We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Bed and Breakfast!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crocker House Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Crocker House Inn
Ranked #7 of 12 Vineyard Haven B&B and Inns
Boston
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Bed and Breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2009

Great Bed and Breakfast!

The proprietors, Jeff and Jynell make you feel completely at home in this lovely, quaint, immaculately maintained residence just two blocks from the Vineyard Haven ferry dock and bus depot.

The house is beautifully decorated and located on a quiet street just off the town’s main thoroughfare. We found our room, #5, to be spacious, bright and comfortable, with it including a sitting room and king size bed.

The breakfast prepared by Jeff is outstanding and on our visit included homemade blueberry muffins, yogurt parfaits with fruit and a secret ingredient, grilled ham and egg sandwiches, and an assortment of pastries and fresh fruits. Fresh coffee, homemade chocolate cookies and fruit were also available throughout the day.

Good people, great location, lovely home and excellent food that combined to make our stay a fantastic experience! We’ve already made reservations for next year.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kjchile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    16
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
52
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2009

This was my first time with my husband to visit the Vineyard. We actually hadn't planned on going, but won a weekend stay at the Crocker House Inn at a charity event. We thought we would go in late April so as to avoid the crowds. The Inn was easy to get to and right near the Steamship Authority dock. It was tucked back aways so we still had some peace and quiet. It was beautiful inside and out. There is even a small parking lot if you plan on bringing your car. The owners Jeff and Jynell were wonderful. They told us great places to visit on the island and wonderful places to eat. We stayed in room #2. It was a beautiful room with a TV, snack bar, and free wi-fi. We even had our own bathroom. This place had everything a five star hotel would have. Breakfast was excellent as well. They provided a hot selection: eggs, a breakfast wrap with potatoes, cheese, eggs, and turkey pastrami. It was delicious! There was also a wrap with mushrooms as a vegetarian selection. You could also choose from granola, yogurt and fruit or cereal. Coffee, tea,and juice were available as well. Most B&B's I've been to only offer a continental breakfast, so this was a nice surprise. They even had an honor bar with liquor, wine, and soda available. In the evening they put out cookies if you wanted an after dinner snack. The wrap around porch had lovely chairs to sit outside on and relax while looking out at the ocean. The Inn is conveniently located close to everything in Vineyard Haven. All we had to do was walk a couple of blocks down to Main Street to the shops and restaurants near by. The beach was just as close as well. We will definitely come back. So, if you're a family or a couple, and looking for a wonderful Bed and Breakfast, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tiareflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2009

We've stayed at many bed & breakfasts, both in the US and in the UK, and in our view Jeff and Jynell have really cracked it - superb breakfasts including Jeff's delicious homemade granola and other breakfast treats, appealing and comfortable rooms and just the right amount of involvement in your stay. Many thanks for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ERH09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, MA
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2009

I'm a return guest of the Crocker House and Jeff and Jynell never disappoint. The food is fabulous, the rooms cozy and the atmosphere is always welcoming. There is never a question where we will stay when visiting the Vineyard.

  • Stayed February 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank egirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harboruogh UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2009

My stay at Crocker House was very enjoyable, two excellent hosts and two really nice American couples staying at the same time, the breakfast was "to die for" Geoffs breakfast wraps were ,as they say all the time over there "Awsome" .
I stayed for 3 nights then moved on to Oak Bluffs for a further 3 nights this was because I found Vineyard Haven a bit boring,not just because it is a dry town, where as Oak Bluffs has lots more to offer, bars ,restaurants shops the Harbour and amazing houses. The Ideal would be to put Crocker House in Oak Bluffs. as my accomadation in Oak Bluffs was not so good, in perticular the breakfast, it did'nt come close! I stayed in the Piquote Hotel, Great building, clean and friendly, but my room was small and very dark I strongly reccomend hiring a bike for the duration of your stay, its a great way to get around and the island is quiet flat and not to much traffic and very cheap to hire
I will return to the Vineyard sometime soon but will look for a better hotel in Oak Bluffs.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharpener9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2009

My boyfriend and I had a wonderful weekend at the Crocker House Inn. We came to the Vinyard for the 20 mile race on Valentine's Day. On Friday night when we came off of the ferry, we were able to walk about 5 minutes to the Inn which was nice. Our room was very nice and clean and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast both mornings was great and the post race meal that Jeff cooked for us couldn't have been better! Sunday morning we woke up early, made coffee and sat on the front porch to watch the sunrise.
All in all, it was a great weekend. I would stay here again and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BostonRunnerchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millis, MA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2008

Five of us stayed one night in two rooms and LOVED it. Jynell and Jeff were very friendly and nice. They upgraded (at no extra charge) one of our two rooms to help make our stay more comfortable with our 4 year old. The inn was beautifully decorated and very clean. The breakfast was very good and the snacks and drink bar were a nice touch. We will definitely stay there again when we make another trip to the Vineyard. HIGHLY RECOMMEND THE CROCKER HOUSE INN!

  • Liked — Jeff & Jynell the owners
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ahrhmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vineyard Haven
0.4 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
4.5 of 5 stars 715 reviews
2.2 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.0 of 5 stars 66 reviews
6.8 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
4.0 of 5 stars 854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.5 of 5 stars 558 reviews
2.3 mi away
Oak Bluffs Inn
Oak Bluffs Inn
#1 of 16 in Oak Bluffs
5.0 of 5 stars 596 reviews
2.6 mi away
Isabelle's Beach House
Isabelle's Beach House
#4 of 16 in Oak Bluffs
5.0 of 5 stars 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crocker House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crocker House Inn

Property: Crocker House Inn
Address: 12 Crocker Ave, Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02568-5457
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Vineyard Haven
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Vineyard Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a quiet residential side street just 4 house lots from the water. Close to everything yet much quieter than other locations. Comfortable, casual and convenient. We have views toward the harbor. We are a 2 minute walk back to town. We have a golf course (9 holes) 2 miles up the road. Great running for distance runners, 5 K course mapped out. Vineyard Haven is no longer dry. Wine and Beer with a meal is available. Beach towels provided. Laundry for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Crocker House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing