We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must be 48 Inches Tall - Good Activity with Kids” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Highland Light

Highland Light
Ranked #2 of 19 things to do in Truro
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This lighthouse was the first light sailors glimpsed when reaching this side of the Atlantic Ocean.
Westborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Must be 48 Inches Tall - Good Activity with Kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

My son finally passed the height requirement this year. We brought our free pass back from last year. It was great! We went 2x. Historically, it's really very interesting as is the beach erosion that will continue to plague the lighthouse. My son is 5 and found it all really interesting. We had to keep explaining how water erodes and at the bottom of a cliff. :-) He loved the signs telling him all of the places he could see from up in the top. Good value. Nice activity. Nice staff. Many of whom seemed to be teachers (retired or other).

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank joannehynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    69
    17
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
124 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Glad We Stopped”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

Highland Light is a beautiful lighthouse. It is the oldest and tallest lighthouse on Cape Cod. I would recommend visiting the lighthouse when you are in the area and learning about it's history. We really are glad we stopped by and took the time to stroll around.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lovetotravel8653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danbury ct
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great place to go”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

a lot of my friends go every year and they have a great time I go when I can.go and have a great time.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank tommykDanburyCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Aurora, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice lighthouse and view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed our visit to this lighthouse but we were not aware ahead of time that children under 48" tall cannot tour/climb (because of the open railings on the stairs. So we were disappointed that we couldn't do that but it was still cool to go see. They have alot of info on the history of the lighthouse which was cool to see.

Helpful?
1 Thank jkostek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
98 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely views and a bit of history to boot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

Discovered this by accident while driving to Falmouth from Provencetown. Lovely sights to see, and there is an attached golf course where I would love to play. Well worth a visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank rrkr13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Highland Light also viewed

Eastham, Cape Cod
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 

Been to Highland Light? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing