We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegant Evening Experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Heron Restaurant

Blue Heron Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in Sunderland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Belchertown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Elegant Evening Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

The Blue Heron is a very nice establishment in a restored historical building that contributes to a sense of warmth, comfort, and elegance to an evening out for dinner with friends. We enjoyed every aspect of our meals beginning with the appetizers of stuffed dates wrapped in bacon, the fresh salads, scrumptious soup, and of course the main event; our main courses. By happenstance we all selected a seafood dish as our main course, the swordfish was the special and it in fact was very special! But my choice was the Red Snapper, It was excellent! Only one drawback on the evening….We were too full for dessert! Oh well, we’ll just have to schedule another visit!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GuidoDaCoopa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    35
    9
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

The pumpkin ravioli and scallops with lentils are both amazing. Beautiful space as well! Pricey for a regular old dinner out, but great for a special occasion.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, Maine
Level Contributor
66 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

The Blue Heron made me happy from the moment I walked in. The physical space, the decor, low key ambiance, and a perfect cocktail were a great way to start the evening. The menu has a wide variety of dishes from apps to small plates to full dinners, and everything we tried was excellent. They have a nice wine list as well, though a little pricy. Dessert was heaven, service was excellent as well. This restaurant is top notch in every way.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KAJFA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
771 reviews
664 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 431 helpful votes
“Superb Sunday Supper”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

It is no surprise to anyone within 50-75 miles around that the Blue Heron has raised the culinary bar. It has offered excellent and adventurous dining for a good 12 years and counting. What might be a little less well known is that they offer a very fine Sunday Supper, a three course menu, for a mere $30. While there are only three choices for each of the three courses, they are fine bistro food, including their signature pomegranate custard for dessert. My wife and I had loin of lamb and skirt steak respectively, with nearly perfect green beans and two different potato dishes, delicious and reminiscent of bistro meals in France. My smoked trout pate and her mushroom and garlic soup were both outstanding.

To be sure, the main menu and the evening specials offer plenty of more varied temptations when you are in the mood to spend two or two and a half times as much for your dinner. The restaurant also offers some splendid "small plates", which are also easier on the budget and the calories. It is a fine place to celebrate with friends who really enjoy fine dining, and we have done that on half a dozen occasions.

We usually choose whatever we want to have on the menu, without a narrow focus on the tab. The entrees, in the $25-$30+ range are fairly priced for the care and flair. But the Sunday night option, offered on a little flyer, the other side showing the evening's specials, is worth knowing about.

The restaurant has a separate drinks and wine menu. The wine list is quite extensive and broad ranging, although little is offered in the table wine sector. There are no bargains here, and in some instances the markup is a little irritating. Still, you can find some very pleasant choices in the $40-60 band. Above that, I would rather drink the fancier choices at home for 50-60% less. I realize restaurants need to make this sector a profit center, but knowing what the retail price is for a bottle, and speculating on the wholesale price, it is hard to justify some of the prices even if you were on an expense account, and we no longer are.

The service is professional and cordial. The ambiance is relaxed and the drive into the countryside lovely and worthwhile. Long may the Blue Heron continue to set such high standards. I would even bring my French and Italian friends here. In better weather, there are some outside tables, a nice alternative to the dining room and bar, both of which we enjoy as well.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ulysses4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leverett, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
165 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 390 helpful votes
“Consistently the favorite for Valley "Foodies"!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

We are so delighted to live only 15 minutes from the Blue Heron, a favorite dinner place for us for a number of years now. Deborah and Barbara have established a really extraordinary community around the wonderful food they prepare and serve in the (former) majestic old town hall in Sunderland, MA.

Not just exquisite meals... their products are largely sourced from local organic farms in the Pioneer Valley, a list of which appears in the center of the menu... they also host cooking classes and provide catering for a special occasion. Their staff are all skilled, knowledgeable, well-trained, and engaging. We regularly bring guests here to eat in the dining room, but our personal favorite is to sit at the bar, chat with other bar patrons and the fabulous Christina and enjoy a splendid meal there after a long day of work.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RQP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Heron Restaurant also viewed

 
South Deerfield, MA
 

Been to Blue Heron Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing