We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Swansea
Hawthorne, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Nice stay”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We had a suite, which is the nicest I have seen in a HIE. Very friendly staff, nice breakfast with attentive service, everything was clean and tasteful. The beds were super comfortable, room service did a great job. Nice cooling/heating system so it was comfortable and very quiet.
The sofa in the suite should be replaced. It sagged badly even just sitting on it. The price was super reasonable and we had a really nice stay here.

Room Tip: If you get a suite ask to see it and sit on the couch, make sure it is OK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ramona p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    66
    49
    21
    8
See reviews for
64
46
13
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel several times. Our son is a student at Roger WIlliams in Bristol, Rhode Island, which is about a 15 minute drive. It is also very convenient to Providence but much less expensive than the Providence or Newport hotels. Hotel is always very clean and offers a nice continental breakfast. My one recommendation is to try to get a room on any floor other than the first. The first floor rooms tend to have very thin ceilings and you may hear your upstairs neighbors pacing all night. All in all, a good place to stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Heather E,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. It is delightful to know that you had a commendable visit and we have hosted you on a number of occasions.

Please see us soon if you're back in the area!

Kind Regards,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

From the outside the hotel looked good, set back from the road and with a drive up to the front from the road. The problems were inside, little details detracted from our visit, the toilet seat in the bathroom was loose, the coffee machine in the room was old and not clean, the hair dryer and bracket was covered in dust.
The walls of the room were very thin, a family were in the room next door and we could hear everything they were saying, but the worst thing was the dripping a/c unit, the one above was dripping water down onto our unit, keeping us awake. This was reported the following morning but nothing was done about it, there seems to be a problem with the breakfast room, it is small and during our stay the choice of food was not up to the usual HIE standard.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Robert T,

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our hotel. Your satisfaction is important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. We are truly sorry our hotel rooms, amenities and facilities did not live up to your expectations. Your feedback will be taken into consideration in our efforts to continually monitor and improve the quality and services we offer.

Thank you for your candid feedback. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel and replace your bad experience with one that reflects our true standards.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenport, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We reserved two rooms - a suite and a standard room. We were greeted and acknowledged as Priority Club members. The standard room was fine. The layout of the suite was great, best I've ever seen in a HI Express. The pullout couch was in a separate alcove. The couch, however, was trash. My son pulled it open and sat on it, the mattress almost went down through the springs. Even closed, it was horrible. The toilet seat was sliding all over the place. Breakfast was posted to go until 9:30. At 9:15ish they started pulling items and did not restock any items. When I asked about it, the attendant was very curt and almost nasty. It is not what I expect.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krichter58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Krichter58,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review about our property. It is always our goal to provide convenient and world class service to our guest. We apologize we were not able to exceed your expectations during your stay. Please be assured that these will be looked into and that your comments will be used to monitor future improvements needed.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Delaware
Level Contributor
131 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

My husband and I chose this hotel because of its location near my mother. The décor is gauche - cherubs on the ceiling, large urns with fake flowers and greens and framed copies of Roman columns. We stayed three nights and the walls are paper thin. We could hear the conversations of the people on either side and hear the people above walking. The room was large and nicely furnished but the cleaning was hit and miss, with tiny scraps on the rug and wet in front of the refrigerator. The first night, there was no soap and when my husband approached the desk clerk, she said they had "run out" and gave him a giant bar of Zest. There was one plastic cup for all three nights (the same one!). One night there was no bath mat. Breakfast was passable with enough choices to get you on the road without having to stop. All in all, the noise was the biggest drawback and we will probably go elsewhere next trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Carolyn F,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I can assure you that your comfort and satisfaction are of utmost importance to us and for that please accept my sincere apologies if your stay was negatively affected by the noise issues you have encounteredl. I appreciate you bringing this matter into our attention as this is our best resource for improving guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
78 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Upon arriving to this location. Carol made my arrival feel special. Her great attitude and conversation while checking me in felt swift and inviting. This property offers big parking for all vehicles. The decor is greater than today's standard. It has a large lawn, enough for soccer or football to burn some energy. It also offer a pool, laundry, gym. The house keepers are nice and helpful. The elevator is swift to open as it reaches its floor. Carol and staff. Thanks for a great stay. Will return if in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ureyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Only stayed one night on 4th of July weekend and the hotel was full. It is only 3 floors which I like and the staff was cordial and very helpful.. The room was clean with comfortable beds and the location very convenient being very close to 95 and Rte 136.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swansea
8.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Fall River/Westport
6.1 mi away
Bristol Harbor Inn
Bristol Harbor Inn
#1 of 1 in Bristol
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
6.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Fall River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Best Western Providence-Seekonk Inn
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Seekonk
Hampton Inn Seekonk
#1 of 8 in Seekonk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
5.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Seekonk - Providence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Address: 1400 Gar Hwy, Swansea, MA 02777-4231
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Swansea
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Swansea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Swansea, MA near PVD Enjoy thoughtful amenities and superior service at our choice hotel in Swansea, Massachusetts. Our prime Swansea, Massachusetts lodging is just 15 miles from the University of Massachusetts at Dartmouth. Swansea is situated in the heart of the northeast, and visitors are sure to appreciate the New England charm that surrounds our hotel in Swansea, Massachusetts. Families will enjoy our convenient access to several Swansea and Providence attractions, which include various beaches, downtown Swansea shopping, Battleship Cove, the Whaling Museum, and Blithewood Mansion and Gardens. Nearby colleges include Providence College, Roger Williams, Brown and Johnson and Wales Universities. Business travelers are sure to enjoy our hotel in Swansea, Massachusetts, too. We are located near several prominent businesses like Lightolier, Cardinal Health, Brayton Point Power and Fall Fiver Industrial Park. We are proud to offer premium business amenities, which include free high-speed wireless Internet access, a business center with copy, fax and shipping services and much more. Don't be disappointed by another Swansea hotel, instead enjoy your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. Take advantage of our complimentary hot breakfast bar, fitness center and pool. Book your reservations today for our great Swansea hotel deals and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Swansea
Holiday Inn Swansea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing