We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't miss Putnam House B & B”
Review of Putnam House B&B

Putnam House B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sutton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Putnam House B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Sutton B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Don't miss Putnam House B & B”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

On our way from Boston west we stayed at the Putnam House and were very happy with the accommodations in the Carriage House, formerly a real Carriage House converted to a suite. Our rooms included a bedroom with queen size bed and private bath, a dining area, living room with TV and a small kitchen area. We were very comfortable and could have stayed longer. The breakfast was abundant, homemade and fresh. Margaret went out of her way to ask what we liked. Fresh coffee, fresh squeezed orange and apple juice, fresh muffins and coffee cake and a egg quiche. Far more than we could eat, but very nice.
Margaret was more than accommodating once she learned that we wanted to visit the Vaillancourt Folk Art studio, she called them up and told them we were coming. It is the most amazing place. A small family owned business that creates extraordinary chalk ware figurines from antique chocolate and ice cream molds. The figurines are all handcrafted and very time intensive to create. Stores like Nordstroms carry the Santa Claus' for the Christmas season. Judy Vaillancourt, the artist, her husband and their son each greeted us and gave us tours. They all new Margaret, she told us her son used to work there. It was an extraordinary and unexpected treat to find this place and I would recommend that you not miss it or the Putnam House.

Room Tip: The Carriage House has the queen sized bed in the bedroom and an additional single bed in the living...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RhondaAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    0
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
8
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We had a lovely stay in this beautiful B&B. The rooms (we were in the Carriage House, which is really a suite rather than a room) were very spacious and comfortable, with a handy kitchen and great views. Although you have a separate entrance, you still feel part of the house, as you're not in a separate building. Margaret cooked us a wonderful breakfast each morning and we had some nice chats. She has great recommendations for goings-on in the neighbourhood or sights further afield. A beautiful, quiet spot to completely relax!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lotte O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

We stayed at Putnam B and B on our way back to Boston after seeing it recommended in the Lonely Planet. It is a lovely little place, a huge suite as opposed to a B and B room. The owners are really friendly and chatty, and great to hear about their experiences in the states as they used to live in the U.K. as we do now. Good recommendation for dinner, a pizza place that is so busy and great pizza. Breakfast was delicious and really appreciated the effort made given as I am vegetarian to make sure I had plenty to eat. The price in comparison to what we paid at other B and Bs was amazing considering the service we had. I would most definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gemma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2010

I traveled with en elderly parent and followed the lonely planet to this B& B as we drove across MASS, and we ended up having a very memorable time here in this 1737 farm house in a raining Nov day.

Martin and Margaret were warm and helpful - he is a college professor. We got to know their very loving dogs, pre-viewed a page from Martin's coming book and ended up visiting the private side of their home. Our room looks exactly like the picture shown on their website. The room was NOT small at all; in addition to a double bad, it even has a single feather bed.

Most of all, the breakfast was more than I ever expected. I had mentioned that my mom loves oatmeal in advnace when I was asked about our dietary requirements. Boy, I certainly did not expect to see what Margaret had for us: the most beautifully presented oatmeal I have enver seen with at least 6 different berries and nuts on her elegant English china AND a freshly baked quiche ! Martin told me that she got up at 5:30AM to do all these !

They do not accept credit card, and the rate was very reasonable - we paid $75 and had a wonderful time to know this very nice English couple and got a little taste of thier real coutry living.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank venicedream4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutton
6.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Auburn
6.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Auburn
Hampton Inn Auburn
#1 of 5 in Auburn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
6.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Worcester Auburn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Southbridge Hotel And Conference Center
6.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Auburn-Worcester
7.5 mi away
The Grafton Inn
The Grafton Inn
#2 of 2 in Grafton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Putnam House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Putnam House B&B

Property: Putnam House B&B
Address: 211 Putnam Hill Rd, Sutton, MA 01590-1118
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Sutton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Sutton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing