We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“terrible... agreed with all the other negative reviews”
Review of The 1720 House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The 1720 House
Ranked #4 of 11 Vineyard Haven B&B and Inns
xcxre7
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“terrible... agreed with all the other negative reviews”
Reviewed September 3, 2009

nothing new to add, just that Abby Hirsch is an absentee owner who just bought the place as an investment and doesn't seem to care at all about how it's run. Bait and switch tactics on the price of rooms, she was terribly rude when we were there...Avoid at all costs!

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank xcxre7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    18
    16
    6
    16
See reviews for
31
70
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New England
1 review
Reviewed August 31, 2009

The 1720 House was a lucky find for us. We booked an 8 day stay and were not bored for a moment. The house is glorious, historically accurate, with high ceilings and in great condition. The grounds are lovely. The owner is patient with even the most demanding guests and very interesting to speak with. She made sure we knew every interesting event on the island. The property is immaculate. She arranged a picnic for us; lobster rolls from the church next door and provided wine and salad. I will be back and will send my friends to The 1720 House.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChurchGardner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2009

concur with others, that the owner might want to keep away from guests - she appears bothered by guests presence and cross, so the feel is not pleasant. I dont know if we'd stay there again as just could care less for such attitude.
hotel is lovely though and decently kept.
this may be of importance to you 1) bathrooms are shared (only two rooms have private baths) - we didnt bother as people we shared bath with were clean and considerate. 2) i believe the room on the ground floor might be very noisy as it is next to the entrance 3) free bikes dont work - rent them for $25 a day at the Martha's bike shop.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelista2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
Reviewed July 29, 2009

For a first time at a bed and breakfast, I can say that I was pleased with the causey room, the nice breakfast and the overall atmosphere. The wifi connection is very good.
The proximity to nice places to gribe a bite is very convenient.
Abby was very nice and very welcoming. I shall return on my next vacation.

Roger

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glober11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woonsocket, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2009

This woman should really never be in the hospitality business. Just arriving off the ferry with a small child (she had agreed to sell us the room but not after triple interrogation) I was met by the owner with a rude and condescending plethera of nasty comments about my child and demanding to know who I was. Not the way to greet first time paying guests for sure! The room was sold as a king size bed, but was really two old, dirty and uneven twins beds that did not fit the frame - when you sat on the bed the top section flies upward. The bath was terribly small and shared, and for the price of the room, not worth it. The place never books full for a reason - if it ever changes hands I might consider returning but I will not be back as long as Abbey owns it. A very disappointing stay and I spoke to other guests with very similar experiences.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank horsychick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2009

My experience was almost a carbon copy of the other 1 star reviews - invisible innkeeper when you needed her
impossible to summon and
rather unpleasant once you managed to rattle her cage.

Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank geode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City East Village
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2009

We arrived on the Vineyard Haven Ferry and just a few steps up the hill and we were at the 1720 House. We found the Red room in perfect order it had a queen and a single bed. My bed was comfortable and the blankets were just right for the chilly early season nights. The rustic nature of a building constructed in 1720 added to romantic weekend. Plenty of restaurants are within walking distance or a short bus or bike (free rental at the inn.) ride to Oak Bluffs. The yard has one of the oldest trees on the Vineyard. They even had bus maps for us. We had a huge selection of muffins, croissants, buns, cereal, tea and coffee. We had a great time and will return. PS I got some great pictures of Martha's Vineyard beaches before the crowds....

Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank photog_nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vineyard Haven
0.3 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
6.8 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
2.3 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Clark House
The Clark House
#6 of 11 in Vineyard Haven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.6 mi away
Thorncroft Inn
Thorncroft Inn
#3 of 11 in Vineyard Haven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The 1720 House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 1720 House

Property: The 1720 House
Address: 152 Main St, Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02568-5414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Vineyard Haven
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Vineyard Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The 1720 House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The 1720 House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing