We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Swansea
Reviewed May 7, 2009

I stayed at this hotel because it was close to home and my husband and son were away and I don't like to stay alone at night. For the amount of sleep I got, I could have stayed at home. First, I used a cart to get my stuff in because I am handicapped and am on oxygen. The stupid cart wheels were all over the place and I couldn't move them. I am right in front of the hotel desk when I am trying to move the cart and slam my shoulder into this big huge 8ft tall urn. I told the hotel clerk the cart was a piece of #$%^ but said sarcastically to her "I'm fine, thanks for asking". I call the front desk the first time and no one answered. The second time, Nicole answered I asked her if she was the one at the front desk who saw me wipe out my shoulder. She said yes. I told her that it wasn't very hospitable to not ask me if I was okay. She said she thought I just hit my foot. Either way, I then asked for a Manager and she said she was alone and that she guessed she was the manager. I told her I would call the manager in the morning. About 10 pm, I couldn't take it any more and my body hurt so bad from the bed being so firm. I called Nicole and asked her if they had any pillow tops for the bed. No, I didn't need any additional pillows (help please) and told her never mind. I had the great idea to use the cushions from the pullout couch. That worked until 1:30 am. I couldn't move, I was so sore. I then thought I had an even greater idea by using the mattress from the pullout sofa and putting it on top of the King sized bed. I opened the sofa which had a white sheet on it and you would not believe what I saw on that sheet. Wrappers, stains, brown stains (yes, it appeared so) and I was so grossed out. I made it back to bed with waking every hour until 5 am and getting my butt out of there without daring to go for the complimentary breakfast.

I have stayed in many hotels and I would rate this one one of the worst.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bojax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (206)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 206 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2008

The sheets hadn't been changed.
The shower curtain needed washing.
The pool heater wasn't working.
The paint on the bottom of the pool was peeling.
There was some kind of construction going on out front.
The breakfast was "whitebread". Not a lot of healthy choices.

The wireless internet worked fine.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank 2TubMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2007

I was very impressed with this brand new hotel, it was really nice not just because it was new but because it was well designed. Its in a quiet section of town(not much within walking distance) but there is plenty of dining and shopping right up the road. I would definitely recomend this place as one of the nicest Holiday Inn Express's I've stayed in.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank deemantz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2007

Fine location, near swansea mall, big room, nice staff durind all my two weeks stay. Too crowded during weekends.

Stayed: October 2007
2  Thank Carolinaferreira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2007

We stayed here because we did not want to pay the higher price to stay at a nice place in Newport which would have been 3 times the price. It was exceptionally clean and the staff were all very friendly and helpful. It was certainly worth the trouble and we would very much recommend this place. There wasn't much around it but we got a good night's sleep. Don't miss the ice cream at the creamery down the street!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank kgirltoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2007

I checked out this brand new hotel in order to reserve a block of rooms for my family. This built from scratch hotel was very elegant and a much nicer than I would expect for a Holiday Inn Express. The manager showed us their Executive Double Queen Suite which was very large with a bedroom with 2 Queen Beds and a separate living room with a sofabed and wet bar. The small bathroom is off the living room and is elegantly appointed with granite counter. The decor is very tasteful.

The location is a bit off the beaten path. The Swansea Mall and its Ruby Tuesdays restaurant is about a mile down the road. The mall area also offers the usual fast food offerings. 2 exits down 195, the Seekonk area offers more dining choices.

The hotel is so new that the indoor pool and hot tub were not yet filled. They were on the small side, but adequate. I am so happy that this hotel has opened in time for my family event and feel confident that my family will be happy staying there.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank KP_voyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olaf K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXSwansea, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swansea
6.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Fall River
8.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Fall River/Westport
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Seekonk
Hampton Inn Seekonk
#1 of 8 in Seekonk
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Bristol Harbor Inn
Bristol Harbor Inn
#1 of 1 in Bristol
205 reviews
5.7 mi away
Best Western Providence-Seekonk Inn
7.2 mi away
Ramada Seekonk Providence Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites

Address: 1400 Gar Hwy, Swansea, MA 02777-4231
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Swansea
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Swansea
Price Range: $97 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Swansea, MA near PVD Enjoy thoughtful amenities and superior service at our choice hotel in Swansea, Massachusetts. Our prime Swansea, Massachusetts lodging is just 15 miles from the University of Massachusetts at Dartmouth. Swansea is situated in the heart of the northeast, and visitors are sure to appreciate the New England charm that surrounds our hotel in Swansea, Massachusetts. Families will enjoy our convenient access to several Swansea and Providence attractions, which include various beaches, downtown Swansea shopping, Battleship Cove, the Whaling Museum, and Blithewood Mansion and Gardens. Nearby colleges include Providence College, Roger Williams, Brown and Johnson and Wales Universities. Business travelers are sure to enjoy our hotel in Swansea, Massachusetts, too. We are located near several prominent businesses like Lightolier, Cardinal Health, Brayton Point Power and Fall Fiver Industrial Park. We are proud to offer premium business amenities, which include free high-speed wireless Internet access, a business center with copy, fax and shipping services and much more. Don't be disappointed by another Swansea hotel, instead enjoy your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. Take advantage of our complimentary hot breakfast bar, fitness center and pool. Book your reservations today for our great Swansea hotel deals and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Swansea
Holiday Inn Swansea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing