We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to relax and recuperate and have fun”
Review of Mansion House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mansion House
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vineyard Haven
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Hi just spent 5 days and nights at the Mansion House at Vineyard Haven. The hotel is comfortable and staff are friendly. In particular, Phil on reception is so helpful and really understands want makes great customer service, Vanessa who takes the yoga classes is one of the best teachers I have experienced blending technique with mindfulness perfectly as well , Guy in the Grab and Go breakfast was also very friendly and kind. I ate most nights at the adjoining restaurant the Copper Wok as I was travelling solo and I felt comfortable and valued. While at Martha's Vineyard make sure you get around the island to Edgartown, chilmark, Oak bluff,aquinnah cliffs and an absolute must is the sunset and lobster picnic at Menemsha. There's a local bus tour that is worth doing leaves Oak Bluff. I did the 3 hour tour really worth it. The only draw back was I tried to get to Nantucket for a day by either plane or ferry and it was impossible unless prepared to stay a night or two. You'd think this would be on offer. I went to MVP as having heard one of my favourite Australian Writers Geraldine Brooks speak about her new home I thought I'd visit as I was in Boston and looking for some R&R . So worthwhile.....Australians would love this place. Laid back, casual, fun , picturesque, but be aware alcohol availability is limited so bring some from home or Boston.

Room Tip: Make sure up high and has a view of harbour but be aware of the A/C noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Naz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (819)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

445 - 451 of 819 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2014

We stayed there this past weekend with family (3 adults, 2 four-year-old and 1 baby) in a double plus room (2 double beds plus a pullout sofa). Very few places on the Vineyard can accommodate us in a single room, so this is already very nice despite being a little price. The room is surprisingly new and clean and we enjoyed the stay a lot. Staff is friendly, and the location is only 5-minute walk from the ferry and island bus. Due to location on the main street, there will be slight party noises at night if you are unlucky, though it didn't bother us (nor the baby) much at all. Will definitely go back there again!

Room Tip: Get the "Double Plus" room for added bed capacity, in addition to the two double beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yoyomike33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Mansion House is the perfect cross between a luxury hotel and the warmth of a country Inn! We stayed for 5 days and were delighted with everything- the staff, the room, the adjoining restaurant (the Copper Wok) was excellent, the spa, and the 'grab & go' breakfast has enough variety and substance to see you through to dinner! Their first-class attention to detail is evident everywhere-down to the choice of Wolfgang Puck coffee pods in the room! The highlight of the trip was the rooftop sun deck with the ice cold lemonade - better than the beach with the breezes off the harbor!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

The reception is just marvelous, Bojana and Jay, and the others too are really the people who need to be behind that desk to help the guests!!! :) The reception team is always helpful, happy, and we really felt like we are at home, friendly place. The place is nice and tidy, with a huge gym, pool, sauna, steam tub for relaxing after workout.

Room Tip: I suggest all the rooms, I have slept only one night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hawkmester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I just spent three nights at the Mansion House--continuing at least an eight year July tradition. We are never disappointed. The front desk staff could not be more helpful. Everyone wants you not just to enjoy the Inn's lovely, extremely comfortable rooms (that look just like their website pictures), the spa, and fantastic health club, but they really want you to enjoy the Island and will do whatever is needed to help.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 144AnnB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We chose this hotel based on the overall good reviews posted on this site and because we liked the look of the hotel based on the hotel’s website. Overall we were pleased with our visit.

We stayed in a room with a queen bed and French doors that opened to a Juliet balcony. The room was cheerful with a pastel color scheme that made us feel like we were in a coastal environment which was perfect given the location. The room, however, was not as functional as we would have liked. There was only one chair and it was not very comfortable. There was also no desk. Therefore, the bed was our default hangout spot while in the room. An alcove was the location of a decent sized refrigerator inside a cabinet. The bathroom was fine with a shower only that was a little tight. Our first night included a period of loud clanging plumbing noises, that luckily seemed to end around bed time and did not reoccur. The air conditioner machinery was based right next to one side of the bed which was not a problem for us, but could be for others as it can be noisy. Our room faced Beach Street which seems to be the busiest of the streets surrounding the hotel, but this was not an issue for us. It quieted down by bed time and the sun exposure was good.

The highlight of the hotel as others have mentioned is the rooftop deck. We enjoyed it each day late in the afternoon for a glass of complementary lemonade, and again after dinner to enjoy the sky and harbor at sunset. We took advantage of the complementary breakfast one morning which was fine with mostly basic cold options available. The breakfast room is a nice small clubby and classy looking space, but also windowless. We would have enjoyed a bed and breakfast package better with a full breakfast in a main dining room. We did not eat in the Asian restaurant in the hotel, which is not open for breakfast.

The hotel gym is large enough to get a full workout and the indoor pool is nice but busy. The locker rooms were worn and not as nice as other parts of the hotel.

We had never been to Martha’s Vineyard before and at first were not sure if Vineyard Haven was the right choice for us because it was so quiet. After touring the island we decided we made the right choice. We found Oak Bluffs too touristy and Edgartown too pristine. Each community has lots of charm and slightly different vibes, but for us Vineyard Haven was the best balance of charm and calm, with the most interesting shops and the prettiest harbor. We left the car behind on the mainland and used the public bus system, which was a big deal for independent travelers like us, but it worked out very well and was very easy to use with limited waiting and at a reasonable price.

Although there were a few things we did not like about the hotel, we still enjoyed it overall, and given the limited options on the island, it seems to be a good choice.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better and Beach Street rooms could be on the noisy side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J_and_A_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

We had a great stay at the Mansion House for our mini-moon! The room was exactly as pictured/described and the accomodations were more than comfortable. I, too, like another reviewer loved the pillows & pillowcases- they were so unique and incredibly comfy! Grab & Go breakfast was perfect for early risers to get to the beach. The front desk staff was more than helpful and always asked about your day and if anything was needed- definitely a plus being somewhere we weren't familiar with!

My only reasoning for not giving 5 stars is the location. It is GREAT for some- a walk from the ferry, close to a few little shops & cafes, however, being young newlyweds- not familiar with the area- we were informed when we arrived that it was a dry town and only a limited number of restaurants served beer & wine- most of which closed prior to 10. So we found ourselves in Oak Bluffs most of our visit.

Otherwise, we highly recommend Mansion House for your Vineyard stay!

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jenna b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vineyard Haven
6.6 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
986 reviews
5.9 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
2.2 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
626 reviews
2.3 mi away
Oak Bluffs Inn
Oak Bluffs Inn
#1 of 15 in Oak Bluffs
684 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Hob Knob
The Hob Knob
#1 of 10 in Edgartown
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mansion House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansion House

Address: 9 Main St., Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02568-5400
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Vineyard Haven
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vineyard Haven
Price Range: $119 - $463 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mansion House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's just a short walk from the ferry to your Inn where the charm of yesterday is artfully blended with the affordable luxury of a modern Martha's Vineyard hotel. Inside Mansion House Inn, guests get a touch of seaside elegance with a taste of Island casual. Each guest is treated to free use of the pool, spa and health club. The harbor viewing cupola and a wrap-around porch, serve as a meeting place for guests and Islanders alike. Mansion House offers 48 rooms and suites. With all 21st century amenities, some deluxe rooms and suites offer soaking tubs, plasma flat-screen TVs, fireplaces and balconies with views of Vineyard Sound. Pet friendly rooms offer easy first floor access, town view balconies and two double beds. From romantic couples, families to small meetings, the Inn staff takes care of your vacation needs. The best of the Vineyard is within easy walking distance. Movies, live theater, art galleries, and public beaches are a short stroll from Mansion House's door. Day sails on vessels great and small, plus kayak and bicycle rentals are only a block away. One of several Vineyard golf courses, Mink Meadows, is a quick five-minute drive. Mansion House's concierge can assist with arranging all these activities. Though off-street parking is available, there's no great need to bring a car. Relax in the Day Spa or enjoy the beach, create a family reunion or event, Mansion House Inn offers great Vineyard value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Mansion House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion House Hotel Vineyard Haven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing