main Street to Black Dog Tavern. Quickie visit to the retail outlets, learned all about the original Black Dog and what followed him, then lunch in the Tavern. There were four of us, all extremely pleased with what we had to eat. Waitress was wonderful and very helpful. I didn't realize I could have ordered sweet potato fries and asked for a 'few just to taste them'. She brought an entire order but didn't charge. What we didn't eat was part of our evening meal in Menemsha where most restaurants were closed during our stay. The burger was more than I could finish so what was left came along too. Still as tasty as at lunch time. Loved the atmosphere.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaryAnn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tybee Island, Georgia, USA
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Better then expected”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

I had always heard about this place but wasn't sure what to expect. The food was delicious and the service was outstanding. Actually ate ate the vineyard haven location

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank MermaidCottages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wholly disappointing. All name and no substance.”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Had dinner at the BDT a few weeks ago. Very low quality beef (loaded with sinew and grizzle), poorly prepared and served by a waitress who knew nothing about the wine offerings; spoke little English. Good at Russian. Our appetizer was inedible.
The host was a middle aged man dressed dressed poorly and when complained to about the quality of my expensive dinner he could not have cared less. A rude dude.
Don't waste you hard earned money at the BDT. Look around a little bit, get out of the tourist trap section and you will find some very good alternatives.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bkit029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Dog Tavern also viewed

Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard
 
Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
 

Been to Black Dog Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing