We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top restaurant on the Island”
Review of Le Grenier - CLOSED

Le Grenier
Price range: $0 - $50
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Peterborough, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Top restaurant on the Island”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

My wife and I consider this to be one of the top restaurants we've been to, anywhere in the world. We used to go at least a couple times each summer. Sadly, we won't get back as often, as we sold our summer home on MV, but we will certainly will be back when visiting the Island. M. Dupon, the owner, is delightful, and gave us a tour of his kitchen, as well as divulging a few recipe secrets.... Everything on the menu that we've had has been splendid, as well as the simple but delicious sides (protest if you don't get the carrots! They are really that good!). It is sad to hear that the owner is retiring, I hope that the restaurant will continue on, and be as good as it always has been.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drken567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    14
    11
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chilmark, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Everything is Sensational!”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

And I mean EVERYTHING, because I have tried everything on the menu. This is the one place I have returned to again and again and have done so for over twenty years. Definitely worth the price found at this caliber a restaurant. The staff is wonderful, and the owner is so kind. We will miss his tasty French Food when he retires.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CLMessmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mason, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
51 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Sauces and Gourmet Food”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We have been coming to this restaurant for 5 years. It is always excellent! We are unhappy to hear the owner is going to retire. Now is the time to get to this great place and experience the gourmet cooking and great service!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pete M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“French Dining”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

The owner greeted us at the door.
Delicious food, My husband had the Escargot and I had a salad (made fresh - you could tell) for an appetizer. We split a meal -Filet Mignon - which was great, because some restaurants are not very accommodating for this. Wine and dessert and a great waitress Michele, made for a very nice dinner.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Judy_A_4thTee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vineyard Haven, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
62 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“An Island Favorite”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have gone to Le Grenier for years. It is the restaurant of choice for special occasions. Why? Because we always know we will get a good meal there, the service will be good and the atmosphere is inviting. In other words, we feel at home and enjoy our evening out. Inevitably the owner, Jean Dupon will come out to great his customers. They have an extensive menu and always have seafood specials.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steffen9278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Grenier also viewed

Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard
Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard
 
Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard
Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard
 
Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard
Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing