We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pros and cons”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vineyard Haven
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Martha's Vineyard Family Campground
Reviewed July 29, 2008

There was good and bad about the campground. The store is well stocked and manned by overseas college students. There i is a lady and her brother as the owners. She is nice and quiet while he is not one any one would want to deal with. He's harsh with both adults, kids, and staff. I had seen him yelling at one person for ahving a bike rack on a truck in the overflow lot, yet a few days later another truck was allowed to leave theirs on. Quiet time at 11 is semi-enforced. When a cabin's grill wasn't working the man told the camper you get what you get. Also during unloading a camper was told only 1 vehicle per site. The man was very rude. The cabins were clean, the grounds nicely kept, yet the outdoor showers didn't want to stay on and 1 was needing fixed and didn't get fixed during my entire stay. The play area, however is kept in good order. The only other thing is the hefty $15 day fee for extra vehicles which can add up.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank hbvacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 68 of 68 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2008

This campground is the only show in town on Martha's Vineyard and is a tough place to stay unless you are a single adult couple with no kids. The facility is fairly well kept and we had no problems with the sites (water and electric at the sites) but there are very strict rules about fires and noise after 10 pm. A fire is a hard thing to put a timer on and just stressful dealing with their time constraint. Kids seem to be embraced while riding around or on the swing set but plenty of campers got hollered at and bothered for being too loud, or too rambunctious. We witnessed two groups of campers to get tossed out of the place for noise complaints and there was lots of yelling by both the campers and the staff who were not afraid to scream and shout back and fourth when problems arose. This happened throughout the campground. Not an easy place to get kicked out of I imagine being an island where you have to book hotels months in advance which leaves you sleeping on the street. Overall our sleeping went well at the campground as a young couple but the staff put on an embarrassing display of yelling at other groups of young adult campers. In a few words: Stressful, won't go back.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank GoBigorGoHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2007

This is a nice campground that is ruined be over zealous owners. They are constantly hollering at kids to be quiet before 8am and telling adults to put out campfires and lights at 10pm. No fires before 8am or after 10pm and the owner comes along with a bucket of water and pours it on each fire that is over the time. They patrol around in golf carts warning campers of the rules and trying to intimidate. They make the camping experience more like prison camp. The ego of the owner is allowed to destroy a nice campground because it is the only one on the island. If you can stay anywhere else please do yourself and family a favor and do so. Camping is supposed to be fun! Don't let this mall cop want-a-bee wreck your stay on this beautiful island!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
15  Thank Rickbcnu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank La_petite_tribu1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vineyard Haven
1.3 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
819 reviews
5.2 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
3.0 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
987 reviews
2.9 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
146 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hostelling International - Martha's Vineyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martha's Vineyard Family Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martha's Vineyard Family Campground

Address: 569 Edgartown Vineyard Haven Rd, Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02568
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Vineyard Haven
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Vineyard Haven
Price Range: $70 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Martha's Vineyard Family Campground is the only campground on Martha's Vineyard. Located just 1 1/2 half miles from the Vineyard Haven ferry terminal, we offer spacious wooded sites with picnic tables, fireplaces, and hookups to accommodate tents or RVs, as well as camping cabin rentals. Amenities include restrooms with hot showers, laundromat, store, recreation hall and playground. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Martha`s Vineyard Family Campground Hotel Vineyard Haven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing