We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful historic hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mansion House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mansion House
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vineyard Haven
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful historic hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Where do I begin? The hotel is so beautiful out and in. You walk in the door and you are transported to another era. You are immediately greeted by smiling faces and a welcome.

The front desk staff, Jim Cleary, Jay, Bud and Leah are truly an asset to this hotel. When we asked questions they all were knowledgeable and quick to respond. Cleaning staff was helpful and accommodating.

The room was larger than expected and so was the bathroom. Our room faced the Main street and being on the 3rd floor you could hear a bit of noise. We had a Romeo & Juliet balcony which was great to open the doors for fresh air. We will definitely stay here again.

We thoroughly enjoyed the Cupola on the roof deck. Tables chairs and rocking chairs are available as well as lemonade. A wonderful view of the harbor and surrounding areas. Once you visit the Cupola this will be where you sit late in the evening.

This hotel is a short walk to catch the bus or the ferry. We found getting around quite easy on the bus and so very convenient.

Another great point of this hotel is they are "Green".

Room Tip: Take your own wine. Otherwise you have to buy a bottle in Oak Bluffs or Edgartown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    131
    33
    15
    21
See reviews for
158
324
22
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Very expensive but excellent location and lovely and comfortable room. The bed was very comfortable. The trundle bed was excellent as well. The view of the harbor was lovely and complementary lemonade was a nice touch. The morning grab and go breakfast was nothing to get excited about and we went out for a nice breakfast instead.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westwood, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Great staff, bright and cheery rooms, outstanding facilities (spa, fitness center, pool, etc). The hotel serves a wonderful continental breakfast that you must take up to the Cupola (roof deck) to enjoy. just remember it is Vineyard haven and you'll need to bring your own wine to enjoy on the rooftop as well. VH is dry!

Short walk from the ferry, easy to get to.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony! Either street side or ocean side. I liked the street side, lot's to observe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steve911S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We had a wonderful weekend at Mansion House. It was our first visit to Martha's Vineyard. The hotel has an old time elegant feel with very modern amenities. It was in a great location in Vineyard Haven with easy bus service all over the island. The staff was first rate and willing to help with any needs or questions. The hotel restaurant is Asian. The food was very good but I would have preferred a more varied menu. We would definitely choosse Mansion House again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
98 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Mansion House is awesome and has to be the best accommodations in Martha’s Vineyard. Our room was larger than expected, clean, and beautifully furnished. Both the king-sized bed and the trundle bed were comfortable. The room included a mini-refrigerator and microwave on a bar that contained a sink. A very large bathroom was also a nice surprise. All hotel staff we came into contact with were friendly and made us feel welcome. The cleaning staff were very accommodating when we asked for the room to be cleaned every day by noon. We especially enjoyed the cupola above the fourth floor. The view of the harbor from the roof was stunning. If Vineyard Haven wasn’t a dry county, it would probably be the most popular town on the island, but there are still several restaurants nearby that serves wine and beer. And, getting into the other towns using public transportation was easy and efficient. We’ll stay at Mansion House every visit. Jim at the front desk was personable and greeted us every time we went in and out. Lovely hotel, great staff, and fantastic accommodations in an ideal location on Main St.

Room Tip: Room 309 has a view of Main Street and has a French door that opens. Morning traffic can be distract...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gigi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

The hotel was very beautiful and cleaning staff very polite. The loading and unloading at the hotel was a very big issue because of very limited parking and there is only one spot you can park for 5 minutes only to load and unload and traffic everywhere. Where the hotel is located is very congested and parking is horrible. The spa at this hotel I have to say was one of the best massage I've had and very professional.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerly, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

This fabulous hotel has old charm and convenient amenities. The old fashion lemonade pours freely on the panoramic deck allowing you to soak up the sun and rock away your stress. The staff is almost as excited as the guest. They enjoy sharing the knowledge of all the vineyard has to offer. Jay and Melissa were great!The fresh coffee,fruit and cheese tray was perfect in the morning as well as the variety of muffin treats that appeared daily during our 3 day stay. Great location!Shops,transportation,dinning all short walking distance.If you need to unwind but like to have access to the busy world then you will appreciate this gem of a hotel.The cost well.....you deserve this!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gloria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vineyard Haven
6.6 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
4.0 of 5 stars 824 reviews
2.5 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.5 of 5 stars 529 reviews
2.2 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.5 of 5 stars 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
2.4 mi away
Nashua House Hotel
Nashua House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.5 of 5 stars 312 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Hob Knob
The Hob Knob
#1 of 11 in Edgartown
4.5 of 5 stars 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mansion House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansion House

Property: Mansion House
Address: 9 Main St., Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02568-5400
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Vineyard Haven
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vineyard Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mansion House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's just a short walk from the ferry to your Inn where the charm of yesterday is artfully blended with the affordable luxury of a modern Martha's Vineyard hotel. Inside Mansion House Inn, guests get a touch of seaside elegance with a taste of Island casual. Each guest is treated to free use of the pool, spa and health club. The harbor viewing cupola and a wrap-around porch, serve as a meeting place for guests and Islanders alike. Mansion House offers 48 rooms and suites. With all 21st century amenities, some deluxe rooms and suites offer soaking tubs, plasma flat-screen TVs, fireplaces and balconies with views of Vineyard Sound. Pet friendly rooms offer easy first floor access, town view balconies and two double beds. From romantic couples, families to small meetings, the Inn staff takes care of your vacation needs. The best of the Vineyard is within easy walking distance. Movies, live theater, art galleries, and public beaches are a short stroll from Mansion House's door. Day sails on vessels great and small, plus kayak and bicycle rentals are only a block away. One of several Vineyard golf courses, Mink Meadows, is a quick five-minute drive. Mansion House's concierge can assist with arranging all these activities. Though off-street parking is available, there's no great need to bring a car. Relax in the Day Spa or enjoy the beach, create a family reunion or event, Mansion House Inn offers great Vineyard value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Mansion House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion House Hotel Vineyard Haven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing