We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The food is awesome ...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of B.T.'s Smokehouse

B.T.'s Smokehouse
Ranked #2 of 64 Restaurants in Sturbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: B.T.'S Smokehouse is a dry-rubbed and slow-smoked barbecue restaurant located in the downtown section of Sturbridge, Massachusetts. Owner and Head Chef Brian Treitman is committed to delivering the very best barbecue to Massachusetts and beyond. Focusing on Southern-style cuisine, the menu offers natural grass-fed beef, chicken, pork, and other meats that have been dry rubbed and slow smoked for up to 24 hours with local apple and hickory woods. In addition to standard barbecue fare, the restaurant also offers more unusual entrees such as smoked salmon, chili made with brisket meat, and smoked turkey and chicken. We are also BYOB, so grab your favorite 6 pack on your way in. B.T.'S has won numerous awards since opening its doors, including the New England Regional Chili Cookoff and placing in the Top Ten Barbecue Restaurants in New England, and the Boston Globe named B.T.'S one of the "ten best places to bask in barbecue".
Longmeadow, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
180 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“The food is awesome ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

My son and daughter-in-law had a barbecue yesterday as they celebrated a pre-baby party. We offered to pick up the food and were very impressed with the restaurant. The staff was very helpful as they packed up lots of chicken thighs, chicken wings, ribs, mac and cheese and more. The food was hot and freshly packed; it was also excellent!!! It was a great choice for the party but not only that, we will certainly stop there to eat the next time we are in the Sturbridge area. We will also find a reason to be in the area to go to B.T.'s Smokehouse. If you are in the area, please stop - you won't be sorry.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Deb G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    276
    122
    27
    25
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brockton
Level Contributor
1 review
“Wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

The wife and I had heard about this restaurant and was fortunate to have been in the area to try it out. The pulled pork was amazing, the dry rubbed wings were great and the ribs were excellent! Never been so happy to take leftovers!

Helpful?
Thank WinKellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasantville, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good Food & Quick Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

My husband & I stopped here for a quick lunch. We each had a regular sized pulled pork sandwich & split a coleslaw. Both were very tasty and were served quickly. The sandwich was good sized, the meat falling out of the bun.

If you are travelling on I-84 and are in the Sturbridge area and want a quick, delicious meal that's not too pricey, this is the place to go. It is a short distance from I-84 on Route 20 East.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravellingFloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great smoked BBQ!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We've had the brisket rueben, pulled pork burrito, spare ribs, and St. Louis ribs. All were delicious and the sides are great too. BYOB policy with a beer selling convenience store next door. It's casual; order at the counter and wait for your name to be called. There's outdoor seating, but its a noisy view of a busy road.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jkeyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Okay, but not as magical as I'd hoped”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

I really wanted to love this place. The reviews got me excited, and I held off my hunger all through Sturbridge Village... but it was just okay. I got the pulled pork platter, cucumber salad, and potato salad. The pork was fine, though a little fattier than I prefer (not that melt-in-your-mouth way; this was chewy). The cuke salad was great. The potato salad just wasn't my style, but wasn't bad. The service was very good--I was there early, so there was no line and my meal was put together as I ordered it. I do wish they had taken a second to point out where everything was--forks, for example. And I didn't know the sauce situation. I saw some bottles on a high counter top in the center of the joint. I poured the sauce directly on my meat. Later, I saw a guy go over to a different counter, by the register, and get a cup and fill it up with sauce. So I probably looked like an animal, dousing straight from the bottle. Oops. So overall, the people were nice and the food was fine. But I think I'd try out someplace different next time I'm in town.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank nhmillgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed B.T.'s Smokehouse also viewed

 

Been to B.T.'s Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing