We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sturbridge Host is Good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Sturbridge
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Sturbridge Host is Good”
Reviewed August 9, 2007

We were happy to spend a long weekend at Sturbridge Host. Unfortuantely, the first room given to us was pretty mildewy, but the staff changed our room quickly, and we were happy with the next room. We came with our 7 year old, and were happy to see the mini golf, pool, lake and lots of other kids. The staff were great. and though the summer is a very busy time here, we never had to wait long for anything. This was a nice place to stay for a long weekend, and we felt it was reasonably priced.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Room cleanliness
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank librarybooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    185
    170
    137
    145
See reviews for
248
214
29
169
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Upstate NY
Level Contributor
91 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2007

I wasn't sure what to expect as I wasn't familiar with this hotel and had booked it through Priceline. We were thoroughly pleased with the hotel, the location & the amenities. Our room was off the pool/courtyard area. The room was very large and included a sink vanity in the bathroom and outside of the bathroom. We were able to use our laptop with no difficulty; my son throughly enjoyed the pool and we enjoyed the lake. Our beds were very comfortable and had high quality linens. I will most definitely stay here in the future with my family. It far exceeded my expectations and was very economical.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Upstatefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA/NH
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2007

Spent a night here two years ago with husband and a group of 20 friends. The only saving grace to the hotel is the pool area.
Regardless of anything else, you must know that the staff at this hotel are the worst ever. When returning to our room at 10:00 at night we could not enter with our room key. Called desk and waited a long time for assistance. Employee could not open door either. Night manager paged maintainence. No answer. By now it was past 1:00 a.m. and we still were locked out. Manager returned to tell us that we could have another room for the night about 3:00 a.m. Great, a new room--but no clothes, medications, etc. Never were offered even a toothbrush in return. The next morning about 10:00 we were able to access the room to collect our belonging. We had to pay for this service!!!!!!!!!! I called the
executive manager and got a semi-apology, but no offers for a return visit...which I would have refused. At least he could have offered me a refund. I don't care if they refurbish this hotel to look like a 5* resort....don't go there!

  • Liked — decent pool area
  • Disliked — read the review....horrible
  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank losthat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sturbridge hotels

Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2007

We stayed here as a get away for a weekend and we were thoroughly disappointed. We had a king sized room on the top level in the back overlooking the lake (limited view). Reception told us we were in a very nice room that was remodeled. When we walked in, our first thoughts were this is renovated? It was nice to have a separate sitting area but the sofa was very hard. We had 2 tv's which was fine. The sliding glass door was old and the balcony was small. The bathroom had a new vanity but that's about all that was new. Our bed was hard as a rock and the sheets were not comfortable. We didn't eat in the hotel but did frequent the bar. It was not until the 2nd night that the bartender warmed up to us. We ate at the Oxhead Tavern and thought it was the highlight of our stay. As others have posted, when you walk the halls and use the elevator, you feel like your back in the 60's or 70's and I knew right then we were in trouble. I would not recommend staying here, they are way overpriced for what you get. If the price was $50 a night, I'd think they were charging too much. If you're looking to get away, this is not the place.

  • Liked — The Oxbow Tavern
  • Disliked — The incredibly hard bed
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank comfybedsnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2007

Such a disappointment. We stayed only one night with hopes that we would be returning annually. That won't be happening. Checked in Sunday evening. Hotel was not at all filled to capacity. The woman at the check in was rude and rushed. Never cracked a smile. Handed me a map with directiosn to our room which was completely on the far and back end of the property. Had to lug our bags and 3 year old sone through a maze of hallways and elevators. Room was in an outdated corrider . Oh... let me tell you a bit about the elevator. Gross! Very old. CARPETED WALLS. Can you imagine the bacteria living in those walls after 30 years of hoisting guests dripping from the pool? Yuck. Back to the room.... Room was large but obviously not updated. the bathroom had been updated and at first glance looked great. Then you look at the faucet. Very old, rusty and decayed. Tub stopper did not work at all forcing us to use a mug to stop up the tub to bathe our son.

Bed was literally the hardest thing I have ever slept or.. tried to sleep on. There was an odd little fridge in the middle of the living room floor. So, somewhere around 10:30 we started to hear a dog bark. Then two dogs. Large dogs. The barking continued and got louder. They were in the hotel and directly below us. I called the front desk and they seemed to know exactly what room held these dogs. So I hung up thinking this would be taken care of. 45 Minutes of non stop barking later my husband had to get dressed and search for the room himself. He happened to walk past the only couple in the lobby and took a chance.
"Are you in room 306?"
"Yes. Why? Are our dogs barking?"
"You are [--] right they are."

So we finally fell asleep and upon check out I asked the Manager if there were other rooms available last night. he said "yes" and proceede dto tell me thatthe hotel was practically empty. Apparently there are only a few dog friendly rooms in teh hotel and for some unknown reason we wre put in amoung them. They only thing this manager would offer us is a free breakfast.

Save yourself. Do not go here. I am sure that there are some lovely rooms in the place, but dont take the risk that you may be placed in the dog pound. Not worth a penny.

  • Liked — Proximity to Sturbridge
  • Disliked — Everything Else!
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank JTCTJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2007

We stayed at the Sturbridge Host Hotel for a short night's stay, to break up the trip from NY to Boston. We knew we wouldn't get in until late that night and would leave early that morning, so we were most interested in an easy and inexpensive place to rest for a few hours. This hotel far exceeded our hopes. It was quite charming, clean, and comfortable.

The hotel is just minutes off of I-90 and I-84, but it felt like a little vacation for our eight-hour stay.

The hotel was renovating when we stayed there. The hallway smelled like paint, but the room didn't smell at all.

Our balcony overlooked a nice garden, I think (it was dark when we checked in).

The indoor courtyard was a nice touch. We couldn't stay for breakfast, but I bet it's a nice place to sit and eat or read.

  • Stayed November 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Eric-A95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston MA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2007

We were in for one night for a conference. Rooms are large--two double beds in ours, table, two chairs. Room is plain and for me too dark since they use electricity saving light bulbs but everthing was very clean.

Bathroom has been updated....tub/shower is still on the older side but new large vanity, sink etc. Coffee maker and coffee was provided which is a nice touch since my husband likes an early ,early morning cup of coffee.

We did not try the bar nor restaurant but took a peek and both had a welcoming environment and were crowded.

This is a good family hotel since it has a pool and a family friendly atmosphere. However we did not find it overly loud.
I gave this an average rating but would rate this hotel above average for the value for the $$$ (we did not pay for our room but know it is reasonable)

  • Liked — Clean
  • Disliked — Lighting in room too dim
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank AlyceBostonMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturbridge
0.3 mi away
Old Sturbridge Inn & Reeder Family Lodges
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Sturbridge
Hampton Inn Sturbridge
#4 of 14 in Sturbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Colonial
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Southbridge Hotel And Conference Center
0.8 mi away
Publick House Historic Inn
Publick House Historic Inn
#5 of 14 in Sturbridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
3.7 mi away
Days Inn Sturbridge
Days Inn Sturbridge
#10 of 14 in Sturbridge
3.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 366 Main St, Sturbridge, MA 01566-1057
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Sturbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Sturbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sturbridge Host Hotel Sturbridge
Sturbridge Host Hotel And Conference Center
Sturbridge Host Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing