We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great night out!”
Review of Goten of Japan

Goten of Japan
Ranked #4 of 13 Restaurants in Sunderland
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great night out!”
Reviewed March 9, 2012

The food is great and the cook puts on an entertaining show while he cooks the food right in front of you! Very fresh!

Helpful?
1 Thank lovetotravel44411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    19
    11
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
W.MA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Hibachi again!”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Totally awesome! My family Totally enjoyed the food! As good as the big city places in am small town USA!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank longplain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Babylon
Level Contributor
154 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Fun to Eat At”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

The hibachi style cooking/serving was very fun with our group of 8. Prices are average for this type of venue, but the food is delicious.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzanneBabylon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whately, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A fun night out”
Reviewed December 3, 2011

The food is good, and the preparation is fun to watch, if typical of Japanese steakhouses

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Don S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Sushi with personality”
Reviewed August 25, 2011

The sushi menu at Goten is big and it seems to be all good -- AND fresh. We eat sushi several times a month no matter where we find ourselves (yes, they even have sushi on every street corner in Warsaw Poland!) and Goten serves a lot of imaginative combination rolls I've never seen anywhere else, Three of us ate sushi, sashimi and various specialty rolls till we couldn't eat any more and our bill was under $100.
Goten is more than a sushi bar: There's a dining room as well as a grill room). I'm not sure I'll ever get beyond the sushi area to try their other dishes. It's that good.
The surroundings and service are very pleasant. Decor is calm and understated and tables are well-spaced. It's not far from I-91 and worth pulling off the interstate if you're in the area and in the mood.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VermontRainbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goten of Japan also viewed

 
South Deerfield, MA
 

Been to Goten of Japan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing