We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality has slipped a little”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sudbury
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Longfellow's Wayside Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Sudbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sudbury, MA
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Quality has slipped a little”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I've been going to the Wayside Inn for over 25 years, and the latest trip there was a bit of a disappointment. In the past I have always said that they had the best prime rib ever. I ordered it last week and while it was not bad, it was not up to the standard that they have set in the past. Don't get me wrong, it was still good, but not as tender as it used to be. Perhaps they're cutting back on the quality of the beef? The clam chowder was good, but they no longer have the Wayside Inn ale, instead it was Sam Adams lager. A bit disappointing overall.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KGR1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    42
    8
    7
    8
See reviews for
41
59
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Maynard, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Always a good time, especially when the weather is nice. Enjoy the scenery and take it all in. I especially enjoy going to the grist mill, which can be crowded on the weekends, but it usually not too busy.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

The Wayside Inn is outstanding. It certainly feels like a real Inn from the 18th century with the water driven Mill across the street and church up the hill. The food was very good and cost 2 of us $47 for a wonderful breakfast. My wife and I ate there twice and it was excellent both times. My only regret is that I didn't read Longfellow's poem before I visited. We did not stay at the Inn so I can't comment about the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rhctraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We met friends at the "Wayside Inn" and had an excellent experience. The outdoor seating was situated in a quaint patio setting. The scenery was beautiful and the atmosphere very relaxed. Our waiter, Eddie, was one of the best we've ever had. He was friendly, knowledgable, and accommodating in every sense. The menu is diverse with regular and local fare. Do not miss out on the blueberry pie dessert if you have the chance.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

My daughters and I were so looking forward to a nice meal on a Sunday afternoon. The reviews were so positive we really thought we would be delighted. The breads were good but that was it. First the soups. The onion soup: the broth was good but smelled of bouillon, but the cheese on the bread was hard as a rock and unedible, like it had been microwaved to death. And it was almost cold! The clam chowder was flour based if you like that. I expected real cream at this esteemed location. The chicken pot pie was horrible, again not hot, the "flaky" crust was hard and had the texture of a one-inch cracker. The chicken was not tender and the broth was again floury and blah. The lamb which I got was tender and flavorful, but it was not hot, even though it was brought to our table with covers. I could not cut the meat with the table knife and when I received the steak knife I had to ask for it was still a struggle. We all felt like the food had been prepared days ago and microwaved to warm it up. We tried the sherbert and ice cream, both which seemed of poor quality. I have been all over this country and Europe, eaten at incredible sites, always pleased. The pleasantness of the Wayside Inn site demands a better product and better trained waitresses. We were never offered water refills, if one should even have to have it offered. Never will we go there again!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MEF611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipton, IA
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

We were lucky enough to stay 2 nights at this inn, set in the beautiful Massachusetts countryside. I booked one of the rooms in the oldest part of the inn without realizing what that would mean. Climbing up the steep steps to the very small, dark landing and then stepping into a room with the ceiling about 3 inches over my head was my undoing. I was claustrophobic and terrified in this room. Thankfully, the wonderful staff in the lobby completely understood and found us another room in the newer part of the inn. Eric even helped bring our bags to the new room so I didn't have to go back into the first one. The second room was very nice, and we enjoyed staying in this inn. The water pressure in the shower was almost non-existent and the water went from very hot to very cold. The experience of staying at a historic inn is worth the lack of a good shower. There is an interesting museum in the inn, a grist mill on the property, and lovely flower gardens. The restaurant is outstanding. I am not sure this would be a place for small children, but everyone else who likes historic properties would enjoy their stay here.

Room Tip: If you are claustrophobic, don't stay in the oldest rooms. They are very nice, but the ceiling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lemon60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

I have been staying at the Wayside Inn for many years, every time I visit the Boston area.
I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else since it is so close to everything, a wonderful
'Historic Country Inn', great food, good prices, what else can I say.

Room Tip: The newer rooms are just fine,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sudbury
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn Boston Sudbury
9.5 mi away
Concord's Colonial Inn
Concord's Colonial Inn
#3 of 3 in Concord
517 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Boston/Marlborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Marlborough
4.2 mi away
Sheraton Framingham Hotel & Conference Center
13.5 mi away
The Inn at Hastings Park
The Inn at Hastings Park
#1 of 4 in Lexington
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Longfellow's Wayside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longfellow's Wayside Inn

Property: Longfellow's Wayside Inn
Address: 72 Wayside Inn Rd, Sudbury, MA 01776-3206
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Sudbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Sudbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Longfellow's Wayside Inn is a historic non-profit Massachusetts Landmark. The Inn, built in the early 1700s, has served travelers of the Boston Post Road from the colonial era to today.The Inn offers historically appointed guest rooms, a full restaurant and bar, picturesque function and dining rooms, an outdoor canopy tent, museum exhibits, and several acres of gardens, historical buildings, and walking trails. The Wayside Inn is the perfect place to hold parties and celebrations, weddings, family reunions, or quiet getaways. The Inn also hosts several special events each season, including concerts and food and drink festivals. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Longfellow`s Wayside Hotel Sudbury
Longfellows Wayside Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing