We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach was secluded, gorgeous”

Head of the Meadow Trail
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beach was secluded, gorgeous”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

We stayed at this beach for quite a while for its breathtaking views. Has huge sand dunes that are like rolling hills. Really gives you the feeling of being away from the busyness of life. We spent our time playing around in the tidal flats. We even saw a seal! Great place for peace and serenity. The only thing to be forewarned about is the restrooms provided are actually port-a-potties (permanent ones) with only hand sanitizer for hand cleaning. Otherwise, definitely worth the drive to it. It's easily accessible from Route 6. It came recommended from the Cape Cod National Seashore park ranger as a great place to see seals.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Chelsi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    16
    4
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“September peace”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I am not a beach goer per se. I love to walk on uncrowded beaches early or late in the day. Yes Recent storms have changed the terrain leaving a huge sandbar with a wide and deep chasm between the main beach and the ocean and yes the sandbar will be under water at high tide. Some of the sandbars now provide an island for resting grey seals ( please do not invade their space). A beautiful spot . You can see the power of nature and the effects of weather on our coast line.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ctjustdoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“My favourite beach on the Outer Cape...so far”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We visited Race Point, Herring Cove and Head of the Meadow, and this last one was my favourite. Something to know is that there are 2 parking lots...one of which is right on the beach while the other you have to climb over the dunes to get to the beach. The dunes are huge and beautiful. We bought a day pass for $15 for the car (4 passengers) and we were able to use the pass for all the beaches.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MinigirlPicton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

There is something about the land around here, the dunes, the national seashore and this trail that are just peaceful and lovely to look at and be part of.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank 13Linda1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach & worth the drive - Head of the Meadow beach”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Definitely one of the best beaches on the Cape. I'm used to beaches with small dunes ....but not here....the dunes here are magnificent! Bring your camera!
The beach is a short drive from P'town, Truro, and other Cape towns ....we were inclined to just stay on the beach in front of our hotel, but am so happy we drove out to Head of the Meadow.

There's also a sandbar running along the beach/shore which cuts into the beach and seems to be its own beach which makes the whole setting that much more serene! Great added benefit are all the seal sightings!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Craig K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Head of the Meadow Trail also viewed

 

Been to Head of the Meadow Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing