We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of Cape Cod's Best”
Review of Blackfish

Blackfish
Ranked #2 of 7 Restaurants in Truro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of Cape Cod's Best”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We had an exceptional meal at Blackfish. Interesting, sophisticated menu with an eclectic flair. Get the pork belly app!!! It is absolutely delicious. Great wine and drink list with staff that are truly invested in making your dining experience one to remember. Went last Friday and place was very busy. Pretty little hostess greeted us with smile and promptly sat us in the back. We loved the ambiance of the room as it is surrounded entirely by greenery. Our waiter was spot on with recommendations and guided us with wine list as well. We had the short ribs and they were melt in your mouth good!! Dessert options are also very lovely. My favorite restaurant on Cape Cod by far!! Go here you will not be sorry.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marion C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    51
    30
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Cape cod's best hands down”
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Imagination, focus,execution, impeccable ingredients, invested service staff. You'd be lucky to do this well in Boston. Dont bring your cardiologist. Do indulge, and book early for weekends. Go ahead, try the pork belly app, or the short ribs nearly melted in the richest brown stock, the beet carpaccio satisfies this rabid carnivore. Enjoy. Then go back

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tenchmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Truro Treasure”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

In between Provincetown and Wellfleet with their lovely eateries one can find Blackfish at Truro Center. An excellent restaurant of haut cuisine preparations of New England fresh and where possible locally sourced fresh ingredients. Save room for fabulous desserts.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwyn, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sublime”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

This restaurant was wonderful. We had messed up our reservation (not the restaurant's fault) and they were quite full, but the hostess calmly told us not to worry. We had a drink at the packed bar (my wife's Old Fashioned was the best she ever had) and were seated in good time. The food and servce were simply perfect. My wife and I shared the large ribeye steak, which was cooked and seasoned perfectly (the truffle butter was a touch of heaven). The steak was accompanied by wonderful potato chips (these had nothing to do with bagged potato chips!) and creamed spinach, both of which were superb. My wife and I agreed that we had never had a better steak. Our friend had the panko crusted sole, with asparagus and mashed cauliflower -- she pronounced it "fabulous"! We were too full for dessert, but suspect it would have been heavenly. Our waitress was friendly, knowledgable and helpful -- our food was delivered timely and hot. We could not think of anything that could be improved in this restaurant and we recommend it without reservation (although we do recommend making a reservation!).

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carcathmat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orleans, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Michelin multistar cuisine in a blue jean casual atmosphere”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I would have rated this at five stars, but I reserve that for more elegance and a broader wine list. This is the second time that we have eaten there -- both times truly excellent. My wife and I both ordered their fried Wellfleet oysters for an appetizer. The dip was amazingly subtle: like a really good wine, separate layers of flavor kept emerging to enhance the oysters. The latter were perfectly cooked with just the right amount of batter and no oil flavor whatsoever. I could easily have ordered two more of these servings of six and made that my meal -- but I'm glad that I did not because my entree was so spectacular. I am a sucker for wild mushrooms, so when I saw a pasta dish featuring those, I passed right over the other main dishes all of which looked delicious. The mushrooms ranged from ceps to tiny little things measuring with stems and caps one to two inches. Fabulous. My wife had the hake which was perfectly cooked, moist and very mild, over a bed of barley, farro, and a lot of very subtle spices. James Beard could not have cooked the hake any better.

The wine list was not extensive, but adequate. I was pleased to find a bottle of Hamilton Russell South African chardonnay which we had not had since visiting some friends there almost a decade ago. Brought back some nice memories, but the really good thing is that the wine markup was only about 50% over retail!

Service was constantly attentive to our needs without being pushy. Unfortunately, Blackfish is a seasonal restaurant and will be closing very soon -- just when I need something like this to get me through another dreary New England winter.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jbcapecod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blackfish also viewed

Truro, Cape Cod
Wellfleet, Cape Cod
 
Provincetown, Cape Cod
North Truro, Cape Cod
 
Wellfleet, Cape Cod
 

Been to Blackfish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing