We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor quality and high priced”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Truro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Horton's Camping Resort
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
337 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Poor quality and high priced”
Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here over the weekend, 2 nights for about $80 on a primitive camp site. It is nothing special, small super market, nothing more. The bath room close to our camp spot in the woods was a little disgusting and could be cleaned a little more thoroughly. Wouldn't go there again, if I can get a site at Dunes Edge near PTown.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank KKBuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    13
    13
    9
    20
See reviews for
23
23
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hebron, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

My husband and I have been coming to Horton's for several years. We bring in our own camper, and prefer this campground above all others because there are no trees that drip sap onto our vehicles, the sites are clean and maintained well, it's 5 minutes from Head of the Meadow Beach, we can catch a ride to PTown from in front of the office, and ABOVE ALL, the managers of the two connected campgrounds are friendly, efficient, and see to it that any problems (like noise during quiet time or problems we may be having with our camper) are addressed quickly if not personally. For the first time, this year we rented an onsite camper for our children and grandchildren to stay in while we were there in July, and it was very clean and comfortable. We'll stay at no other campground on The Cape!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellington, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

My family and I spent the Fourth of July week at Hortons camping resort. This campground is perfectly located between Providence town and Welfleet. We arrived with one fifth wheel and a 32" travel trailer. The site was very clean, a bit small but since we had campsite right next to each other it wasn't bad. The ground were VERY CLEAN, the maintenance crew was always present and available. Our site had a problem with one of the limbs that was hanging over our campsite, with the tropical storm approaching we were concerned that the limb wasn't going to make the night. The maintenance team (6 very nice gentlemen and one cute little helper) came to our campsite at 5PM on the night prior to the holiday. They safety removed the limb and cleaned up the entire site within an hour. They were very friendly and helpful. I have been to 3 campgrounds in the Cape and by far this is my favorite one.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

This is an ideal option for people not looking for luxury or even much comfort and who wish to experience the RV camping experience without having to haul one around the countryside. We rented one of the premium RVs for a few nights while waiting for our house in Provincetown. It was great having the kitchen and bathroom (though the shower is definitely not built for larger people and we used the public showers which were a hike). We are used to tent camping so this was more convenient, but the beds were very uncomfortable and we were better off in our tents with our air mattresses. They really should invest in some real mattresses so people can enjoy their vacations pain free and rested. The only other problem would be the condition of the roads getting in and out of the campsites... One has to drive zig zag back and forth in order to avoid wrecking ones car....I don't think calling the campground "rustic" makes it OK to not take care of the roads. The price was reasonable for having an entire RV and it's proximity to the ocean and P town but I think next time we'll just take our tents.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellington, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

This was my first time camping (in a camper that is!) we stayed in one of the campers that they rent out. It was nice and very clean. I have no complaints except I missed my hotel room and the ocean view

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Glenna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We camped this past labor day weekend. The tenting sites were plentiful, and they even offer sites that are all set up and ready to go for you. We had our own tents and chose to use those. The rest rooms were not so great. In our area there were only 4 stalls, and two were out of order. The rest rooms near the tenting area only has toliets and sinks. It is quite a haul to get to the showers. There are two shower areas, we drove to them. They were relatively clean, with good water pressure and plenty of free hot water.

Tenting sites come with a nice fire pit.

The site is near all the beautiful beaches in Truro - one night we got a permit at town hall and had a beach fire (very lovely), great spots to bike, and , of course, close to Provincetown.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BostonMary2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

My wife and I had our fingers crossed when we booked this RV trailer site and we weren't disappointed. The campground was clean, well landscaped and PERFECTLY located between Wellfleet and Providence. The only issue we had was that the cable reception was snowy. (They said they were in the process of upgrading the cable service) It doesn't hurt that we had great weather for a week and that a beautiful lighthouse was right outside the campground entrance. I would not hesitate to book this campground again and we fully intend to do so next year. It is surrounded by great beaches, fun activities and very tasty food.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katric1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truro
22.9 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#3 of 9 in Chatham
653 reviews
5.8 mi away
Surfside Hotel & Suites
Surfside Hotel & Suites
#5 of 15 in Provincetown
882 reviews
5.3 mi away
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
#6 of 15 in Provincetown
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Sandbars on Cape Cod Bay
Sandbars on Cape Cod Bay
#3 of 11 in North Truro
184 reviews
2.5 mi away
Outer Reach Resort
Outer Reach Resort
#5 of 11 in North Truro
316 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cape View Motel
Cape View Motel
#4 of 11 in North Truro
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horton's Camping Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horton's Camping Resort

Property: Horton's Camping Resort
Address: 71 South Highland Road, Truro, MA 02652
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Truro
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Truro
Number of rooms: 220
Also Known As:
Horton`s Camping Hotel Truro
Horton's Camping Resort Truro, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing