We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing in-and-out”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Waterside Market

Waterside Market
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $11
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Waltham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Relaxing in-and-out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

Good food and prices. Very friendly service. Low key place. You order your food at the counter and take it to an open table.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dalia285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    39
    13
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Woodbury
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“No takeout food is worth waiting 40 minutes for. A disorganized mess!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

I've never seen a more poorly run food establishment. The "kitchen" and staff are not prepared to handle the amount of foot traffic this place is seeing. The kitchen is a small counter behind the registers where you watch a handful of young staffers frantically making sandwiches. As I waited 40 minutes, I had to fight for chairs to put at my tiny table. My family of 5 shared a chair until we realized we were in jeopardy of missing our ferry- which we did. I finally couldn't wait for my sandwich anymore, when I realized there were still 10 people ahead of me. We grabbed a salad to go instead and stewed in anger as we were turned away at our ferry. $47 for a takeout lunch and what turned out to be a long horrendous day of waiting for another ferry. I will say that the pancakes were tasty, but nothing is worth sitting in that chaos. Unless you have a very long time for your lunch in the busy months, this is most definitely not worth it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elcady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Fl
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Would not go back.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

No servers. 45 minute wait for food after being told we were next 4 times. Food was not worth the wait. Poor lobster roll and a hummus wrap with no hummus! Staff was mostly untrained teenagers.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Iriemon666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
181 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great lunch or breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

This is not about fancy dining but about good food. A popular lunch spot in Vineyard Haven that serves breakfast all day. Self service and long wait for food does not detract from the charm of this local institution. Try the curry chicken salad! Or one of their signature sandwiches

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ehad2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“John Alden”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

Stopped for water and ended up with the John Alden sandwich. This is Thanksgiving dinner between 2 pieces of bread. The sandwich was on Ciabatta that was so very tasty, the turkey tasted fresh roasted, as if that wasn't enough, the piled on cranberry sauce, a nice slice of dressing, mayo and lettuce. This is more than enough for a hungry man! It was so large it made 2 meals for me.

If you happen to be in the neighborhood do yourself a favor and stop in and asked for the John Alden you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterside Market also viewed

Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard
Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard
 
Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard
Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard
 

Been to Waterside Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing