We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Pleasant surprise In Vineyard Haven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mansion House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mansion House
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vineyard Haven
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise In Vineyard Haven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

After doing tons of research at different websites & asking friends about Martha's Vineyard- I found a great place! Mansion House is cute, clean and the staff is great! Wonderful location... And the rooms are huge! I highly recommend it. Plus we got a deal through Priceline.com which is a bonus!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReneeD60035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    143
    35
    15
    23
See reviews for
171
336
24
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

The place is a little weird. Everything is broken up into small rooms which are disconnected from one another; the layout is disjointed. None of the rooms are well ventilated.

Solid list of equipment; very free weight, LOTS of treadmills and bikes. Ellipticals? Not so much. Three in the whole joint and they are always busy, which management might want to consider the next time they decide to buy yet another treadmill.

Day passes are $15 and a week is $50; feels expensive to me for what they offer. Get this: towels cost extra. What? For $15 I can't even get a hand towel to wipe away sweat? That's pretty damn slimy.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JoeRitson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnkeeperMV, Owner at Mansion House, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Mansion House Health Club is FREE for Inn guests and very affordable for Vineyard
visitors & members. It is also $5 less than the other Island gym. Rates include the
sunrise yoga class, held on the cupola deck overlooking Vineyard Haven harbor and
any of the other over 20 weekly classes, Proudly we offer 13 stations “Life
Fitness” Strength circuit, 2 recumbent bicycles, 3 upright bicycles, 2 “Concept
2″ Rowers, 5 treadmills, 3 elliptical runners & 2 climbing tracks. Plus Guests,
members and visitors enjoy Stretching & Conditioning Aerobic/Yoga Rooms with
Floating wood floor, weight rack from 1 to 7.5 lbs, exercise balls, steps, free
weight rack, twelve “Greg LeMond Rev Master” stationary bikes. In the Free
Weight Room: Leg Press, Smith Machine & other active & passive strength pieces.



And if it is not sunny enough to swim outside, we have a 75 X 21 foot swimming pool,
ranging in depth from 3.5 to 9 feet, Red Cross compliant, maintained at 83 degrees.



Mr. Ritson is right. It is different from an off -Island health club with a big
generic room that overlooks busy traffic. And yes, we offer all of this, but no
towel! We learned that all that washing of towels was not environmentally sound and
it was “greener” to place antiseptic gym wipes through out the gym. We hope the
reviewer got his time on the elliptical and enjoyed the rest of his Vineyard
vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Many thanks to the Vineyard Haven staff for accommodating me on my last minute one day trip to Martha's VIneyard. Room 307 is wonderful and extremely spacious. I loved being close to the shops, restaurants and water. If you are looking to stay in Vineyard Haven - look no further than the Mansion House.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzee2351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We LOVED this hotel! We visited the Vineyard right after July 4th...our first trip there in many years. We had an incredible vacation, and the Mansion House played a huge role in that. The staff was amazing. Never have we stayed anywhere where we felt so truly welcome by every single employee. It almost felt like we were staying with close friends...very hospitable close friends! Our room was beautiful with a great little balcony looking down on the cute downtown. The roof deck was gorgeous with a fantastic view of the harbor. Stunning!! The attached restaurant was good with a nice screen porch. We were even treated to complimentary beach towels and beach chairs to use each day. As if all this wasn't good enough, we also enjoyed a nice complimentary breakfast each day - and not just a continental breakfast! We can't wait to head back :-)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

I have been recommending this place to my friends and family since we got back. My boyfriend and I stayed the week before the fourth of July. Everyday the room was clean, the staff was on top of things and the guests were smiling. I can't wait to go back next year! Thank you Mansion House for starting our summer off right!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kdicar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We recently spent a week at Mansion House. The rooms are roomy, clean and comfortable. You get a complimentary breakfast which is a small buffet. We were a little surprised to have to pay $25.00 per night per crib. We took our twin grandbabies with us on vacation and had an extra $300 charge for cribs for the 6 nights. Most hotels provide this as a convenience for their guests at a hotel that is already in this price range.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderdale
Level Contributor
132 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

First off, it's an inn-Not a B&B or a hotel. This is the mindset u should have while there. Upon being greeted at the reception desk, I found that the room, with tub that they already charged me for half of the bill was not guaranteed. In a hotel when u pay for a type of room, u get it, even though the floor level is not guaranteed. In a B&B u get the specific room that u request, based on availability, but whatever u book, u get, since the price is determined by the room. When I asked about it, the lady at the desk complained that she wishes that travel websites wouldn't b so specific about the rooms. Upon pointing out to her that I booked the room using the Mansion House website, another reception clerk tried to help her out by saying that the only thing they guarantee is the size bed that's requested & that they will have to fix that on their website. The room itself was comfortable, although the mattress in rm 410 needed to b changed. My side sagged a bit, so it felt like I was going to roll off the bed. They needed to patch up the carpet in that room too, since someone burned out the carpet with the iron. Maid service was awesome! I requested extra towel sets & they made sure to deliver daily! The breakfast, which was included, was the same exact breakfast daily-scrambled eggs, sausage & bacon-which I don't eat for religious reasons-potatoes, quiche, scones, fruit, juices, & coffee/tea. No alternatives to pork based meats were offered, like turkey-bacon or turkey-sausage. No hot chocolate, although they did put out Swiss Miss Chocolate packets, after I'd asked about hot chocolate. The hot tub was nice. The Spa was lovely! It is run by a group of Jamaican ladies, who do a fantastic job! I highly recommend a massage here! Overall, I had a lovely, first time, in The Vineyard, but will try staying someplace else next time.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JAmerican2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vineyard Haven
2.5 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.5 of 5 stars 556 reviews
6.6 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
4.0 of 5 stars 851 reviews
2.2 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.0 of 5 stars 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
2.4 mi away
Nashua House Hotel
Nashua House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.5 of 5 stars 330 reviews
2.3 mi away
Oak Bluffs Inn
Oak Bluffs Inn
#1 of 16 in Oak Bluffs
5.0 of 5 stars 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mansion House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansion House

Property: Mansion House
Address: 9 Main St., Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02568-5400
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Vineyard Haven
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vineyard Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mansion House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's just a short walk from the ferry to your Inn where the charm of yesterday is artfully blended with the affordable luxury of a modern Martha's Vineyard hotel. Inside Mansion House Inn, guests get a touch of seaside elegance with a taste of Island casual. Each guest is treated to free use of the pool, spa and health club. The harbor viewing cupola and a wrap-around porch, serve as a meeting place for guests and Islanders alike. Mansion House offers 48 rooms and suites. With all 21st century amenities, some deluxe rooms and suites offer soaking tubs, plasma flat-screen TVs, fireplaces and balconies with views of Vineyard Sound. Pet friendly rooms offer easy first floor access, town view balconies and two double beds. From romantic couples, families to small meetings, the Inn staff takes care of your vacation needs. The best of the Vineyard is within easy walking distance. Movies, live theater, art galleries, and public beaches are a short stroll from Mansion House's door. Day sails on vessels great and small, plus kayak and bicycle rentals are only a block away. One of several Vineyard golf courses, Mink Meadows, is a quick five-minute drive. Mansion House's concierge can assist with arranging all these activities. Though off-street parking is available, there's no great need to bring a car. Relax in the Day Spa or enjoy the beach, create a family reunion or event, Mansion House Inn offers great Vineyard value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Mansion House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion House Hotel Vineyard Haven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing