We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Place To Stay”
Review of The 1720 House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The 1720 House
Ranked #5 of 11 Vineyard Haven B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This is one of the best places I've stayed in quite a few years. My room was comfortable, the bed was like sleeping on a pillow, and the staff went above and beyond to make my stay a wonderful, pleasurable experience. If you're going to visit Vineyard Haven, you must stay at the 1720 House. You won't regret it!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Candace M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 169 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2013

The only complaint people seem to have is regarding Abby's attitude. I can corroborate this based on my interactions with her via email and telephone, but we were helped by another, extremely pleasant and helpful woman for the duration of the stay. The place is conveniently located, nicely put together, and quite comfortable for a house of its age. Breakfast was spare in the offseason (Abby was very clear about this when we booked) but perfectly acceptable. Would certainly stay here again.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank uncoeuraweigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I thought 1720 House was fantastic for a recent stay wife and I had there. Superb service and advice on where to go with some great recommendations for day trips or restaurants to go to. The house is charming, very well located, rooms are very nice and the living room area downstairs is great to relax in after a day out sightseeing or at the beach.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Ive stayed at The 1720 House before and it is as wonderful as I remember it.
Great hospitality, wonderful beds, organic fresh breakfast and homemade cookies in the afternoon.
Everyone goes far beyond what is expected of them to make clients happy. I.E when cab was late owner drove me to the airport.
Thank you so much

Room Tip: CORRECTION NO POOL BUT CANT ERASE. I like all the rooms that I have seen or stayed in
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wtwtwtwt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

I stayed at the 1720 House on Main street Vineyard Haven MA for a week. It was a terrific small B&B. Excellent breakfasts, tea and coffee all day long, pleasant garden to sit in. A nice stroll into town. Highly recommend it and will go back often,

Room Tip: The Americana Room was large with good closet space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our Labor Day stay at 1720 House. The house is charming, located on a quiet and pretty stretch of Main Street in Vineyard Haven, an easy walk to town. We stayed in the Lincoln Room on the first floor, which is spacious and quiet, away from the other bedrooms. It was like staying at a friend's summer house, except we could come and go as we pleased! Vineyard Haven is at least a 15 minute drive to other island towns and attractions but the reasonable rates, hospitality and quiet of the property made staying here worthwhile. We'd go back!

Room Tip: The Lincoln Room is the only room on the ground floor and is the largest. We saw the upstairs rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYCExplorer2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

All as advertised: Perfect location; the perfect embodiment of Martha's Vineyard and a B&B with lots of historic charm.

After a long ferry ride from NYC, and a long day of exploringThe Vineyard, it was so comforting to return to the cozy Brown Room (with a bed that we just melted into!) for R&R. And to linger in the relaxing sunroom and back yard with exotic after-breakfast tea.

The owner and her staff pay meticulous attention to detail; and it shows in the thoughtful decor, with pleasing touches from everywhere.

Honorable mention to Hunter the golden retriever and Kiwi the lovebird for making us feel extra- welcome.

Laura Lippstone
Travel writer
www.planetlippstone.com

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SkipperLancaster_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vineyard Haven
0.3 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
826 reviews
6.8 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
1,002 reviews
6.1 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Isabelle's Beach House
Isabelle's Beach House
#4 of 15 in Oak Bluffs
344 reviews
6.7 mi away
Kelley House
Kelley House
#8 of 10 in Edgartown
326 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Christopher
The Christopher
#2 of 10 in Edgartown
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The 1720 House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 1720 House

Address: 152 Main St, Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02568-5414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Vineyard Haven
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Vineyard Haven
Price Range: $149 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The 1720 House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your The 1720 House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing