We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Known for their Tremendous Hibachi Style Cooking, But Oh My Try Their Sushi!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Goten of Japan

Goten of Japan
Ranked #4 of 13 Restaurants in Sunderland
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Greenfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
330 reviews
227 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Known for their Tremendous Hibachi Style Cooking, But Oh My Try Their Sushi!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

I have been a frequent flyer so to speak of the Goten of Japan in Sunderland. I have spent many Mother's Days, anniversaries, birthdays, graduation parties, business dinners there in the 15+ years that I have been going there. Such great food...entertaining, too much too eat, and yummy.

I was recently there and decided to try their sushi instead of their trademark hibachi style meal. Oh my...this was excellent as well. We started off with an appetizer of their famous milk tofu. This is an amazing dish with the milk tofu lighting coated and slightly crispy on the outside sitting in a small pool of broth and topped with scallions and red fish roe. Creamy and custardy and very, very, good. I will order this EVERY time I go there from now on.

I had one of their specialty maki rolls. These are very creative offerings and I tried one with beef that was lightly seared and toppped with a sweet spicy sauce. Very different, but very delicious. I can't wait to go back ad try more of the items on the sushi menu.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michie1291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    19
    11
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Acton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

I've tried a number of hibatchi places in my time. This one was well done, food was tasty and the 'show' was good. It is clean, well decorated and has many hibatchi tables.

But there was nothing special. It was the same show and the food was typical (but good) and not anything out of the ordinary. The portions also seemed a bit smaller than usual. It was pricey - but all hibatchis are :(

I ordered an Old Fashioned at the bar waiting for a table and the bartender, american (young), asked me if that was a drink. He then looked it up and started to try and make one. I got him off the hook and had a Kirin. Still, a bartender should know basic mixed drinks :)

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TegansDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best food in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

Friendly atmosphere,It's fun watching the chef preparing the food your table,theres 8-10 people at each table so you get to meet new people while your there the portions are ample And great food selections always most delightful

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank bethbelle9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Deerfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
379 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Always a fun, entertaining meal, great with 8 !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

A group event, the meals being cooked at your table and put on your plate by the chef. A fun environment, even watching the neighboring tables. Great food at a great price.

Helpful?
Thank 5inavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Happy Surprise in Sunderland!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012

Very entertaining, food was very tasty and well worth the price. This would be fantastic for a family or large group who could have the entire table to themselves! Thanks so much!

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leigh166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goten of Japan also viewed

 
South Deerfield, MA
South Deerfield, MA
 

Been to Goten of Japan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing