We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Economical lodging near Old Sturbridge Village”
Review of Super 8 Sturbridge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Sturbridge
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Sturbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Although situated on a small lot close to a busy street, this property overlooks a lake and is very convenient to Old Sturbridge Village. The receptionist was friendly and was helpful in recommending a nearby restaurant. The bathroom was lovely, with granite tile on the floor and around the tub, and the good-sized room featured a microwave, refrigerator, and a sliding door to a (very) small deck that overlooked the pool and lake. However the furniture was chipped and the carpet stained, there was an old-style (not HD) TV, and the room had an odd smell. The continental breakfast was average. Still, for the price, it was an OK place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judikin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (821)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

733 - 739 of 821 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2012

My family stayed 4 nights and hotel staff and management did nothing to stop noisy people in room above us after we complained at least 3 times. Expected us to pack up and move our 85 year old handicapped mother to another room late at night after she was already in bed. They would not take care of the noisy neighbors above us. Will never stay here again and will never recommend this place to anyone we know. Thanks Patels!

Room Tip: If you need sleep, don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol2012_06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 27, 2012

On that Saturday at 8:30PM, immediately after the Front Desk was aware of the disturbance, did contact the room above which had 2 adults and two children and explained the situation to them. The guest above were aplogetic but added they were only walkng around and packing up to leave early next morning. Our Operations Mgr, not a Patel, did speak to & apologized to guest and offered the another room if the noise was too much to bear. The room above had been there or two previous nights as was the downstairs guest as well. We explained to guest we couldn't discount her stay because she booked through a 3rd party but did offer her a discount on her next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We spent all day in Sturbridge Village on May 26, 2012. It was very hot, so we decided to go check into our hotel room and take a swim. We tried to check in at 2pm...the desk manager said we would need to pay an additional $10 for each of the 2 rooms we booked because check in was at 3pm. I was sorta ok with that, but then he said the pool wasn't open yet....it was memorial day weekend...we just expected the pool to be open. Of course the manager wouldn't refund our money, so we just left...forfeiting the cost of 2 hotel rooms to go back to Vermont and swim in our own pool.

Lesson learned....always ask if the pool is open before paying money. We have season passes to Sturbridge village and to Six flags New England, so we will be back in the area frequently, but will never book a room in this particular super 8 again.

Room Tip: Ask if the pool is open if this is important for your family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank vermontsojourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

We were ust was looking for a place to spend the night on the way to Newport, RI. This place exceeded my expectations. With this chain you can get a wide gambit of quality but this place was bright, well appointed rooms, with vaulted ceilings on second floor, we had a room on the east side with a small balcony overlooking a pond. a great place for a glass of wine after driving all day. Staff was professional and friendly. Overall a good experience at a great price.

Room Tip: request a room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank e2e4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

I did some house hunting in the area, and this was a great home base on the entrance ramps to 90 and 84. The bed was comfortable, and the room was clean. The mini-frig was a nice addition. It was very easy to hear the neighbors walking around above us late at night, so that woke me up. Check in was chaotic, and they only swiped my card for one night, not two, so I was briefly locked out the first morning. The continental breakfast was standard. The cleaning person walked into the room before I checked out, and I was luckily just dressed - miscommunication at the front desk again, I think.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giumesciscotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

We stayed one night while researching family history in the Sturbridge area. The Super 8 was clean, tastefully decorated, and most important, everything worked (plumbing, lights, adequate water pressure, etc.) The bathroom has been updated (granite countertops) and the amenities were adequate. After six nights in b&b's that serve lavish breakfasts, the complimentary breakfast was a relief: simple but adequate. The staff was very friendly and helpful. My only complaint is that the internet was on the slow side. Overall, excellent value for the money.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ccdoerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We were traveling with our dog and this was one of the truly pet friendly places we have stayed. Everything from the doggie briscuts at the front desk and an area to walk our dog with baggies and a waste can for a healthy and proper clean up. One of the cleaniest pet friendly rooms we have ever stayed at, it was a pleasure!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sturbridge hotels
3.6 mi away
Days Inn Sturbridge
Days Inn Sturbridge
#12 of 14 in Sturbridge
753 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Sturbridge
Hampton Inn Sturbridge
#4 of 14 in Sturbridge
627 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Old Sturbridge Inn & Reeder Family Lodges
1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 14 in Sturbridge
466 reviews
0.6 mi away
Publick House Historic Inn
Publick House Historic Inn
#7 of 14 in Sturbridge
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Sturbridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Sturbridge

Address: 358 Main St, Sturbridge, MA 01566-1376
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Sturbridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Sturbridge
Price Range: $69 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Sturbridge 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Cedar Lake in the heart of historic Sturbridge. Approx. 300 yards from the entrance to Old Sturbridge Village. Many rooms have a lake view. Every morning we offer a complimentary SuperStart continental breakfast for all guests. Free Wi-Fi/hi-speed internet in all rooms. We do have Whirlpool Suites and deluxe rooms to stretch out and relax in. We take great pride in our friendly and helpful staff. Sturbridge Host Conference Center is directly behind us. Restaurants next door and quick eats in walking distance. Antique, local gift shops and many other restaurants are very close as well as a repertory theater. We are pet friendly and offer early check in when possible, both with a fee, please call for details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Sturbridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sturbridge Super 8 Hotel Sturbridge
Super Eight Sturbridge
Sturbridge Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing