We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Motel and Staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Swansea
statesboro
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Motel and Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Let me start by saying that we are from the south and I know you have heard the saying "Southern Hospitality" Well let me tell you we got a great dose of "Northern Hospitality" when we visited New England recently. We stayed at this motel for 4 nights and it was great the ladies and men that welcomed us at the front desk were very nice and informative, even the cleaning ladies were awesome. Also the landscaping around the motel is well kept up. If you are ever traveling in that direction I would highly recommend this motel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steve c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    66
    49
    21
    6
See reviews for
63
46
13
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Nice place to stay for business or for families . Good hot or cold breakfast. Some nights they offer a free dinner with a variety of foods. The beds are very comfortable. Ask for the rooms facing away from the street side. The staff was always pleasant and helpful. Close to Fall River when driving by car

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sweetiepie97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAITSFIELD
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

This hotel puts you outside of the urban area and in proximity of classic Rhode Island with lots of water and bays. There's a few good restaurants very close to the hotel, otherwise several miles from anything. Set back from the main road enough so there is little or no traffic noise. Room was very nice, good TV. Only complaints is that the broadband connection was ridiculously slow (remedied by using my I-phone hot spot) and the floors are wood construction, so even though I had a corner room on the top floor I can still hear adjacent room noise and even noise from the room below. Other than that the hotel was very nice.

Room Tip: Back of hotel faces away from road and toward residential area. Very quiet back there. Top floor roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Bruce S,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay. I am pleased to note that you found our hotel to be very nice and suitable for business travelers.

While I am pleased with your kind words, I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience our internet service has caused you.

Once again, thank you for your feedback. Rest assured your comments will be reviewed for future improvements. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Located right on main road it is convenient to everything in the area. When stopping to visit my family, I stayed here to make it easier for everyone. The hotel was clean, organized and definitely a place I would return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one week and we really enjoyed our stay. The rooms were nice and clean. Staff was friendly and helpful. With fitness room and indoor swimmingpool, wifi and laundryfacility. It is absolutely the place to stay in Swansea.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 123409876A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
373 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

This Hol Inn Exp is not up to the standards of the brand; my guess is that it was formerly a different chain. The walls are paper thin and it is impossible to get a good nights sleep. You can hear people walking through the floor as well. The TV had wavy lines in the picture, very limited station choices, and no pay-per-view. There were issues with the HVAC system forcing the room to be too hot or too cold. The WIFI did work well.

The breakfast at all Hol Inn Exp are really poor in quality---processed vs real food but that's what you get for the price. That being said, this one did not offer a breakfast meat with the processed eggs ( all the others in the chain do offer this).

There are no restaurants in this area to speak of so you are really better off staying ina different location entirely and driving into Swansea as needed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NJB1165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear NJB1165,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I am disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your overall stay with us due to the issues experienced with the noise, HVAC system condition and breakfast served. Thank you for alerting us and bringing these unsatisfactory circumstances to our attention as your comments are our best resource of improving guest satisfaction.

Once again many thanks for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Swansea hotels

Barboursville, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed here last minute to be closer to our end destination the next day. Great hotel, great pool. We arrived later in the evening so we didn't do more than swim and sleep. Kind of in the middle of nowhere from what I could tell but it was fancy. Staff was nice and accommodating. One minor complaint was that there were a lot of dark places in the parking lot that I had to park my car. It seemed as if several lights were out and since I had to park a bit away from the hotel it did make me nervous.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank family3forme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swansea
8.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Fall River/Westport
6.1 mi away
Bristol Harbor Inn
Bristol Harbor Inn
#1 of 1 in Bristol
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
6.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Fall River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Providence-Seekonk Inn
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Seekonk
Hampton Inn Seekonk
#1 of 8 in Seekonk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
5.6 mi away
Knights Inn Seekonk MA
Knights Inn Seekonk MA
#6 of 8 in Seekonk
3.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Address: 1400 Gar Hwy, Swansea, MA 02777-4231
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Swansea
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Swansea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Swansea, MA near PVD Enjoy thoughtful amenities and superior service at our choice hotel in Swansea, Massachusetts. Our prime Swansea, Massachusetts lodging is just 15 miles from the University of Massachusetts at Dartmouth. Swansea is situated in the heart of the northeast, and visitors are sure to appreciate the New England charm that surrounds our hotel in Swansea, Massachusetts. Families will enjoy our convenient access to several Swansea and Providence attractions, which include various beaches, downtown Swansea shopping, Battleship Cove, the Whaling Museum, and Blithewood Mansion and Gardens. Nearby colleges include Providence College, Roger Williams, Brown and Johnson and Wales Universities. Business travelers are sure to enjoy our hotel in Swansea, Massachusetts, too. We are located near several prominent businesses like Lightolier, Cardinal Health, Brayton Point Power and Fall Fiver Industrial Park. We are proud to offer premium business amenities, which include free high-speed wireless Internet access, a business center with copy, fax and shipping services and much more. Don't be disappointed by another Swansea hotel, instead enjoy your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. Take advantage of our complimentary hot breakfast bar, fitness center and pool. Book your reservations today for our great Swansea hotel deals and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Swansea
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites
Holiday Inn Swansea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing