We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mansion House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mansion House
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vineyard Haven
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Perfect location and lovely accommodations. Room was comfortable and the hotel itself has a lot of historical charm. The bed was a little bit too firm for my taste but I didn't come to Martha's Vineyard to sleep.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    529
    149
    36
    16
    25
See reviews for
179
358
26
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westfield, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed at the Mansion House for 3 nights in late September. Lovely room with 2 double beds and a pull out couch was spacious and comfortable for my mother, my sister and myself. The only thing missing was a "desk" - but a quick rearrangement of furniture solved that quickly. Large bathroom, nice continental breakfast, helpful staff and we loved the sea water pool. Having our own parking spot made it easy for us to use the Mansion House as our home base and drive around MV. Would definitely go back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emilie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

Look forward to each visit the island, especially when we stay at the Mansion House. Friendly & knowledgable staff make you feel as if it's not a hotel, but better. Our first choice when we need a quick recharge and R&R. The best little spa and exercise facility that's not only convienient but now offers brand new equipment. Any room we've stayed in was comfortable, incredibly clean and offered a nice view. Don't forget to check out the Cupola. We got a great rate for the Off-Season in October. We'll be back. Thank you.

Room Tip: Higher the better - Floorwise, less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisellek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Beautifully done old hotel within walking distance of the ferry dock. We had a gorgeous large room with a water view. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Since we were in office season and arrived around 7pm, everything was quiet. There was only one restaurant close by open for dinner, the Cafe Moxie, and it was great.

Room Tip: Our water view room, 302, was nice and large. Loved the French door onto a small balcony. The view w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bettyobradCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

Mansion House was the final destination in our glorious fall visit to New England. We were given a corner room overlooking a busy intersection which I thought would be noisy but wasn't. Friendly efficient staff, easy convenient parking, a big room and bathroom all made for a very pleasant stay on the island. If you do not take a car, it is walking distance from the ferry but we were really pleased that we did as it is very nice to be able to explore all the quaint towns and beautiful scenery in your own time. The gym and spa looked great but we did not have time to use the facilities. The breakfasts are very much grab and go and it is not easy to eat in. There are some excellent restaurants in vineyard Haven as well as close by Oak bluffs. I happily recommend Mansion House.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

This was our first visit to this hotel. My husband and I were traveling with our dogs so stayed in one of their new pet friendly rooms. Our room was very spacious, nicely done with hardwood floors and located on the first floor of the hotel so easy to get in and out of with the pups.

The location of the hotel is both a positive and a negative. It is very centrally located and surrounded by busy streets so you need to decide if that is ok for you. In terms of the towns, we usually stay in Edgartown and that remains our favorite location but there are limited hotel options when traveling with pets and the rooms here are one of the nicer options we have seen, The staff was very friendly and welcoming. Don't expect too much from the breakfast but that is pretty unimportant to us and there are a lot of good options around for morning eating. The gym and pool are very nice and weren't crowded at all.

Our only complaint is that dogs are not permitted on the cuppola deck. When the deck provides the beautiful view that it does and the chance to just sit and relax a bit with a book, it is a drawback to us to not be able to do that, especially given the very central location of the hotel and the fact that there is no other place to just sit and relax.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MicheleCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, NH
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Mansion House in October 2013 on a business trip.
It was my first trip to Martha's Vineyard, and it was so pretty in the fall, great time to visit. The Mansion House is so close to the harbor where the ferry docks in Vineyard Haven, and to the boutiques and restaurants of this quaint town. Parking and check in was a breeze- front staff, as well as all staff we encountered were well trained and very courteous. The "walk in feeling" was as if you lived there in this beautiful home. The room was large, bright and with a view from a small balcony. It was nicely decorated with the charm of antiques and yet a modern touch in adding an electric fireplace, flat screen TV, and large bathroom with a gigantic tub and separate shower. I love their shampoo and lotions- they smell just like roses!

The rest of the Hotel offers a comfy sitting room that serves a tasty Continental breakfast, a fitness facility downstairs with some of the best equipment. I used the "TechnoGym" treadmill and was not bored- the large screen made it easy for viewing TV, even had WiFi - I could facebook, read the paper, email. They also have an indoor pool, aerobic classes, and a full service Spa which we did not have time to use (another trip). A restaurant is in the works, but there are plenty of restaurants close by for snacks, lunch or dinner.

Bring your car and see all of the Island. We went to "The Cliffs" on the western (quiet) side at sunset and it was breathtaking. There is an old Lighthouse there...lots of interesting history on this gem of an island. Your stay at The Mansion House will not be a disappointment.

Room Tip: I like corner rooms, on top floor but with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vineyard Haven
6.6 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
2.2 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
2.5 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
2.3 mi away
Oak Bluffs Inn
Oak Bluffs Inn
#1 of 15 in Oak Bluffs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Hob Knob
The Hob Knob
#1 of 10 in Edgartown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mansion House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansion House

Property: Mansion House
Address: 9 Main St., Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02568-5400
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Vineyard Haven
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vineyard Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mansion House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's just a short walk from the ferry to your Inn where the charm of yesterday is artfully blended with the affordable luxury of a modern Martha's Vineyard hotel. Inside Mansion House Inn, guests get a touch of seaside elegance with a taste of Island casual. Each guest is treated to free use of the pool, spa and health club. The harbor viewing cupola and a wrap-around porch, serve as a meeting place for guests and Islanders alike. Mansion House offers 48 rooms and suites. With all 21st century amenities, some deluxe rooms and suites offer soaking tubs, plasma flat-screen TVs, fireplaces and balconies with views of Vineyard Sound. Pet friendly rooms offer easy first floor access, town view balconies and two double beds. From romantic couples, families to small meetings, the Inn staff takes care of your vacation needs. The best of the Vineyard is within easy walking distance. Movies, live theater, art galleries, and public beaches are a short stroll from Mansion House's door. Day sails on vessels great and small, plus kayak and bicycle rentals are only a block away. One of several Vineyard golf courses, Mink Meadows, is a quick five-minute drive. Mansion House's concierge can assist with arranging all these activities. Though off-street parking is available, there's no great need to bring a car. Relax in the Day Spa or enjoy the beach, create a family reunion or event, Mansion House Inn offers great Vineyard value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Mansion House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion House Hotel Vineyard Haven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing