We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“We Enjoyed Our Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crocker House Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Crocker House Inn
Ranked #7 of 12 Vineyard Haven B&B and Inns
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We Enjoyed Our Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We don't often stay in B&Bs but we really enjoyed our one-night stay at The Crocker House Inn. Janelle and Jeff, the proprietors, were very inviting, the location is very convenient and the accommodations were clean and comfortable. We were traveling with our 19 year-old daughter and our room had a pull-out love-seat. The refrigerator in the common room/breakfast room is filled with water and soft drinks (included) and beer (for a fee). The breakfast was excellent - especially the grilled egg-in-tortilla sandwiches. All in all, a very nice stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank halgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    16
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
52
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
148 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Crocker House Inn is a well-maintained and cute B&B. It is near the heart of Vineyard Haven and walking distance to shops and restaurants, as well as the ferry (although you will need to carry bags up hill to get there.) They offer parking if you brought a car (a wonderful convenience in the area.) The owners are friendly and helpful with planning activities. The Inn is very clean, and there is a water view from the the front of the house. Breakfast is a variety of options (yogurt, granola, cereal, pastries, fruit), plus the innkeepers will make egg sandwiches to order.

But...

We envisioned a romantic stay, and our room was on the bottom floor where the common room and office is, and you can hear everything. If someone gets up early to make coffee at 5:30am, it woke us up. If people came in late and sat in the common room talking, it was disturbing. During the day, the innkeepers manage the office, take calls, do dishes etc. It made it impossible to take naps, which is something we enjoy during vacations. If you stay in the first floor rooms, you will have people hovering around your door throughout your stay.

Overall, I would stay here again but not downstairs. Avoid rooms 1-3.

Room Tip: Avoid the first floor rooms that border the common area - rooms 1-3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 13Narya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This is a great getaway for couples. The rooms have a true vineyard style to them and are very quaint. If back in MC I would most definitely stay here again. It is right off the ferry, so if you don't bring your car over, it is no big deal. Also, best chocolate chip cookies ever.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Henry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

My husband and I had an amazing stay at the Crocker House Inn! The location is ideal, just a few minutes by foot to the lovely town where you will find quaint shops, restaurants and ice cream stands. The charming house sits on a quiet street with a beautiful view into the harbor. The wrap-around porch is an ideal spot to have an early evening refreshment or a cup of coffee in the morning. The house is beautifully maintained, our room was immaculate, the bed was super comfortable and the daily service was great. The breakfast was delicious - Jeff and Jynell do a fantastic job of preparing a variety of food, the two most noteworthy being the breakfast sandwiches and the fruit parfait. Jeff and Jynell are superb hosts - they have extensive experience in the hotel industry and it shows. They are very accommodating and answered our many questions regarding transportation, restaurants, and things-to-do both before we arrived and during our stay. They are completely delightful. The Crocker House Inn is a "keeper" - we are looking forward to coming back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janmarie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Connecticut, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This was the first trip to Martha's Vineyard for my boyfriend and I. We couldn't have picked a better place to stay than The Crocker House Inn. It's location, a five minute walk from the Vineyard Haven ferry and bus station, made it very convenient and the innkeepers were very friendly. From our first contact with Jeff and Jynell when booking our reservation we could tell they were more than willing to help make our trip great and that proved to be the case when we finally arrived on the Vineyard. They allowed us to make the most of our trip by leaving our bags there prior to check in and even after check out while we went exploring.


As two people who had never been to the island before it meant a lot that they took the time to make recommendations about everything we asked them about. They gave great recommendations about what to do during the day and even went as far as making dinner reservations for us.

The inn itself was quaint, inviting, and very comfortable. We stayed in room #1 which suited us perfectly and looked exactly as we expected based on the pictures. Our room and the common areas were kept clean. Amenities such as coffee and a well stocked bar were always available as well as snacks in the afternoon. The breakfast each morning was delicious and included a homemade hot selection, baked goods, cereal, and fruit.

All in all, we have already thought about returning to the Vineyard and staying at The Crocker House Inn again based on the great experience they provided.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We've now stayed there 5 years in a row and have already reserved again for next year. The proprietors, Jeff and Jynell make you feel completely at home in this lovely, quaint, immaculately maintained residence just two blocks from the Vineyard Haven ferry dock and bus depot.

The house is beautifully decorated and located on a quiet street just off the town’s main thoroughfare. Our room, #6, was spacious, bright and comfortable, with it including a fireplace and king size bed.

The breakfast prepared by Jeff is outstanding and on our visit included homemade yogurt parfaits with fruit and a secret ingredient, grilled ham and egg sandwiches, and an assortment of pastries and fresh fruits. Fresh coffee, homemade chocolate cookies and fruit were also available throughout the day.

Good people, great location, lovely home and excellent food that combined to make our stay a fantastic experience!

Room Tip: Rooms number 5 & 6 are both great. The top floor is perfect for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kjchile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Last May my husband and I had the good fortune to find our way to the Crocker House Inn in Martha’s Vineyard. Actually, the location, in Vineyard Haven was perfect. We asked for and got a good size, but cozy room with a view of the water. The price was extremely reasonable. On the few days it was a bit chilly the fireplace in our room, the super comfortable bed and cozy bedding made our stay just perfect. Our hosts, Jeff and Jynell were absolutely lovely. The breakfasts were exceptional and delicious with fresh fruit and baked muffins, omelets, sizzling bacon, hash browns and great coffee. We can’t forget to mention our favorite, the fridge was stocked with some of the best beer we ever had, fresh from the Off Shore Ale brewery ( also our favorite restaurant on the vineyard) I can go on about the perfect location, great runs and walks we took right out the door and although we rented a car, we often just walked the two blocks into town. This was really one of our favorite vacations. Five stars and more!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TraceeLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vineyard Haven
0.4 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
4.5 of 5 stars 714 reviews
2.2 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.0 of 5 stars 66 reviews
6.8 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
4.0 of 5 stars 851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.5 of 5 stars 557 reviews
2.3 mi away
Oak Bluffs Inn
Oak Bluffs Inn
#1 of 16 in Oak Bluffs
5.0 of 5 stars 593 reviews
2.6 mi away
Isabelle's Beach House
Isabelle's Beach House
#4 of 16 in Oak Bluffs
5.0 of 5 stars 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crocker House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crocker House Inn

Property: Crocker House Inn
Address: 12 Crocker Ave, Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02568-5457
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Vineyard Haven
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Vineyard Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a quiet residential side street just 4 house lots from the water. Close to everything yet much quieter than other locations. Comfortable, casual and convenient. We have views toward the harbor. We are a 2 minute walk back to town. We have a golf course (9 holes) 2 miles up the road. Great running for distance runners, 5 K course mapped out. Vineyard Haven is no longer dry. Wine and Beer with a meal is available. Beach towels provided. Laundry for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Crocker House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing