We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food with a view.”
Review of Black Dog Tavern

Black Dog Tavern
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Food with a view.”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Cute little restaurant with nice view of harbor at Vineyard Haven. Good menu selection. Had the fish sandwich and it was excellent. Service was good, too.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    246
    93
    42
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Martha's Vineyard, United States
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Breakfast and cookbook”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

The breakfasts are great.Folks compare it with Art Cliff or Linda Jeans but day in day out Black Dog breakfast is great. Oh and we use their cookbook all the time. One of the best seafood cookbooks going. Never, I repeat never found a bad recipe in it.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape cod
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Huge Portions”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Thought it was going to be a tourist trap but was very good- homemade food and huge portions. wait for breakfast was around 15 minutes so not bad- right on the water so you can watch the yachts come and go

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank beachrights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha's Vineyard, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Brunch off season.”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Not crowded. Great food. Attentive service. View of the harbor. What else could you ask for?

I've been ordering Justin Goes to Greece. Can't be beat.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank lovethevineyard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Restaurant to avoid”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Went there last Friday 11/23/12. A lot of the restaurants were closed so we decided to try this one. Food selection was OK. I asked our waitress about any dishes with lobster like a lobster roll, she looked at us like we were asking for Hummus in this place (interesting fact since I had read other people's reviews about the lobster roll). Service was extremely poor. We sat there waiting to get our drink refills because the waitress was telling her life story to another table about her family in the Jersey area after the hurricane and she just went on and on and on to the point where another table next to us was obviously feeling the same way. It really sucked! If you are desperate to eat, get a bag of chips from any store and keep on walking until you get to a good restaurant.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stedmandoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Dog Tavern also viewed

Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard
 
Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
 

Been to Black Dog Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing