We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely romantic inn”
Review of Thorncroft Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Thorncroft Inn
Ranked #3 of 11 Vineyard Haven B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed at thorncrof inn for our anniverssary at Marthas Vineyard. We absolutely reccommend it. The rooms were charming, comfortable and clean. Personal attention from the owners Karl and Lynn was great, helped us with how to get around the island, where to eat, things to do etc. To top it all, it included a superb breakfast! Karl was the chef and his Quiche is scrumptious!!! It was a pleasant stay. We would stay there again if we went back to Marthas Vineyard!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chichichacha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
There are newer reviews for Thorncroft Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 100 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2011

Thorncroft is a relaxing place with great rooms and a friendly, knowledgable innkeeper. Rooms have a lot of privacy and amenities and the wood burning fireplace in the room was great. Karl gave us great suggestions at breakfast for our daily activities.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank busytraveler1116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at the Thorncroft Inn in Vineyard Haven. The room was confortable, private, and the fireplace was a nice touch. The breakfasts were exceptionally good (though we did skip one day for the Artcliff Diner - also very good). Karl and Lynn were great hosts and very knowledgeable about the island. I would definitely recommend having a car to explore the island and the Inn provides some suggested driving tours.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lkws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We recently spent 2 days at the unn celebrating our anniversary.Karl and his wife are excellent knowledgeable hosts.Karl takes great pride in his inn and well he should,the breakfasts were extraordinary

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChucksterRhinebeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We felt mislead because we had checked the intenet prior to booking and it stated that they were one block away from the beach. This was not the case as the beach was at least one mile away. For $350 a night, the room was small with an old small screen TV. It was noisy with loud sounding water pipes that came on at 7:00am every day. We were told that beach chairs were provided by the Inn. This was true but they were old, plastic, and uncomfortable chairs. It is best to bring your own beach chairs. Staying at a B&B in Vineyard Haven is not the ideal place because there is little to do in Vineyard Haven and the parking is very limited in the town. The positive aspects are the innkeepers were helpful in providing information about the island. They also were very accomodating to our specific breakfast requests. I would definitely recommend staying at a B&B in Eadgertown or Oak Bluffs.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank chaunceybulldog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2011

We had the pleasure of staying at the inn reciently and wanted to brag about it, but had not thought of a reveiw online until remembering previous trips out of the country.

Having booked late, Thorncroft was the only place available on the weekend of the road race This concerned me, but my friend who lives on the island advised me it was charming and would enjoy it. I had concerns, but after talking on the phone with them during the reservation process I felt more at ease. Public transportation brought me to the door step right from the ferry. The outside was definitly period and true to island protocol. The inside was well appointed and comfortable. Prior to being inroduced to the room, I was presented with a tour of the building, advised of facilities available, and even discussed plans for my stay. The room was tucked upstairs; small but quaint. The fireplace was FANTASTIC for later in the evening. Bathroom was small with a shower stall and shower head which was appropriate for most people. Not for anyone 6'7" tall for sure. Television was small, but I was not there to watch TV.

My guest arrived and was escorted tot he room directly. We have been friends for 40 years, and fell out of touch but receintly reconnected. We found the ambiance of the room again FANTASTIC. After a marvelous steak dinner downtown, we returned for an evening of wine and romantic fire, followed by a great sleep on one of the most comfortable beds I have been on in years. Hot water was plentiful in the morning, and breakfast was tasty, warm and plentiful. My guest was a schoolmate of the innkeeper's wife, and spent much time reliving younger years and treasured memories. We stayed late and were disappointed to leave.

Would I return? The correct question is how soon will I return..

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PeterSLigas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2011

I will start by saying I enjoyed my stay at the Thorncroft, and that it is a decent B&B.
The owner is very helpful, and when you check in you get a very thorough introduction to the inn and the island. On top of that you will get good tips on restaurants, sightseeing, etc. A fireplace that is made ready to light every day when you come back is definitely nice too. Then there is a good breakfast with more than enough fruits and creative cooking to satisfy most. But, when my wife said she had an egg allergy, the staff member had to ask (!) if it was possible to have a breakfast without eggs, though. Not exactly the reaction you expect... Specially not at 350$ a night. And that is where the problem for me wit this inn lies. In short, it is overpriced. I agree with some of the reviewers here that at $350 or more per night you are entitled to expect more than what this inn offers.
Our room was small, and breathed the atmosphere of the early nineties - and that is not a good thing. Vinyl shutters, 14 inch tv for which you have to turn at a 90 degree angle in your bed, alarmclock from 1970 or so, and a very small room and bathroom. The pictures on the website are indeed a bit misleading, in that they portray the rooms as much bigger than they are.
If the price was lower it would be a good B&B, now: I cannot recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank waldorf15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vineyard Haven
7.1 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
980 reviews
6.5 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
0.9 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
618 reviews
2.2 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
134 reviews
7.0 mi away
Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thorncroft Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thorncroft Inn

Address: 460 Main St, Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02568-5314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Vineyard Haven
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Vineyard Haven
Price Range: $250 - $446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thorncroft Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thorncroft Inn is a romantic, secluded, first class, exclusively couples oriented, fourteen room country inn situated in three restored buildings on 2½ acres of landscaped treed grounds, in an area of summer estates in the West Chop area of Vineyard Haven, on the Island of Martha's Vineyard. The inn specializes in honeymoons, anniversaries, engagements and birthdays. Most of the inn’s bedrooms have working fireplaces; some have furnished balconies, private exterior entrances with private porches, two person whirlpools or private hot tubs. All room prices include renowned concierge service, full country breakfast in our dining room or breakfast in bed, wireless and wired high-speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Thorncroft Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing