We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent, elegant dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Left Bank Restaurant - CLOSED

Left Bank Restaurant
Price range: $29 - $36
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Description: Located within the bucolic setting of Stonehedge Inn & Spa, Left Bank Restaurant has earned AAA Four Diamonds and Wine Spectator's Grand Award since 1996. Striving for the most seasonal items available, we change our menu with the seasons, sourcing the highest quality of local, seasonal and organic products. Left Bank Restaurant at Stonehedge Inn & Spa serves breakfast, lunch, dinner, afternoon tea and Sunday brunch, as well as our lite bites menu in our lounge. Our daily wine list has over 2,000 selections, as well as we offer our "Sixty under Sixty" wine list, featuring 60 wines, each priced under $60.00.
Northampton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Excellent, elegant dinner”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Great food, well prepared and with inventive combinations and seasonings. The service, too, was excellent. Simply a great dining experience.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Edoardo0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    21
    26
    22
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ridgefield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Killer Chef and Killer wines”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

If you love food and wine, this is the place for you. Excellent service, too. We enjoyed a 1995 bottle of Silver Oak Cabernet with dinner. The meals are always exceptional. We have returned for the Beringer wine pairing dinner, and are going again for Benziger. We are unstoppable!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank NadiaFila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelburne Falls, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Overpriced, mediocre food and service, unwillingness to address complaints”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

At dinner, as vegetarians, we were served a $26 vegetarian "entree" consisting of a sliver of beet and potato gratin and carrots. Outrageous. The bruschetta in the lounge and tomato caponata were, on the other hand, quite good.

For dessert, promised butterscotch cookies, we were surprised to receive a plate of what was meant to be chocolate chip cookies (terrible) and cranberry white chocolate (good but not what we were promised) instead. Waiter who did not seem to know how to not interrupt conversation by constantly clearing the table said, oops! But too bad. Meanwhile, I'd like to note that the (overpriced $16 martini) lounge had great service.

Breakfast served on blacktop spa area was 30 minutes late and consisted of congealed cold oatmeal and smelly fruit.

Total price for food/drinks/tip $150 and disappointing a great friend on her 40th bday. Avoid this property if you seek a peaceful, spa experience and a decent meal.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyEscapist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Methuen
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not worth it!”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

The food was very very disappointing. We had the lobster dinner which was awful. The lobster was not fresh and was over cooked. No taste at all. The other meal that we had was the steak dinner. The sauce was very good and the steak was cooked just right, but the meat was very tough and chewy. The Caesar salad was a bit bitter and the lettuce was on the verge of being wilted. The atmosphere was lovely and the wait staff was attentive, although once the restaurant got busy, they were not as available with the exception of the busboy. He was frequently filling our water glasses and checking in on us. I gave this restaurant a very poor rating because at those prices, the food should have been much better. Actually, even if the prices were cheaper, I would not recommend this place. We will not be back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate62Methuen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Massachusetts
1 review
“Afternoon Tea at the Left Bank Restaurant, Stonehedge Inn.”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I recently hosted an afternoon tea for a bridal shower at the Left Bank Restaurant at the Stonehedge Inn and it was a wonderful experience. We were all so pleased with the actual tea, and having never been to one before, it was WAY better than anticipated. The Inn was very accomodating and set up a nice corner of their restaurant with a beautiful area for gifts and cake. The service was impeccable and as laid back and relaxed as we wanted it to be. The food was great, small gourmet tea sandwiches that looked like works of art, warm and yummy scones with jam and Devonshire cream, and a selection of beautiful pastries for dessert. The tea was incredible and everyone was more than pleased.

Joseph, our server was way more than accomodating to some of our older guests and Tatiana, the catering manager really helped to plan an amazing menu to accomodate some of the bride-to-be's allergies. At the end of the day, they even helped to pack up decorations and bring the gifts to the lobby.

We appreciate Stonehedge Inn and the Left Bank restaurant for creating such a memorable occasion for the bridal shower. We all had a nice time catching up and talking between "courses" and everyone enjoyed the cake the restaurant had made. It was a perfect location to host a shower.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JayZ98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Left Bank Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing