We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Jan Marie” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crocker House Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Crocker House Inn
Ranked #7 of 13 Vineyard Haven B&B and Inns
Greenville, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Jan Marie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

My husband and I had an amazing stay at the Crocker House Inn! The location is ideal, just a few minutes by foot to the lovely town where you will find quaint shops, restaurants and ice cream stands. The charming house sits on a quiet street with a beautiful view into the harbor. The wrap-around porch is an ideal spot to have an early evening refreshment or a cup of coffee in the morning. The house is beautifully maintained, our room was immaculate, the bed was super comfortable and the daily service was great. The breakfast was delicious - Jeff and Jynell do a fantastic job of preparing a variety of food, the two most noteworthy being the breakfast sandwiches and the fruit parfait. Jeff and Jynell are superb hosts - they have extensive experience in the hotel industry and it shows. They are very accommodating and answered our many questions regarding transportation, restaurants, and things-to-do both before we arrived and during our stay. They are completely delightful. The Crocker House Inn is a "keeper" - we are looking forward to coming back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janmarie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    16
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
52
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, Connecticut, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This was the first trip to Martha's Vineyard for my boyfriend and I. We couldn't have picked a better place to stay than The Crocker House Inn. It's location, a five minute walk from the Vineyard Haven ferry and bus station, made it very convenient and the innkeepers were very friendly. From our first contact with Jeff and Jynell when booking our reservation we could tell they were more than willing to help make our trip great and that proved to be the case when we finally arrived on the Vineyard. They allowed us to make the most of our trip by leaving our bags there prior to check in and even after check out while we went exploring.


As two people who had never been to the island before it meant a lot that they took the time to make recommendations about everything we asked them about. They gave great recommendations about what to do during the day and even went as far as making dinner reservations for us.

The inn itself was quaint, inviting, and very comfortable. We stayed in room #1 which suited us perfectly and looked exactly as we expected based on the pictures. Our room and the common areas were kept clean. Amenities such as coffee and a well stocked bar were always available as well as snacks in the afternoon. The breakfast each morning was delicious and included a homemade hot selection, baked goods, cereal, and fruit.

All in all, we have already thought about returning to the Vineyard and staying at The Crocker House Inn again based on the great experience they provided.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We've now stayed there 5 years in a row and have already reserved again for next year. The proprietors, Jeff and Jynell make you feel completely at home in this lovely, quaint, immaculately maintained residence just two blocks from the Vineyard Haven ferry dock and bus depot.

The house is beautifully decorated and located on a quiet street just off the town’s main thoroughfare. Our room, #6, was spacious, bright and comfortable, with it including a fireplace and king size bed.

The breakfast prepared by Jeff is outstanding and on our visit included homemade yogurt parfaits with fruit and a secret ingredient, grilled ham and egg sandwiches, and an assortment of pastries and fresh fruits. Fresh coffee, homemade chocolate cookies and fruit were also available throughout the day.

Good people, great location, lovely home and excellent food that combined to make our stay a fantastic experience!

Room Tip: Rooms number 5 & 6 are both great. The top floor is perfect for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kjchile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Last May my husband and I had the good fortune to find our way to the Crocker House Inn in Martha’s Vineyard. Actually, the location, in Vineyard Haven was perfect. We asked for and got a good size, but cozy room with a view of the water. The price was extremely reasonable. On the few days it was a bit chilly the fireplace in our room, the super comfortable bed and cozy bedding made our stay just perfect. Our hosts, Jeff and Jynell were absolutely lovely. The breakfasts were exceptional and delicious with fresh fruit and baked muffins, omelets, sizzling bacon, hash browns and great coffee. We can’t forget to mention our favorite, the fridge was stocked with some of the best beer we ever had, fresh from the Off Shore Ale brewery ( also our favorite restaurant on the vineyard) I can go on about the perfect location, great runs and walks we took right out the door and although we rented a car, we often just walked the two blocks into town. This was really one of our favorite vacations. Five stars and more!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TraceeLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
87 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I am a pilot & I stay in hotels over 200 nights a year. My wife & I also travel and stay in a lot of B&B's across the country and internationally. I have to rank this B&B top of my list for excellence. It is a rustic home with wood floors, fresh paint and its very clean & comfortable. Its one of those places where you can tell the owners have spaired no expense in fixing it up and keeping it up. From here you are a short walk (5 mins or less) to town with lots of shops, restaurants, & the harbor. This location is right near the water with a very nice view.
Jeff & Jynell are very accommodating and they go out of their way to make you feel welcome and at home. Breakfast was made to order! You will not be disappointed with breakfast! He made some sort of egg wrap that was cooked along with fresh strawberries & cherries and several juices. He also offered to make us whatever we wanted, if we wanted something different.

My upstairs room is nice with a perfectly comfy king size bed with plush sheets and comforter. It was by far the cosiest and most comfortable night sleep I have had in awhile. The room is quiet, spacious with a small couch and sitting area with a gas fireplace. The bathroom is a bit small but very adequate and nicely tiled. There is plenty of natural light in the room from windows surrounding all sides. There are large blinds that you can close to keep light out or for privacy. Its summer now and the airconditioner did a great job keeping the room dry and cool. (I know moisture control is a challenge on the islands.) Some rooms are downstairs and several upstairs. The living area downstairs has a nice sitting area to relax and a large table where breakfast is served. There is also a small mini bar area where they have plenty to drink: soft drinks, beer, or liquor. That evening we came down, sat and had drinks and spent time talking with the owners. You can also sit out on the front porch area and enjoy your drink while looking out at the water. After dark we could see the lights from the boats in the harbor. There is adequate parking in the front and Jeff took us to and from the airport for a small fee.
You must remember you are staying at a Bed & Breakfast and not a hotel. This is more like being At Home atmosphere and not a hotel. If you are looking for a hotel then you should stay there. If you like a more personal touch then stay here. Every place has difficult days where things may not be perfect to suite you. If they burn your cookies or if your soda is flat, just tell them. I'm sure they will be glad to fix it! Personally I like it cause they are eager to please ME! I have yet to stay in a hotel that's eager to do that.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank MSPilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We were three girlfriends on the Vineyard for a wedding up the road in West Chop. The location was perfect - close to VH for strolling, a block away from the wedding ceremony and a short ride to all the other activities in WC. The two rooms we had were beautifully and quietly decorated in a wonderful Cape Cod (but not cheesy) style. Soft colors, beautiful fabrics and just enough furniture. My room had a small balcony which was nice, but actually the communal porch was used more often. The owners were incredibly friendly and helpful. I was on UK time, so up very early and could enjoy the quiet morning on the porch eagerly awaiting breakfast. I was not disappointed. Among the fresh fruits, yoghurts and granola was superb homemade scones and each day had a different 'entree'. The first morning we had a panini-pressed wrap with scrambled eggs, spinach and cheese (heavenly) and the second morning was a toasted (gorgeous bread) similar type concoction. Talented chef! This place is HIGHLY recommended.

Room Tip: There are a couple rooms on the ground floor which would not be recommended for romantic couples (no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraDxLdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and didn't want to leave. The room was so pretty and the location, a short walk to Main Street, was ideal. We could see the sea from our window, too. Jeff and Jynell, our hosts, were friendly and very helpful and the lounge/breakfast room was attractive. We met some lovely fellow guests and everyone chatted over the delicious and plentiful breakfast. Jynell made sure that my husband had a gluten-free breakfast, which he was delighted about. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vineyard Haven
0.4 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
4.5 of 5 stars 696 reviews
2.2 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.5 of 5 stars 52 reviews
2.5 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.5 of 5 stars 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Oak Bluffs Inn
Oak Bluffs Inn
#1 of 16 in Oak Bluffs
5.0 of 5 stars 586 reviews
2.6 mi away
Isabelle's Beach House
Isabelle's Beach House
#4 of 16 in Oak Bluffs
5.0 of 5 stars 310 reviews
0.5 mi away
Charles & Charles
Charles & Charles
#1 of 13 in Vineyard Haven
5.0 of 5 stars 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crocker House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crocker House Inn

Property: Crocker House Inn
Address: 12 Crocker Ave, Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02568-5457
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Vineyard Haven
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Vineyard Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a quiet residential side street just 4 house lots from the water. Close to everything yet much quieter than other locations. Comfortable, casual and convenient. We have views toward the harbor. We are a 2 minute walk back to town. We have a golf course (9 holes) 2 miles up the road. Great running for distance runners, 5 K course mapped out. Vineyard Haven is no longer dry. Wine and Beer with a meal is available. Beach towels provided. Laundry for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Crocker House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing