We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hidden treasure” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Canoe Waterfront Grill - CLOSED

Blue Canoe Waterfront Grill
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice hidden treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

Clam chowder amazing. Halibut with the lobster fritters, also amazing. Great service and the view of the harbor completed the evening. A must do if you're visiting Vineyard Haven.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Minmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    50
    23
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
76 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Very good dinner!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We went to Blue Canoe week of 9/17, party of 6.

Someone wrote a review that they felt it was similar to a Red Lobster - not sure why - definitely did not get that feeling. It's a quaint restaurant right on the water, great views. We sat upstairs - you can either dine outside on the deck, or inside - we ate inside, but still have nice views.

Food was very good - they have the best salad (Mediterranean) and oysters (Katama) we ever had! The seafood special (chunks of seafood over pasta) and the steak were so, so good! The clam chowder was average - nothing special. The seafood risotto, salmon, and grassy halibut were all good!

Server (I think Chris?) was attentive - very personable. Would definitely return.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RLSAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Great food-swordfish for us. View was surprisingly impressive - vineyard haven harbor view is relaxing and watching the light change was incredible. Service was good especially given that they were pretty busy.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jordanstake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
93 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“2 lb Lobster Heaven and Colossal Shrimp!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

Glassed in patio setting right on the waterfront for a fabulous Vineyard Haven Harbor view! Starting with a glass of sparkling wine my husband said his 2 lb lobster was the best ever and my colossal shrimp plate was also the best ever! Our waiter was wonderfully attentive and it made for an extra special evening. We highly recommend this classic restaurant!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
47 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“What a beautiful view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

The Blue Canoe in on Vineyard Haven harbor. An upper outside porch is fantastic. You might have to eat early to get one of these choice tables.
We had Seafood Rissoto, Cedar Plank Salmon, Grilled Swordfish and Seafood special, which was halibut with a delicious lobster sauce!
Service was as you would expect, very good.
Food was on the table promptly.
September is a great month to east at the Blue Canoe.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ahboo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Canoe Waterfront Grill also viewed

Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard
Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard
 
Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard
Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing